We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History in style”
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amangalla
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“History in style”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent 18 days in Sri Lanka and stayed the last 3 night in Amangalla, an absolutely sublime hotel exeperience. The hotel combines a colonial ambiance (architecture, decoration, the clothes of the staff) with a refined luxury.The highs:

-great food: typical Sri Lankan dishes but much more than only that
-beautiful garden and a big and very relaxed swimming pool
-spacious and beautifully decorated rooms with wooden floors, great beds and characteristic bath rooms
-complementary high tea
-very well situated within the Galle Fort.
-every night another nice gift on your bed

the lows:
-it isn't cheap but you get value for your money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    66
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
70
254
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Unawatuna Beach in July. The owner and his wife couldn't do enough for us and looked after us really well. The food there was superb, we had some lovely curries and there was pizza for the kids - it was excellent value for money- as was best the guest house. We recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This beautiful landmark hotel defines luxury, service and authenticity. You can stay at the hotel and use it as your base to discover the historical 17th Century, Dutch Galle Fort and the authentic Sri Lankan culture. Or, If your preference is for a relaxing holiday in a five star hotel you never have to leave the hotel. There is an authentic Ayurvedic spa with all the traditional treatments. The spa engages a qualified Ayurvedic doctor if you would like to have a consultation. Every morning there is a yoga class taught by one of the Ayurvedic practioners in the most beautiful outdoor yoga pavilion I have ever experienced. The pool and cabanas are divine, the chef produces the most delicious meals all day and the rooms are tranquil. The sunset bar on the top floor lets you enjoy a few of the Fort and the sunset If you fancy a local adventure to the various markets, there are tuk tuks right outside the door of the hotel ready to take you on anywhere you wish. Make this a holiday destination to see beautiful Galle, Sri Lanka. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are lovely but there is no elevator so it can be quite a hike if stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 252pennyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there as the last part of our 10 days Sri Lanka trip. We stayed there for 2 days and it was just amazing.

The service was very details from the day we check in and every single times we stepped into the hotels. They would just do the right pleasant thing at the right time.

At the last night, We arranged a private dinner at the 2nd night. Great food great service great setup and environment.

It is located at the most beautiful part of Galle.

If I need to be picky, the only minus would be the air-con. I prefer 18 degree but it couldn't go down to that temperature.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank matchz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we did not stay, it was just a sight inspection tour.. this place is just amazing..
very colonial, beautiful decor, beautiful swimmingpool and best location. the rooms are huge and just beautiful like so often at Aman but here there is history "en plus". A superb hotel in every respect, butler service that is for real, housekeeping, attention to detail and apparently a true concern of guest's wellbeing. that' s the great Aman service!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beculale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a perfect place to finish our tour of Sri Lanka ! It is a beautiful Manor house inside the Fort of Galle from which you can stroll on the walls or among the little shops which have a good selection of souvenirs and stylist clothes. We had the garden suite, very spacious, well furnished and spotless. The food was excellent so we decided to have all the meals there on the beautiful and peaceful terrace from which we could follow the everyday local life. There is a spot just in front of the terrace where all the newly married couples come for their photoes, very interesting. The swimming pool is large and very elegant, with a good service of bar and snacks. Last and not least, a superb butler service which assists you in every need during your stay.

Room Tip: There is no lift so it is advisable to book a room on the ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is place, is just sound proof.. The silence one feels inside is amazing.. Its just peaceful for both the ears and mind !!! Very relaxing.. The warm and traditional welcome we received, as we checked in, was fantastic... The poolside is fantastic for a nice cocktail and some lone time and just bask all afternoon...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
517 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
379 reviews
4.6 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
263 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Property: Amangalla
Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Spa Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing