We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where to write your next book” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apa Villa Illuketia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apa Villa Illuketia
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where to write your next book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Illuketia benefits more than most from TripAdvisor reviews because it will help steer beachgoing and convenience-seeking tourists towards other properties. The rest of you, keep reading. Gardens that are deceptively large and diverse, including flora and fauna. An old black-and-white manor house akin to Alkaff Mansion in Singapore or the E&O. Creative landscaping and homey artistic touches that make the verandahs and interior square inviting. The Illuketia is a long exhalation. For those looking for that simple quiet beautiful spot, it really works. After decades of Pico Iyeresque travel, there are only two places where I had this awakening.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ee_and_zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApaVillasGalle, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are so heartened by Ee-n-Zz's appreciation of our inland plantation house as it is precisely the reason why we have opened the doors for guests who will find inspiration and quiet in the gardens and living space.
We hope to see the family again and perhaps, for a longer stay to write that next book or to read in the cocoon of our Illuketia confines. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    19
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
30
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

After turning up with my agoda booking and asking to drop my bags off, due to having to go to galle hospital to pick my wife up who had broken her back... I was turned away with the rude staff stating they would not accept my agoda voucher.

I was made to wait outside with know help or anything... I have never been treated so badly and if they think that is 5 star service they are mistaken.

Please everyone be carful booking here and if you dare, please phone ahead as I would not want you turned away too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApaVillasGalle, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
It is regretful that Mr. Mark W from London was caught in between the non-compliance of his booking agent and our management.

Mr. Mark W’s booking was made the evening before and we had immediately informed Agoda that the booking cannot be accepted as there was no room available.
Nonetheless, the guest turned up despite our immediate action to Agoda and when we explained the situation, he accepted without any dispute.

Our staff at hand was never rude to Mr. Mark W and we believe that the customer should have queried his booking agent first and foremost.

We are sorry that Mr. Mark W’s wife was with a broken back. He did not mention this to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I booked a Waterlilly room in this hotel in December and payed for 9 days in advance more than 1700 USD. I maked it from Agoda site and booked a room since 5 of January till 14 of January. When I book it there was plenty of photos of beach, big rooms so I was sure that the hotel on the beach because there is no such category of room on hotel's site (waterlily). Then I arrived there is no transfer from the hote althouth I asked for it so we have to get taxi and had a long journey to hotel. Then we call to hotel there is no answer on our rings. Then we arrived on it (5 of January) we found out that the hotel is on jungle, the room is very small, dark, without TV and frigo, with a little bad and the destination to the beach is more than 5 km. While we were staying in hotel heavy machinery worked near our window for the whole day! So I have to check out on 6 of January at 12:00. I informed General Manager of Appa Villa (Mr. Ranjan Pathiranage) of my urgent check out but he refuse to get my money back. By the way I didn't received any papers from Apa hotel because their refusal. That's unacceptable situation and so I payed for 8 days just for satisfaction of management of the hotel.
By the way I didn`t recieved any e-mails form hotel for all my requests. I`m absolutelly sur the the hotel doesn`t deserve Trip Advisor reward!

Dmitry Rozhkov

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApaVillasGalle, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Mr. Rozhkov checked out of Illuketia abruptly after one night's stay on Jan. 5 saying that he had expected a beach resort instead of being our inland plantation estate.
He cited viewing photos of the beach and had expectations of staying on a beach villa presumably Apa Villa Thalpe, our sister hotel. He moved out to another hotel in Unawatuna and demanded a full refund.

We are completely baffled by Mr. Rozhkov's unrealistic demand for payment for what is basically his failure to understand that Illuketia is not a beach villa. The fact that he booked under the Agoda web site with the descriptions and photos provided by Agoda shows his lack of understanding of what he had paid for.

We suggest that Mr. Rozhkov take this matter to the booking agent Agoda and retrace his steps on how he came to the unfortunate mistake of an inland plantation estate (not a jungle) instead of a beach villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This place is something very special. The gardens are stunning and the pool is beautiful.
The Waterlily suite is very small but to be honest, unless you are staying for a week, this place is not about the room, since you will spend time in the gardens, by the pool and on the veranda rather that in your room. So the Waterlily suite is fine if you are just here for a night or two.
This place will suit someone that is looking for piece and quiet away from the beach and someone that wants to relax in a beautiful colonial style house. Go for a walk along the rice fields which is truly stunning.
We had the Singapore crab dinner which was great.

Room Tip: The Waterlily suite is very small but to be honest, unless you are staying for a week, this place is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel is a paradox as the service is not great and the manager was non existent
But for the setting and rusticness of the whole experience the value for money is still great
And you just cant get a 5 room hotel with such a large beatiful garden for this value
A 6 star resort with 3 or 4 star service
Food though is reasonable
Just a paradox on the service to the setting
It is well away from the beach but at least two nights here

Room Tip: We had the best room It has the outside varandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Well, this is not really a hotel in the traditional sense. It has all of six bedrooms. The bedrooms are not exceptionally large as well, although the verandah's more than make up for it. We stayed in two of the rooms in the main building. But staying here is not about your room. This is a royal home with stellar grounds.

This is one of those places where you can stay for many days on end, simply to unwind and relax. You get your self books to read an enjoy nature.

There is a lovely swimming pool in the grounds that will work phenomenally well. The food is simple and tasty. But is is very fresh since most of the ingredients came from the gardens. The fruits and vegetables were excellent.

You can do day-trips to galle and the beach from here and take in the local sights and sounds. Personally, I don't think there is much deep cultural tourism that you can do in Srilanka. The golden triangle is much touted, but I can find exceptional history and culture in Tamilnadu and many parts of India that are far deeper and exciting. Srilanka is a nice place with nice people that offers a great opportunity for easy vacations.

What you cannot expect in this resort like in a five-star hotel
a) TV
b) Bathtubs & spa
c) Gourmet Food
d) Gym

This is a grand villa residence where you can simply unwind and have peace. We stayed here in Dec 2011

Room Tip: The pond rooms might work better if you want to be away from the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

No amount of pictures or photoshopping can give you the real naked-eye view of the beautiful property that is - Apa Villa Illuketia. Everything about this place is absolutely stunning. We just got back from a lovely holiday in Sri Lanka and we stayed here for 3 nights (too less). We got to meet the lovely Cynthia (the owner) who was so lovely and hospitable. We had some lovely conversations and shared an enormous and absolutely scrumptious, fresh seafood dinner on one of the nights - crab, massive prawns and a grilled fish with an assortment of sauces. The dessert was to die for - chocolate mousse with passion fruit pulp - wow! Thanks Cynthia for arranging the crab for us!

We stayed at the Pond House, which is a little walk away from the main house. It overlooks this gorgeous pond with a whole ecosystem of its own! My mother was a little daunted by the prospect of staying away from the main house because Apa Villa is literally in the middle of no where.... but one night, a good night's sleep, listening to the music of the night put her heart at rest. The mornings were so lovely... with the 2 resident birds, plethora of insects, monitor lizard and chameleons.... My daughter who is 2 was absolutely enthralled by everything she was seeing and hearing.

Our room was big - with a massive bed and an outdoor-indoor bathroom (quite interesting). The bed was super comfy. I wish they had more seating in the room and a bathtub in the bathroom (they do have the room for it!) would be absolutely perfect.... oh and a little fridge would be a great addition too.

Try the Sri Lankan breakfasts - with hoppers and curry. Don't miss the curd and treacle! The breakfast fruit platter was also delightful with a different assortment everyday. Yummy mixed fruit juice and proper coffee!

We had such a great time... we're getting withdrawal symptoms. We also visited the sister property - Apa Villa Thalpe, which is by the beach. I guess, it's each to his own... but I preferred Illuketia to Thalpe - more to do, more to see...

I can write a whole essay but I will stop. We loved this place and the people there made it all the more special. The manager, Ranjan too great care of us and Cynthia gave us recommendations on where to shop, eat etc at the Galle Fort. Will be returning again!

Room Tip: Stay at the Pond House for a little more privacy. The main house is lovely too. The Waterlily suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fazzyk416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singsong, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
It has been a pleasure to have your family of three generations as guests at Illuketia and we thank you profusely for all the glowing things you mentioned about your stay. This is the high point of being in the hospitality business that we welcome our guests as we would our personal friends.
The exchange we have had with each and everyone remains with us forever, and indeed, some guests have kept up the relationship with visits to our home base in Singapore and by email messages.
We also welcome your comments on certain needs in the suite at Pond House and we will provide the shortcomings to ensure that guests thereafter will enjoy the comforts in every way.
Please keep in touch and we look forward to your next visit to Illuketia with your family members and certainly, when you are in Singapore, it will be my duty to welcome you to my home country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
3.1 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#14 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sun House
The Sun House
#31 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#13 of 60 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#17 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apa Villa Illuketia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Villa Illuketia

Property: Apa Villa Illuketia
Address: Illuketia Watta | Wanchawala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#17 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apa Villa Illuketia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa hideaway with five suites set in 12 acres of garden and ponds. A luxury that our guests can discern on arrival. Only 15 minutes from Galle town, going to Illuketia is a return to nature and plantation lifestyle. The splendid mansion with original wooden temple doors, carved window frames and Oriental-style furniture is drawn out of a traveller's journal. A swimming pool in the far end of a lush garden allows a dip while watching birds and monkeys at close range. Three differently styled bedrooms are placed around a courtyard fish pond in the main house and two other suites are located in a separate Pond House. Each room varies in size and outlook, with its own walk-in wardrobe, sitting area indoor or outdoor. The Hibiscus Suite is considered the master room with a long private balcony lined with cushions and facing tall jack trees and rice fields. There is a separate walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. The Lotus Suite is aligned long and spacious with a walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. Windows look out to a water channel and flowering trees. The Citronella Suite is cozy and comes with a dining table and chairs in a private open-air verandah. It has its own wardrobe and en-suite bathrooms. All rooms are air-conditioned with additional ceiling fans and power points. The villa serves organic rice from its own rice fields, fruit, herbs and vegetables from the garden. Apa Villa's Sri Lankan Curry Rijstafel Dinner is all-time favourite among guests.. Apart from this, there is All Day menu of snacks, light meals and tea service. Evening meals are from an A La Carte with our stewards serving in the traditional sarong and tunic outfits. Booking for long-term of Pond House and whole villa welcomed. Illuketia and its grounds is ideal for weddings, anniversaries and birthday celebrations or groups with special interests like bird-watching, workshops, mahjong, painting and photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Apa Villa Illuketia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Villa Illuketia Hotel Galle
Apa Hotel Illuketia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing