We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply AMAZING...”
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amangalla
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Simply AMAZING...”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First things first....I did not stay here but visited the property and enjoyed the spa for a massage. So I cannot speak of the rooms. But what I can speak of is the lobby, the grounds and the spa which are just extraordinary. You must remember that this is Galle in Sri Lanka and this property has been around for quiet some time. Some people may have complaints but I could not find any fault with this place.

As soon as you arrive you are greeted by a drawing room type of a reception that reminds you of a scene from Downton Abby except that all the service personnel are Sri Lankan and have smiles from ear to ear. Kindness etched into their very fabrics.

The spa is in a long narrow space and you are received by someone whom looks like she just came from Mother Theresas convent in Calcutta. You know with the white sarees so well ironed and so well groomed?

If you have the where with all and wish to sample a day or two in Galle, then this is the place to stay. Galle is slowly but surely gentrifying and i do see the day when it looses its current old world charm and becomes something a bit more akin to having being spoilt by outside influences.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjy88sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    66
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
70
253
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Had a great 2 night stay. It was our last leg of our trip and I sincerely regret not staying longer. Stay made me a true Aman junkie. The service was so effortless and came naturally to all team members, true sign of a proper hospitality which makes to crave for more.
My sincere praise for Nallin who was our butler. Thank you Aman for making our holiday a perfect one. We will come back again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvinhobbes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Exceptional in every way. A wonderfully elegant hotel with every facility you could wish for. The room was beautiful, pool and spa facilities were spotless and the staff could not have been more helpful providing faultless service at every turn. No televisions in sight (but one could be found in a hidden location) and an interesting library well worth browsing.
Great location for touring and watching cricket (if you're lucky with timing).

Room Tip: Stairs could be a challenge for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSB462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Amangalla is an exceptional hotel. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty on the very small details and our butler, Yasith was really excellent attending to our every need.

We had the pool to ourselves and our room on the top floor was grand to put it mildly.

The price was eye watering but as they say, you only regret your economies and this wasn't one of them. Worth every penny.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Elegant and charming - thats the hotel and the staff, who were all most helpful (there seemed to be a lot of staff - perhaps because the hotel was quite quiet)
Wonderful rooms and facilities and right in the old fort, so good to get out and walk around the very interesting area after a week of touring by car

Room Tip: Higher floors in oldest part of building are wonderful, quiet, great views, (but no lift!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSioned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

A truly colonial paradise. After trying AmanWella for a few days then you must try AmanGalla. Completely different settings but with one common theme: absolute luxury. Galle is an amazingly charming town. And AmanGalla is brilliantly designed. From the second you walk into your room, hear the jazz music playing and then are escorted around the property by your butler then you will fall in love with this place. This is what dreams are made of..

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had high expectations and Amangalla exceeded them in every way.
Everything about this hotel is just perfect.

After the welcome by the General Manager, our butler showed us our room (chamber n°6) which was simply breathtaking with a lot of small details about the history of the building. It's like stepping back in time. The furniture are all antiques. The housekeeper did an amazing job, very discreet but always present, even to just open us the door…

Overall, the service was the best we experienced in Sri Lanka. All the members of the staff were very efficient. We particularly liked the fact that the staff knew our room number without needing to tell them, the « no bill to sign » policy, the small gifts everyday and all the small attentions like being handed cold towels everytime we came back to the hotel.

Nalin, our butler, took us to an interesting tour of the city. He was really excellent and always present. Nothing was too much trouble for him.

The food was really good and we particularly enjoyed the atmosphere of the veranda during dinner.

The swimming pool is perfectly designed and again the service provided is excellent.

We had wonderful spa treatments. Go for the ayurvedic treatments as it's one of their specialties.

I'm still dreaming about this place. Thank you Amangalla family

One tip : if you want to buy same furniture for your house, go to Olanda. It’s like the ali baba’s cave. After an hour of negociations, you can get good prices.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room to avoid noise from the street and from the room above yours as the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,713 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
1.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Property: Amangalla
Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
#4 Spa Hotel in Galle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing