We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“secluded and charming but certainly not quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Galle Fort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galle Fort Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“secluded and charming but certainly not quiet”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

this is a beautiful hotel, a old house, with plenty of charm, trees, flowers, antique furniture. good service, good food. it looks terrific on the pictures. it is wonderful to seat in front of your room in the evening ans sip a drink enjoying the beauty and the quietness of the garden and the house.
that said, during the day (i.e. as early as 8 am ! until diner time) it is a different story. all the rooms are around the pool and, if you are in a ground floor room, very near the pool, you will have to put up with the noise that all the people using the pool, including children, teenagers, can make... and as there is not much to do and see in Galle, this pool is very much used ! the other thing is that there is only one window in the room, and that window faces the pool and its users. therefore you have the choice between light or privacy. You can't have both !
a place like this should deserve a no children policy. if you are a family it's great, if you are a couple who want some some quietness... it is not the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    151
    46
    11
    8
See reviews for
89
279
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

My family and I have just returned from this wonderful hotel set in the middle of Galle Fort. We stayed two nights at the end of an amazing tour of SriLanka. The room was just so different from any other we had stayed in with a mezzanine for our 11 and 13 year old who shared a more than adequate double bed there. We were a few steps away from a perfectly sized swimming pool that we had most of the time exclusively to ourselves. The beds had mosquito nets which was great after staying I n other hotels without them. The room(s) had a private courtyard with a separate shower and toilet. The only possible complaint was that the door to our room into the courtyard did not open easily without making a scraping noise if you didn't lift it ...we found this out the first night when going to the loo in the early hours of the morning and waking each other up - whoops! Like all other hotels that we stayed at, the food orders weren't always delivered together (I waited half an hour after my family had eaten there's and gone back to the pool to play) but they did apologise and for us it had become expected - and I was enjoying the sun and ambience of the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you are travelling to Sri Lanka make sure Galle is on your itinerary - and when you are in Galle, stay at the Galle Fort Hotel! It is one of the best presented and best run boutique hotels I have had the pleasure of staying at, and our only complaint is that we didn't stay longer.

The hotel is located pretty much smack-bang in the middle of Galle Fort, so is within easy walking distance of all the main points of interest (on arrival the hotel staff gave us a map of the fort with a walking tour trail marked out, so exploring really couldn't have been any easier). The hotel also sits neatly within its surroundings, set in a beautifully restored merchant's house. The communal spaces including the lounge, verandahs and courtyard pool were wonderfully relaxed places to hang out for a couple of hours, and the bar was a great spot to linger over pre(or post)-dinner drinks. The rooms were large and well-appointed, including one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've found in a long time.

I also want to include a quick word on the service, which was attentive, helpful and really made our stay such a pleasure. It started on our arrival, when the concierge offered to replace the customary welcome drink with a 'welcome beer' (we arrived in the afternoon after a tiring drive from Yala, so were only too happy to accept this offer!) Later, the staff arranged to start the breakfast service 45 minutes earlier than usual to enable us to eat before heading off to an early morning photography course, which we were also grateful for. These touches really made our stay, and set the Galle Fort Hotel above most other comparable hotels that I have stayed at.

I really can't recommend Galle Fort Hotel enough. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to the next one!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rovermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Sublime.
Stupendous.
Bordering on the divine.
(And the value for money is off the scale!)

Galle Fort is a wonderful part of the world, and the GFH nestles in perfectly to the surroundings. The rooms are little works of art. The communal areas are peans to local south asian culture. Whether you are dining for the night, having afternoon tea or enjoying a G&T before embarking on a cultural adventure into the Fort, everything you could possibly want has been carefully selected and crafted to fit a perfectly envisioned idyll.

Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheraz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
422 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had heard that Galle was a wonderful place to stay but we had no idea until we got here just how charming this fort town is. Staying inside the walls is the only way to go, as modern Galle town is dusty and chaotic. We stayed 4 days but could easily have spent a week.The Galle Fort Hotel is an oasis of calm, with flower filled sitting and dining areas. We had a Loft Room, one of three sharing a raised verandah facing the pool and garden and when we were there, we had the place to ourselves. In busier times it wouldn't be private unless you had the room at the end of the walkway. The divans on the verandah look lovely but they too are not private. Our room was clean, cool and comfortable, exactly as described and photographed on the website and the service in the hotel is great - we loved the fresh flowers on the bed with the turn down service each night. I agree with other reviewers, a mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have made our stay even better, as we prefer to do our own thing - yes you can call for tea / ice / drinks etc, but its just more convenient if it's there in the room. The pool was clean and the water warm.We did not eat in the hotel as there are just so many great places to eat within the Fort and we didn't need the set three course Dinner menu on offer. Forteleza for Western food and atmosphere (Buddha Bar soundtrack), Serendipity Café for snacks and Mama's Roof Top Café for Sri Lankan breakfasts, lunch and evening curries are recommended. A walk around the ramparts each morning and evening rewards with vistas and the daily activities of the Fort residents. On Day 1 take Juliet Coombes' walking tour to really appreciate Galle Forts history and the craftsmen who still ply their trades here. We can highly recommend her cooking class too if you want to make genuine Sri Lankan curries when you get home. Oliver the genial GM at the hotel can arrange this for you and anything else you might need during your stay. Staying at Amangalla would be a treat - we thought GFH was good value for money.

Room Tip: Loft rooms will not be private in peak season as the 3 of them share a verandah / walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

In fact, quite unlike a hotel - more your own private villa with a few other guests.
We stayed in the Admiral Cheng Ho suite for four nights and really didn't want to leave (loved the opium bed and outdoor bathroom) - step outside to the pool, swim at 10pm if you wish (no 'nanny' pool hours here), discreet, friendly and efficient service, and brilliant location. When we queried the lack of tea/coffe facilities we were served a tea tray by the pool each morning (no teabags or instant coffee here!)
Our other Sri Lankan hotels were excellent, but the Galle Fort was certainly the highlight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is a perfect destination. The hotel and staff are exceptionally gracious and welcoming. The atmosphere is old world and elegant. The setting is relaxed. We loved the authenticity of the setting and décor, with its many fascinating antiques and historical pieces. Our room was lovely, well maintained and clean, with a romantic lofted bedroom and 4-poster bed, looking out on the sparkling pool and abundant gardens in the central courtyard. Breakfast and dinner were delicious and generous and service was personal and attentive. Special kudos to GM Oliver James, to whom we turned for help planning the rest of our trip. He generously laid out an itinerary which maximized our enjoyment, even selecting wonderful hotels and stopping points along the way, booking ahead for us and sending us on our way with a typed itinerary. Oliver is a perfect host, very knowledgeable, and his team has a high degree of professionalism, both attentive and discreet, so that we had everything we needed. Staying at this hotel care of Oliver and his wonderful team was an experience we recall with delight and will never forget. Be sure to walk or jog around the city walls early before the heat of the day sets in. It is an easy circuit from which you can immerse yourself in the historical sights, the sea and the awakening town. A delightful venue in every way!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJG E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
8.0 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,377 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#12 of 60 in Galle
1,660 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
383 reviews
1.7 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
660 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Fort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Fort Hotel

Property: Galle Fort Hotel
Address: 28 Church Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Fort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2007 Unesco Award of Distinction for heritage conservation. A charming, friendly, award-winning and affordable heritage boutique hotel in the heart of the Galle Fort world heritage site and a perfect base for the best beaches, tea plantations, temples, rain forests and cultural attractions in southern Sri Lanka. Famous for its Asian fusion food made from fresh local seafood and market produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galle Fort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing