We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hip rooms, wonderful hosts”
Review of The Fort Printers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fort Printers
Ranked #1 of 137 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location, hip rooms, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at The Fort Printers on our last night in Sri Lanka at the end of a week-long holiday. The welcome we received from Wojtek and Justina, the recently-arrived managers, was so warm and genuine that we felt immediately at home. We stayed in the Headmaster's Suite which has an anteroom with separate toilet and copper-lined shower stall and a huge mirror and sink, and which leads into the bedroom/ reading nook space. The room has a view of the pool below and the rooftops of this corner of the fort -- all very picturesque. The only challenge in the room is that due to the shape of the suite and the positioning of the fan and AC, not much of a breeze hits the bed! A bit of a challenge in the heat, but we didn't find that diminished our enjoyment of the space. (Thankfully, our hosts had suggested that we go to their sister property, The Frangipani Tree, for a swim that afternoon, so we were sufficiently cooled off. )

We had a look at several new rooms under construction in the same complex as well as on the other side of the street. All have the same Bawa-inspired design: simple and elegant lines, with raw silk curtains and other accents, polished cement floors and stylish bathroom fixtures. Those new rooms might be more suitable for those with young kids and/or mobility issues, as the steep stairways and uneven wooden floors of the original property might not be ideal for everyone.

Food at The Fort Printers in the funky high ceilinged dining room and on the verandah by the pool is superb, influenced by local seafood and produce but with a distinctly Mediterranean twist. Jumbo prawns, beet gazpacho, homemade baguette served with hummus, as well as their fresh breakfast were all very tasty, and offered with great service.

We hadn't expected to be so charmed by The Fort Printers, but we were, in the end. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Fort can be hot in the summer; choose a room that has the fan directly above the bed to make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    143
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
92
346
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Cosy ... Comfortable and takes you back in time ..

Amazing location and excellent food ...

Our room was in the new wing, across the road but it honestly didn't matter, we still loved every bit of it.

Planning my next visit already ... that's how much i loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NazVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The location of this hotel is very good, being right in the centre of the old town. Our suite was called The 'Headmaster's Room". There was an entrance room with attached bathroom and toilet. This room also had a fridge and jug. Through a door was the bed and sitting room. This seemed to be an enclosed verandah and was air conditioned. We had a view of the lighthouse and adjacent buildings from this room. We were woken up each morning at around 5 am by the call to prayer from a nearby mosque but took this as part of the local colour and fell back to sleep.

The air conditioning gave us comfortable sleeping conditions given some time to cool the room down. We were thankful for this, as we had come from a total of 4 nights staying in other expensive heritage style accommodation with no air conditioning. This had meant for us fitful and sweat soaked nights. I should mention that our home is in sub tropical Australia and we are used to over-night temperatures of around 24 degrees.

We found the staff very helpful. We had some plumbing problems which were addressed promptly.

We also enjoyed an evening meal at the hotel although the beer was barely cool. I can recommend the lobster curry.

On balance, this was one of the better stays we had in Sri Lanka and the history of the town was also fascinating.

Room Tip: The headmaster's room is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie7leagueboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in December 2011, in the enormous "Headmaster Suite". I loved the soaring ceilings and unique aesthetic of this boutique hotel. The lobby and rooms all look amazing. The location inside the fort is very convenient – the only drawback is you get woken up at 4am by the muezzin's call to prayer blasting over the loudspeakers. Every hotel in the fort is affected, but rooms that face internal courtyards less so.
The restaurant serves delicious food, better than the Galle Fort Hotel. As residents of Fort Printers, we appreciated being able to spend the day at sister hotel The Frangipani Tree at nearby Thalpe beach, where we sunbathed and swam in the pool all day. I'd definitely stay at Fort Printers again.

Room Tip: We loved the Headmaster's Suite, but other rooms might be less affected by the 4am call to praye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peechan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The public areas and our room were very pleasant, but the bathroom had a plumbing problem and smelled a bit. I had the same problem with the safe as the other reviewers had, and gave up -- they need a simpler system and they should put the safe in a more practical location. The staff were fine, but not exactly falling over themselves to be helpful or friendly (by Sri Lanka standards). We enjoyed the breakfast and sitting out by the pool. I would not try to dissuade anyone from staying here -- it has some lovely features -- but I had high expectations that were somewhat disappointed. I looked at Galle Fort Hotel (though not the rooms), and decided I would rather have stayed there.

Room Tip: Ask for the Headmaster's Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FioTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel is perfectly located and has an interesting contemporary vibe, good lap pool, food, etc. We only stayed one night, but enjoyed it immensely. We had the Arts room, which is on the front corner and large with plenty of light.

The staff members were fantastic. I was desperate to get a fax out (actually after I had already checked out) and they let me come into the office and helped get it done. They even sent a runner out to get fresh ink. Way above the call of duty.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSF3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Came for dinner. Sit on the terrace by the pool. Order the lobster curry. It was really tasty and comes with lots of sides. 2 courses and a bottle of wine between two came to USD 30 per person. Definitely recommend

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,735 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#14 of 23 in Galle
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#4 of 137 in Galle
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fort Printers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Printers

Property: The Fort Printers
Address: 39 Pedlar St | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fort Printers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Guests get the convenience of hotel services and the ambiance of a villa at Fort Printers… The eighteenth-century mansion turned printing facility now houses five stylish, antiques-filled suites—four linked via a second-story walkway, common in colonial buildings of the era; the fifth, poolside. The jackwood floors, copper-lined rain showers, and extra-long lap pool are generating a buzz among design-savvy visitors.” - Conde`Nast Traveler Hot List 2006 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fort Printers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Printers Hotel Galle
Fort Printers Galle
Hotel Fort Printers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing