We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice, yet needs improvement...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GALLE CENTRE HOME

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Eyal B
Tel Aviv
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice, yet needs improvement... ”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The good:
Room was very clean, well maintained, and designed tastefully. Location is in a quiet, green and relaxed neighborhood, and within reasonable walking distance from the fort and train/bus stations. Nice living room and balcony. The owner is very friendly and helpful.

Needs improvement:
No mosquito net for the bed or window, and the room is VERY hot and stuffy at night - yet you don't want to open the window and get bitten. That's was a real issue!
No hot showers in this Guesthouse (if you were expecting), and one of the two showers is still not fully complete (cement floor and walls - yet very clean).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2015
Dear, guest, thank you for your review.
We don't want to hang mosquito nets (we do have portable ones, on request) because of all the dirt that's being gathered in it through the fans but we most certainly will try to find a way to cover a window so you could leave it open. The home doesn't offer hot water but we do mention that on the bookings sites and the bathroom is finished it's a design which is used in lots of hotels and it's called polish cement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rk662003
1 review
“Good place, great people.”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Checking into Galle Centre Home was a great experience. Mr. Viraj, the Manager was very courteous and the check in process did not take more than five minutes.

Galle Centre Home is located in a very peaceful upmarket area away from the noise and rush, but very close to the local shopping area and Galle fort. We had booked two double rooms and a single room. One of the double rooms had an attached bathroom, and we had access to two more clean bathrooms. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and are clean. There is a dining table available along with a sofa set in the drawing area.

The open balcony is provided with a table and chairs where we could relax and have our dinner too. The kitchen is provided with basic amenities like a coffee maker, a fridge and cutlery. I saw a radio there, but did not use it. Complimentary coffee powder, whitener and sugar are provided in the kitchen.

We had the option of ordering for Sri Lankan breakfast and dinner. Ms.Ratna cooked and served the food which was very tasty. We were served String Hoppers with Sambol and curries for breakfast along with a generous fruit platter. Dinner consisted of Sri Lankan rice with vegetables and fish curry. The food bill was very reasonable.

What I liked the most was the hospitality of the owners Marga and Eranda Baduge and the great service provided by the staff. They had booked two Tuk Tuks for us for local sight seeing, and the charges were very reasonable.

Overall I would rate Galle Centre Home as a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality of the owner and staff.
Liked least: While laundry service is provided at very good price (I did not use this), a washing machine would have been a great addition.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feddavicc...
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“just one night but very nice”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very clean room and toilet
Staff very friendly, they recommended us some beaches around galle.
We arrived very early and they allowed us to do early check in

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraSitg...
Sitges, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE!!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My friends and I have stay in this Guest House during our two ast nights in Sri Lanka!
Marga the owner and her staff made us feel like at our home! They also gave us some tips which had been very useful to us!
The place is clean, comfortable and well located. One of the best Guest Houses where we have stayed in Sri Lanka.
Thanks for all, if we come back to Galle for sure we will stay in your place!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fums
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great short stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived here after a very long train journey from Negombo and were instantly greeted by the female owner who filled us in on her background and history of Sri Lanka/ Galle. We pretty much had the apartment to ourselves for two nights as we rented 3 out of the 5 rooms. There isnt much in Galle itself apart from the Fort but this guesthouse is a 5-10 minute walk from it. It is a 3 min tuk tuk (150 Rupees) from the bus and train station) and about 300 Rupees to Unawatuna. The location is perfect. It is on top of a small hill and as it is new not everyone knows where it is, but once you drive up the hill, the road curves to the right...it is the second opening on the left before you go any further up the hill..you will see houses at the end of a lil stony track...it is the last house on the right (it looks like a school). The rooms, living area and bathrooms were great and we would no doubt stay here again. Any information we needed we were helped with and on the day of departure the owners husband took us to the bus station. The rooms were a decent size for one person (the rooms we had anyway, which were the three on the right hand side). We did have a peak into the rooms on the left which are doubles and they were a good size too. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!! The only issue would be the few ants in the kitchen but it wasn't a major worry! Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The contemporary rooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miekesv
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great room, friendly owners, service a bit of a let down”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights in this guesthouse. We were very warmly welcomed by the owners. The room was very clean (very recently renovated) and the bed was heavenly good! We rented bikes for one day and visited the peace pagoda on Poya day, which was very interesting! However when we wanted to check out in the morning at 8.30h on a normal weekday they only answered the door after 5 times ringing and 15minutes. If you have a train to catch in the morning keep this on mind! Overall great value and very nice place to stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Dear guests thank you for your review and suggestions. We like to comment back on the checking out procedure. Please note that you may leave at any time in the morning without ringing bells or other difficulties. Just leave your room door open and the key in the door and close the outside door, there's no need to do anything else!
We have guest leaving in the middle of the night until 12 noon, so we try to make it as easy as possible for every one.

Best wishes and looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon Q
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay, cut short.”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay with Marga and Eranda was great. We arrived in Galle and the place was nicely situated away from the touristy epicentre of the old town. It was a littel tricky to find so a bigger sign might make it a bit more obvious, especially if people walk from the stations. Just look on the left as you go around the bend, up the hill, for a small white and red sign on a wall.
The place is very new so is nice and clean and comfortable. There is a large common area where you can eat and relax. Marga and Eranda run a school downstairs and live downstairs, so they are on hand if needed.
In the evening we had the chance to have a good chat with Marga and Eranda, who both are lovely and really helpful with places to go and what not. Even Eranda offered to cook us home made dinner the next night (but unfortunately we had to leave).
Breakfast was nice and simple, maybe a bit over priced, but it was nice to sit on the balcony and have it.
The rooms are very warm, with no aircon but there is a fan. They are rigged, electrically, to accomodate aircon, but they haven't decided if they will yet.
Overall, a great little, simple place to stay with lovely owners. Location is less than 10 mins walk from the entrance to the old fort and worth the lower price compared to what it is on offer in the old city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2014
Thanks for your review & tip! Sign is placed on the road now.
Hope to see you again, X
Marga
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing