We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Charm at its best”
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amangalla
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A historical building full of colonial charm. Even the standard room is huge with bed room same size as that of the bedroom itself. Dinner and breakfast both fantastic. The atmosphere of the dining area was so awesome - old title floor, extreme high ceiling, slow turning fans above, sitting on the veranda, feeling the summer breeze, watching the people walking by under the old big tree just outside the front of the hotel, or people coming for wedding photo in their traditional costume - everything seems so unreal and back in the colonial time. We just enjoyed it very much. We had a chance to visit some of the suites on the top floor which is more expensive one. They are larger in side, with a huge living room facing the front of the hotel. However, the best part of the view is outside of the room, in front of the door, where there is a public corridor with table and chairs and larger window through which you can see the red titled roof of those colonial building with a backdrop of the ocean, in between some church and clock tower. Service was excellent, the general manager will always come by in person to greet them, and when leaving the hotel, he will also come by and joined by the whole group of their staff to say good bye. Everything was perfect, and the location was also excellent, where you can start to explore this fortified city just by stepping out of the hotel. We walked in the morning around the old fort for around 3 hours and explored almost every conrer. It was a very beautiful day but a bit hot so we were all sweating, and it was perfect that we could come back to the hotel after the walking to take a bath before enjoying our light lucn in the veranda. Overall a very memorable experience for us.

Room Tip: Not really worth to spend extra to stay in the high floor, the view from inside the suite was to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKA_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent 18 days in Sri Lanka and stayed the last 3 night in Amangalla, an absolutely sublime hotel exeperience. The hotel combines a colonial ambiance (architecture, decoration, the clothes of the staff) with a refined luxury.The highs:

-great food: typical Sri Lankan dishes but much more than only that
-beautiful garden and a big and very relaxed swimming pool
-spacious and beautifully decorated rooms with wooden floors, great beds and characteristic bath rooms
-complementary high tea
-very well situated within the Galle Fort.
-every night another nice gift on your bed

the lows:
-it isn't cheap but you get value for your money

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Unawatuna Beach in July. The owner and his wife couldn't do enough for us and looked after us really well. The food there was superb, we had some lovely curries and there was pizza for the kids - it was excellent value for money- as was best the guest house. We recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This beautiful landmark hotel defines luxury, service and authenticity. You can stay at the hotel and use it as your base to discover the historical 17th Century, Dutch Galle Fort and the authentic Sri Lankan culture. Or, If your preference is for a relaxing holiday in a five star hotel you never have to leave the hotel. There is an authentic Ayurvedic spa with all the traditional treatments. The spa engages a qualified Ayurvedic doctor if you would like to have a consultation. Every morning there is a yoga class taught by one of the Ayurvedic practioners in the most beautiful outdoor yoga pavilion I have ever experienced. The pool and cabanas are divine, the chef produces the most delicious meals all day and the rooms are tranquil. The sunset bar on the top floor lets you enjoy a few of the Fort and the sunset If you fancy a local adventure to the various markets, there are tuk tuks right outside the door of the hotel ready to take you on anywhere you wish. Make this a holiday destination to see beautiful Galle, Sri Lanka. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are lovely but there is no elevator so it can be quite a hike if stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 252pennyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there as the last part of our 10 days Sri Lanka trip. We stayed there for 2 days and it was just amazing.

The service was very details from the day we check in and every single times we stepped into the hotels. They would just do the right pleasant thing at the right time.

At the last night, We arranged a private dinner at the 2nd night. Great food great service great setup and environment.

It is located at the most beautiful part of Galle.

If I need to be picky, the only minus would be the air-con. I prefer 18 degree but it couldn't go down to that temperature.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank matchz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we did not stay, it was just a sight inspection tour.. this place is just amazing..
very colonial, beautiful decor, beautiful swimmingpool and best location. the rooms are huge and just beautiful like so often at Aman but here there is history "en plus". A superb hotel in every respect, butler service that is for real, housekeeping, attention to detail and apparently a true concern of guest's wellbeing. that' s the great Aman service!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beculale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a perfect place to finish our tour of Sri Lanka ! It is a beautiful Manor house inside the Fort of Galle from which you can stroll on the walls or among the little shops which have a good selection of souvenirs and stylist clothes. We had the garden suite, very spacious, well furnished and spotless. The food was excellent so we decided to have all the meals there on the beautiful and peaceful terrace from which we could follow the everyday local life. There is a spot just in front of the terrace where all the newly married couples come for their photoes, very interesting. The swimming pool is large and very elegant, with a good service of bar and snacks. Last and not least, a superb butler service which assists you in every need during your stay.

Room Tip: There is no lift so it is advisable to book a room on the ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
407 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#9 of 24 in Galle
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#13 of 24 in Galle
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Spa Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £438 - £876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing