We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Tropical Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apa Villa Illuketia
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Perfect Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The most beautiful place I've ever been to. The gardens are what I'd expect Eden to be like. Accommodating to all sorts of travelers. Staff were VERY helpful, rooms come with booklets advising what to do to maximize your stay. Pool was perfect and kept clean. Furniture is a little old however, it adds to the overall charm of this historic estate, rooms are kept very clean. Close to Galle Fort (15 min drive away via tuk tuk) and equally as close to the beach. Wifi was available at some areas of the house, but not as strong in the gardens.

PERFECT FOR:
- Weddings
- Honeymoons
- Families looking to spend wholesome time together
- Nature lovers
- Bird watchers
- Authors or artist in need of inspiration
- Foodies (all dishes made with ingredients grown in the hotel's gardens along with the freshest seafood imaginable.)
- Photographers
- Cyclists
- Gardeners
- Basically, everyone.

I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own unique charm. The pond house is more private as it is away from the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hanli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    19
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
30
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our original intention was to stay within the Old Fort area in Galle but, with our initial choices fully booked, we ended up at Illuketia. And what a piece of luck that was as Illuketia is a truly magical place. The Old Fort is an easy 15 – 20 min tuk tuk ride away (the hotel staff will arrange at short notice) and so I can’t really see why you would want to stay in the Old Fort when you can spend the day there and then return to the tranquility of the lush, jungle gardens of Illuketia, surrounded by countryside and rice paddies. I appreciate some reviewers comment that Illuketia is isolated but we never felt we were too far away from anything and the feeling of peace and seclusion was a real bonus. Illuketia is an exquisitely beautiful property. We stayed in one of the Pond House rooms, a short walk through the garden from the main house and fine for 2 adults and 2 young children. Furnishings in the room were a little rustic but that sort of added to the charm. We spent many hours watching the birds, monkeys, lizards and other wildlife from our swing chair overlooking the pond. You feel as though you have the whole gardens to yourself and there is also a lovely swimming pool. If you want to be by the beach this is also no problem as they have a sister property at Thalpe, a pleasant 15 mins taxi / tuk tuk drive through the countryside, where you can spend the day and have lunch. We ate evening meals and sometimes lunch on the veranda of the beautiful main house at Illuketia. Food was excellent; the evening menu was set but there is also a good lunch menu you can choose from and the chef always accommodated with suitable meals for our children. The restaurant does not have an alcohol licence but you can easily arrange for your own beer and wine which they will keep cold for you. The staff were very friendly and helpful, both in advance of our arrival (when arranging transport) and throughout our stay. A big thanks to Meegama and the other staff for looking after us so well.

If you are looking for peace and relaxation but not too far away from Galle and the beaches, I thoroughly recommend Illuketia as it really is something different and special.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms in the Pond House are separate from the main building, a short walk through the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Widelytravelled45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This Is a really difficult review to write as I think you will either love this place or find it not quite your taste. We stayed here for one night as a family of four. We were in the pond house suites and when we arrived they only had one ready.
It is converted colonial buildings set in 9 acres of lush gardens, teeming with birds and wildlife. Our son absolutely loved it as he explored the grounds looking for water monitors and monkeys, of which he found lots!
We however found it a bit isolated and restricting to be "trapped" there! The pool was distinctly uninviting! As were the surrounding loungers. It you want to be cut off from the rest of the world and are at home with the abundance of wildlife, then this is the place for you!!!
The set menu for dinner was expensive so we opted for a light bite and they were accommodating to provide us with this at the time we requested. Breakfast was fine, usual choices.
We had to occupy 2 separate rooms so split up to be with a child each. Not sure if there are any family rooms as there had been a mix up with our booking and they were only expecting 2 of us! The bathrooms are pretty much outdoors and got very messy as there was a lot of tropical rain whilst we were there!
We found the service a bit on the slow side but in reality time stands still here. If you want to get away from it all and do not mind the wildlife, some of it in your room, them this place is ideal. If you want a something more modern then you would need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: This is a real retreat and not really for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kpm350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Amazing building, incredible gardens, peaceful place, but remember : you'll be very isolated !
It's nice to meet locals if you fancy a walk around. Getting into town , you will need a tuktuk.
Staff are friendly and helpful !

Room Tip: Get yourself ready to fit mosquitos !! Goddesses me, if you not careful they will take you out !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrloughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent two nights at this stunning property and I wish we had weeks to spend here. Villa Illuketia is one of those rare and special places to stay that make you feel privileged simply to be there. I can only say that it is a magical place: A beautiful and authentic colonial plantation villa with a deep veranda and stunning interiors full of fantastic antique and cotemporary pieces. The epitome of class, good taste and romantic ambience! It is located in beautiful and lush countryside, surrounded by endless tropical gardens full of fruit trees and spectacular birds. The large swimming pool, in a secluded spot of the gardens, some distance from the main house, is a wonderful spot to spend a few hours. The sense of peace is absolute and a world away from the noisy Sri Lankan beach resorts. A rare combination of history, natural beauty and pampered comfort. Our suite, the Hibiscus suite, has a beautiful private veranda with a gorgeous sitting area overlooking the forest and the rice fields. A gem of a room! There were quite a few ants in the bathroom due to the lush tropical surroundings, but after our remark the staff sprayed and cleaned everything very efficiently. Nothing is ever a problem here and every request is satisfied immediately. Food in Illuketia is absolutely first class and the dinner menu changes every night. The highlight has been the Japanese dinner, possibly the best Japanese food I ever had! Everything is very personal and you feel that you are treated as a private guest, not as a customer. So refreshing after the drab anonymity of the usual resort hotels. The heart and soul of the property is the wonderful owner, Mrs. Cynthia Wee-Hoefer, a most charming and cultivated person who takes personal interest in all her guests and makes sure that everything is perfect. It was a pleasure meeting her and we had lots of enlightening conversations. That is what I call a truly gracious host. Overall, Villa Illuketia (together with sister property Apa Villa Thalpe right on the ocean where we spent one night) has been the highlight of our Sri Lanka trip. I look forward to return!

Room Tip: Try the Hibiscus room with the fantastic private veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kostam2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApaVillasGalle, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Words cannot express our gratitude with this glowing review by Kostastravel and we feel honoured and privileged to have guests like him at Illuketia. Our staff will be very pleased to read all the positive points mentioned.
We sincerely hope to welcome Kostastravel once again on his next visit. The best reward for the owners and staff is to engage our guests as we would in our own home. We certainly enjoyed the enlightening company of Kostastravel and his travel companion and how they spread their cheer to the other villa guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The personal service and attention are fantastic, the food wonderful, the quiet and peacefulness of the property are remarkable. If possible, ask about the many different plants in the garden and do a garden tour. An keep an eye out for all the wildlife. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house, if possible away from the stagnant pond that unfortunately attract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarchasmHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApaVillasGalle, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We are delighted to receive this review by SarchasmHopper and we thank him for summarising his stay at the Pond House. While we do our best to provide maximum comfort we cannot avoid the insects that are attracted to light in the night. As SarchasmHoper pointed out, we are in close proximity to wildlife and have to live with the inhabitants. Thank you once again for choosing Illuketia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was our second time staying at Illuketia, and probably won't be our last. We stayed fro 11 nights this time. We had 2 children, one and four with us and they loved it as much as us. The staff were first class and were great with the boys. They made up a cot and little bed for them and cooked child meals to order, all at no extra cost. The gardens and grounds are amazing, with a whole host of animals, birds and plants. The selection of food is very good with a different main each night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chippymitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApaVillasGalle, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are delighted that Chippymitten gave us full marks for his review on Illuketia. Thank you for the glowing words and descriptions and we are sorry that getting to the estate was rather inconvenient.
We are awaiting permission to put up a finished signboard at the entrance of the side lane from the main Akuressa Road.
We hope to welcome you and your family on the next visit and look forward to your personal recommendations of Apa Villa Illuketia to friends and associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
3.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#11 of 60 in Galle
228 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sun House
The Sun House
#31 of 60 in Galle
174 reviews
3.0 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#15 of 29 in Unawatuna
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
3.7 mi away
The Dutch House
The Dutch House
#40 of 60 in Galle
55 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apa Villa Illuketia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Villa Illuketia

Property: Apa Villa Illuketia
Address: Illuketia Watta | Wanchawala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#17 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apa Villa Illuketia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa hideaway with five suites set in 12 acres of garden and ponds. A luxury that our guests can discern on arrival. Only 15 minutes from Galle town, going to Illuketia is a return to nature and plantation lifestyle. The splendid mansion with original wooden temple doors, carved window frames and Oriental-style furniture is drawn out of a traveller's journal. A swimming pool in the far end of a lush garden allows a dip while watching birds and monkeys at close range. Three differently styled bedrooms are placed around a courtyard fish pond in the main house and two other suites are located in a separate Pond House. Each room varies in size and outlook, with its own walk-in wardrobe, sitting area indoor or outdoor. The Hibiscus Suite is considered the master room with a long private balcony lined with cushions and facing tall jack trees and rice fields. There is a separate walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. The Lotus Suite is aligned long and spacious with a walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. Windows look out to a water channel and flowering trees. The Citronella Suite is cozy and comes with a dining table and chairs in a private open-air verandah. It has its own wardrobe and en-suite bathrooms. All rooms are air-conditioned with additional ceiling fans and power points. The villa serves organic rice from its own rice fields, fruit, herbs and vegetables from the garden. Apa Villa's Sri Lankan Curry Rijstafel Dinner is all-time favourite among guests.. Apart from this, there is All Day menu of snacks, light meals and tea service. Evening meals are from an A La Carte with our stewards serving in the traditional sarong and tunic outfits. Booking for long-term of Pond House and whole villa welcomed. Illuketia and its grounds is ideal for weddings, anniversaries and birthday celebrations or groups with special interests like bird-watching, workshops, mahjong, painting and photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apa Villa Illuketia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Villa Illuketia Hotel Galle
Apa Hotel Illuketia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing