We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English country house hotel”
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amangalla
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“English country house hotel”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Near perfection from the great team at the Amangalla. A beautifully renovated grand house in Galle Fort turned in to a haven of luxury and civility. Our room was traditional but oh so comfortable and just loved the fact that everything is included. Fabulous breakfasts and cream teas. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Touchstone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    66
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
70
253
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This Aman Resort lives up to your expectations. Great property. Great staff, and a GM who's omnipresent. Thanks Pietro! The spa is better than many. (Have an old-style shave, by the barber!). Aman's tours are up to snuff; try the Geoffrey Bawa all-day tour to see some amazing properties/architecture!) We stayed five days--a really nice experience, and we were sad to leave! Oh well.

Room Tip: We liked the ones that have a balcony--great place for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Amangalla has become my benchmark hotel. Unfortunately... The service is superb. Discrete, attentive, sophisticated. The facilities are very nice. Spa is very nice. Food is very nice. Location is very nice. Rooms are fantastic.

Superior attention to detail. Bravo.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders-Deguene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon - UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there today. Service very friendly and professional. I had the crab curry which I struggled with messily for ten minutes and gave up. It yielded less than a teaspoon of meat.

I am used to eating crab so this was a severe disappointment.

Complained to the chef via the water but it was ignored, so a very expensive and insubstantial lunch.

Nice place, nice people, but avoid the crab - it's an unalloyed rip off I'm afraid

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickBSwindon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
Level Contributor
210 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Following our amazing experience at Amanwella we traveled to Amangalla on the West coast of the Island where we again had a fantastic stay. This property is a grand old hotel beautifully refurbished where you feel you’ve traveled back in time 100 years or more but with all the modern conveniences.

There are a number of very special things about this hotel which are worth mentioning not the least of which is the staff. The whole staff maintains a “can do” attitude and is willing and able to help with anything one might need. Our Butler, Nalin, was very attentive and worked very hard to make our stay extraordinary—- he is a warm and kind man with a big smile. The new chef is fantastic and we enjoyed every single meal we had during our 4 day stay. He is friendly, personable and wants to accommodate in any way he can. The serving staff is simply perfect in every way.

The Executive Assistant Manager, Kavita Faiella, could not have been more helpful and welcoming and her ever-present approach to managing was much appreciated. She is a real asset to Aman. I must add here that our wonderful adventure actually began last year with the superior assistance we received from central reservations, especially from Assistant Sales Manager Sachin Coomaraswamy.

The hotel itself is a beautiful three story colonial building with a great dining area, terrace and bar/lounge space. In fact, there we enjoyed the best bloody Mary and Arak sour we’ve ever had. Outside toward the back of the hotel there is a beautiful pool, with unique cabanas and a small outdoor dining area for lunch and breakfast.

The rooms are spectacular with large very comfortable beds and pillows, wonderful sitting area and writing desk, great rain head shower, double sinks and sufficient storage. Our room staff was always available wanting to fulfill any request —they were especially kind and caring.

The on-site spa was delightful and I enjoyed a really good facial with Kerry and my husband had the best ever shave with Roshan —- fun, relaxing experiences for both of us.

If you need transportation to anywhere in Galle there is a great Tuk Tuk driver who is normally right outside the hotel —- his name is Hassan and he is the best there is. He knows where everything is and his rates are more than fair. His Tuk Tuk is a medium green in color with beautiful stainless steel grillwork on the inside. Hassan has a ponytail if that helps to identify him.

One store we found particularly interesting was a small shop called Orchard not too far from the Lighthouse. Yaseem was incredibly helpful to us in finding items he did not carry. A true gentleman.

The South coast of Sri Lanka is a wonderful location with great beaches, blue whales (we were able to see 4 huge blue whales and two large, spectacular sea turtles on our whale watching boat trip), plus you can see elephant and other wild species if you head in to the interior. Sri Lanka is a magical place to visit and the Aman resorts are the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Select a room pin the third floor, even though there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Wonderful ! the Aman group did really refurbish the place in an excellent way maintaining the authenticity of the place . Choose Amangalla due to its historic atmosphere. Our room was spacious and beautifully and antiquely furnished; it had big windows looking over the main street and historic part of Galle. A big swimming pool was very relaxing and refreshing after a long walk in the Galle fort area. An elegant hotel with every facility you could wish for. Great location for touring and watching cricket (if you're lucky with timing). No televisions in sight (but one could be found in a hidden location) and an interesting library well worth browsing. The staff could not have been more helpful providing faultless service at every turn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
338 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have traveled the world for over 30 years and are fortunate to be able to stay in wonderful hotels.We had great expectations of this Aman property in Galle and these are being surpassed in so many ways.Understated and appropriately furnished colonial style hotel inside the Fort.A beautiful and large suite,comfortably furnished and with first class linens and amenities.Superbly attentive staff who seek to please and discretely anticipate/ensure all one's needs are met.Our own butler, in addition to making all arrangements at the hotel ,came with us shopping,on walking tours ,to a cooking class and when needed,went into town to get us some toiletries!The hotel restaurant serves excellent Western and Sri Lankan food.Outside,a large,pristine outdoor pool with comfortable cabanas and a spa offering the full range of treatment and services.Guests all seem to be appropriate and low key,we didn't see a single chav (royalty or denizens) during our 4 day stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiesPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,713 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
1.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Property: Amangalla
Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Spa Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing