We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tea on the Verandah”
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amangalla
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a beautiful old building which has been tastefully turned into a boutique hotel. A groups of us had high tea here. It was a lovely experience. The food was delicious. Sipping Ceylon tea on the verandah as the sun sets - now, that is truly memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADSNYC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here with our 2 children for 3 nights in a suite on the top floor. The room was very spacious with lovely polished wooden floors. The beds were very comfortable and each night at turndown service there was a small gift for the children - a nice touch!
The hotel itself has been tastefully modernised, but maintains a sense of connection with its historic past as the New Oriental Hotel. The gardens are beautiful and contain all sorts of tropical plants and flowers as well as birds and lizards. The swimming pool is large and lined with comfortable cabanas in which to while away the afternoon heat. We enjoyed the complimentary cream tea here!
We found all the staff to be friendly and professional and we felt very relaxed and at home.
Breakfast was very good with a big range of options including the Sri Lankan speciality of egg hoppers. We spent our days exploring the fort (lots of history - museums, churches, etc as well as shopping, snake charmers, tuk tuk rides) and we also made a trip to a local tea plantation which was organised by the hotel.
We had drinks each evening on the verandah watching the world go by before venturing out into the town to choose somewhere to have dinner (we would recommend Wok on the Wild Side). We had an excellent Sri Lankan curry on the one night we ate at the hotel.
All in all we found the hotel to be a real haven of peace to return to after exploring bustling Galle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunflowergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The location is hard to beat right at the town end of Galle Fort and so wandering the rabbit warren streets from here is as easy as pie...however remembering exactly where you saw those nice shirts or that smart necklace is not so easy, so if you go out for a wander and see somewhere you would like to go back to, do make a note of the name of the street! The Amangalla has been done over with bags of old style grandeur with lovingly polished wood and tile floors, and the net effect is cool and spacious and reeks of colonial times. However there is no lift and if you are on the top floor it is a bit of a climb especially if the weather is heavy, and the free standing bath which was pretty much in the bedroom itself may just be a triumph of interior design over common sense. Staff are welcoming and pleasant but at times slightly over eager to please which can be just a tiny bit irksome. There was no female therapist available when I tried to book a spa treatment, but the pool area is gorgeous with plenty of shade if you want it and ice cold water delivered without asking. Bed was magnificently comfortable and we both slept like logs

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Near perfection from the great team at the Amangalla. A beautifully renovated grand house in Galle Fort turned in to a haven of luxury and civility. Our room was traditional but oh so comfortable and just loved the fact that everything is included. Fabulous breakfasts and cream teas. Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Touchstone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This Aman Resort lives up to your expectations. Great property. Great staff, and a GM who's omnipresent. Thanks Pietro! The spa is better than many. (Have an old-style shave, by the barber!). Aman's tours are up to snuff; try the Geoffrey Bawa all-day tour to see some amazing properties/architecture!) We stayed five days--a really nice experience, and we were sad to leave! Oh well.

Room Tip: We liked the ones that have a balcony--great place for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Amangalla has become my benchmark hotel. Unfortunately... The service is superb. Discrete, attentive, sophisticated. The facilities are very nice. Spa is very nice. Food is very nice. Location is very nice. Rooms are fantastic.

Superior attention to detail. Bravo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders-Deguene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there today. Service very friendly and professional. I had the crab curry which I struggled with messily for ten minutes and gave up. It yielded less than a teaspoon of meat.

I am used to eating crab so this was a severe disappointment.

Complained to the chef via the water but it was ignored, so a very expensive and insubstantial lunch.

Nice place, nice people, but avoid the crab - it's an unalloyed rip off I'm afraid

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PatrickBSwindon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 23 in Galle
550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
405 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 23 in Galle
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#12 of 23 in Galle
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Spa Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £435 - £872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing