We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dare to Dream”
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amangalla
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Dare to Dream”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

If you're reading this review, you are probably trying to decide if the price is worth it. As a person who only ate at the restaurant and used the spa, I can definitely say YES. The Amangalla is a jewel of a property, situated in one of the most interesting places we've ever been.

Every. Single. Detail of this place is perfection. The flatware is silver. The furnishings are antiques. The lighting is custom designed perfection.

My husband and I went to Sri Lanka for Vesak Day, coming from Singapore. We stayed in Unawatuna to be near the beach, and it was a very nice stay and barely a 10 minute tuk-tuk from Amangalla. However, on our second night, we went to Amangalla for dinner, and we fell in love. We happened to meet the manager, Pietro, who is a goldmine of information. He was kind enough to indulge us on the details about the furniture, prices, and give spa recommendations. We really enjoyed our chat with him. It's clear that he is a true professional, as the service, cleanliness, decor and every other aspect of Amangalla is beyond reproach. Pietro, cheers to you for the great job you do.

For dinner, we ordered the Sri Lankan Rice and Curry, and split it. It was so beautifully presented, with maybe 10 different types of curries, pickles and chutneys on display. Our server plated it up for us in a very professional manner. Meanwhile, the Vesak Day lantern that the staff had built was being lit for display. They did a marvelous job. This was the nicest lantern we saw in all of Sri Lanka. You could tell they put a lot of care into this project.

We fell so in love with our meal, the service and the ambiance that we booked a spa treatment for the next day. And on top of that, the food was so good, we came early and had breakfast before our spa treatment! Hoppers and curry!!! This was the best day ever. The baths at the Amangalla are a really indulgent, lovely experience. The towels are huge and soft. The shampoos are beautiful. The slippers are nice. The steam room is not too hot--just right. And the massage therapist were TOPS. We both ordered the 90m Amangalla massage and it was money well spent. They asked us questions in advance regarding what type of pressure we wanted, and where we were hurting most. Afterwards, we got cleaned up and dressed and went out sightseeing around Galle.

We are so thankful to the Amangalla for enhancing our Sri Lanka experience by offering their restaurant and spa to us to use. If you can swing it, definitely stay here. We're saving our pennies so that we can stay here next time. If the restaurant and spa are this good, we can only dream about the rooms!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    66
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
70
254
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Galle is supposed to be one of the must sees in Sri Lanka. We came here for a day trip and had tea in this lovely hotel. The service and the food is very well appointed. We sit at the terrace close to the entrance. The breeze is really nice in the afternoon. We must stay here next time when we visit Sri Lanka again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Huang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We did not stay here but popped in for afternoon tea on the veranda whilst exploring Galle Old Town Fort. The staff were very attentive and professional. The tea and scones with whipped cream and strawberry jam was excellent. The toilets were immaculate. Very relaxing, cooling and refreshing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A beautiful complement to Amanwella where after two days of beach, we experienced a further two days in a historic hotel within a historic fort. We did a whale watching trip en route and had a lovely picnic hamper organised by the Aman resorts to keep our stomachs full (fortunate for us we got to see a blue whale as well as several dolphins).

After arriving at the hotel, we were shown around a lovely property which was very peaceful from the buzzing town of Galle. The hotel sent you back several decades but yet had the modern necessities to make your stay comfortable.

Please do read my review on Amangalla as all the plus points still applied.

I would say the only downfall was probably the spa which in all honesty wasn't bad, but just no way as good as the one at Amanwella. There was some noise which made it less relaxing.

After our experience with Aman, we certainly look forward to the next Aman resort we will visit.

Apart from the hotel, the fort is a lovely place just to walk around and take in all it has to offer along with the views. Our personal advice, once in Aman, don't leave Aman - outside the hotel, a lot of people try to sell us on various things and try to take us to various markets / etc. Best to pay a little more at the fort itself and enjoy the resort and its' surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMehta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

At the highest point of the fort stands the venerable former "New Oriental" hotel. A successful conversion by Aman and a place of great beauty and historic charm.

Managed with an iron hand by a very senior Aman manager (who now left to open overpriced Aman Venice) this place is an absolute must go in Galle.

The rooms are minimalist comfortable with those in the main building having views on the lively scene near the old Dutch church. Service is gracious and unobstrusive with a personal butler assigned to each room.

The pool area is hidden in the garden and the water surface is large enough for serious swimming. There is also a small F&B facility at the pool, the main restaurant being in the historical "Zaal" and the verandah.

Privacy can be an issue with poorly dressed and even more poorly behaving outsiders claiming the best spaces in the "Zaal" and the verandah despite no signs indicating a hotel. Access control has been improved over the years tough.

Make sure to visist the spa where there are two completely private steam/jacuzzi complex, "The Bath", which you can book free of charge. They come with candles and the whole romance.

You may also wish to go on the Geoffrey Bawa excursion tailored by the GM herself which will take you by train to Bentota and then on the tracks of this great architect.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main house for the lively views but be prepared for some noise. To be quiet sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Step back in time at Amangalla, this grand old lady of Galle Fort. With its historic background and beautiful refit it surely is the jewel in the crown. From the moment you arrive to when its sadly time to depart you are surrounded by a peaceful old world ambience. The rooms and common areas are spacious and elegantly furnished with dutch colonial antiques, many retained from the original hotel. Take time to wander the corridors with it original artwork and photographs depicting "those days" to have a sense of what life was like in her early years.

My days were spent slowly wandering the along the rampant walls, riding one of the hotel push bikes through the cobbled streets, high tea on the verandah. Gin and tonic watching the sunset over the Indian Ocean (I cheated it was usually a mojito). With lots of pool time in between. Surrounded by the scent of frangipanis, the morning bird calls and the occasional monkey swinging through the trees.

A special thank you to the managers Pietro and Kavita who are both warm and welcoming, making me immediately feel part of the Aman family. Their staff are also kind and caring. The service is discreet but attentive, the food created by chef Jonathan was outstanding. The early morning Yoga classes with Eva invigorating. Front Office Danika always smiling and helpful.

Thank you Amangalla for a rare glimpse into the past.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Finally this heritage hotel lovingly reinvented at an amanresort is lively with happy guests, now that the war is over and tourists are flocking south on the super fast highway. This has always been a gorgeous hotel but was often very quiet. On our last visit just after Christmas, the hotel was humming, the food was delicious, the staff completely switched on and the grounds blooming. Highly recommended: the baths at the spa, at least one day spent by the pool (in my opinion its aman's finest), the Sri Lankan curries and a walk around the Fort in the footsteps of the amangalla map, charmingly hand drawn by the original general manager.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
517 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
379 reviews
4.6 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
263 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Property: Amangalla
Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
#4 Spa Hotel in Galle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing