We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great short stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GALLE CENTRE HOME

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Fums
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great short stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived here after a very long train journey from Negombo and were instantly greeted by the female owner who filled us in on her background and history of Sri Lanka/ Galle. We pretty much had the apartment to ourselves for two nights as we rented 3 out of the 5 rooms. There isnt much in Galle itself apart from the Fort but this guesthouse is a 5-10 minute walk from it. It is a 3 min tuk tuk (150 Rupees) from the bus and train station) and about 300 Rupees to Unawatuna. The location is perfect. It is on top of a small hill and as it is new not everyone knows where it is, but once you drive up the hill, the road curves to the right...it is the second opening on the left before you go any further up the hill..you will see houses at the end of a lil stony track...it is the last house on the right (it looks like a school). The rooms, living area and bathrooms were great and we would no doubt stay here again. Any information we needed we were helped with and on the day of departure the owners husband took us to the bus station. The rooms were a decent size for one person (the rooms we had anyway, which were the three on the right hand side). We did have a peak into the rooms on the left which are doubles and they were a good size too. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!! The only issue would be the few ants in the kitchen but it wasn't a major worry! Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The contemporary rooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miekesv
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great room, friendly owners, service a bit of a let down”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights in this guesthouse. We were very warmly welcomed by the owners. The room was very clean (very recently renovated) and the bed was heavenly good! We rented bikes for one day and visited the peace pagoda on Poya day, which was very interesting! However when we wanted to check out in the morning at 8.30h on a normal weekday they only answered the door after 5 times ringing and 15minutes. If you have a train to catch in the morning keep this on mind! Overall great value and very nice place to stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Dear guests thank you for your review and suggestions. We like to comment back on the checking out procedure. Please note that you may leave at any time in the morning without ringing bells or other difficulties. Just leave your room door open and the key in the door and close the outside door, there's no need to do anything else!
We have guest leaving in the middle of the night until 12 noon, so we try to make it as easy as possible for every one.

Best wishes and looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon Q
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay, cut short.”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay with Marga and Eranda was great. We arrived in Galle and the place was nicely situated away from the touristy epicentre of the old town. It was a littel tricky to find so a bigger sign might make it a bit more obvious, especially if people walk from the stations. Just look on the left as you go around the bend, up the hill, for a small white and red sign on a wall.
The place is very new so is nice and clean and comfortable. There is a large common area where you can eat and relax. Marga and Eranda run a school downstairs and live downstairs, so they are on hand if needed.
In the evening we had the chance to have a good chat with Marga and Eranda, who both are lovely and really helpful with places to go and what not. Even Eranda offered to cook us home made dinner the next night (but unfortunately we had to leave).
Breakfast was nice and simple, maybe a bit over priced, but it was nice to sit on the balcony and have it.
The rooms are very warm, with no aircon but there is a fan. They are rigged, electrically, to accomodate aircon, but they haven't decided if they will yet.
Overall, a great little, simple place to stay with lovely owners. Location is less than 10 mins walk from the entrance to the old fort and worth the lower price compared to what it is on offer in the old city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2014
Thanks for your review & tip! Sign is placed on the road now.
Hope to see you again, X
Marga
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jan 2014
Thank you, it was a pleasure having you as our guest!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jelda
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, feels like home: cosey & clean!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a night and the first impression was already good! Warm welcome by the host and the place is wide and clean. The colors white and grey makes it trendy as well. Room is big and clean. The location is on walking distance to Galle Fort. Furthermore you can just makes use of the kitchen as if it is your own. Very good price for this stay! Free wifi!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the 'coseyness'
Liked least: the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2014
Thank you, it was a pleasure having you as our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feza76
milano
Level 6 Contributor
619 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isiem
Eggenfelden, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: das man sich dort sehr wohl fühlt
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing