We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful option in Fort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mrs Khalid's Guest House
Ranked #14 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Galle
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had 4 nights staying at Mrs Khalid's guest house (106 Pedler Street). We had 2 rooms which were large and simply furnished with air conditioning units and large balconies with sea views. Towels, sheets and mozi nets are provided. One of the rooms (the double) has a fridge which is useful for storing bottled water etc. The bathrooms are large wet rooms with hot powerful showers. I stayed with my fiancé in one room and we were queried about our marital status, there is also a no liquor policy on site. My mother stayed in the other room (which can be twin) and it worked well having a shared balcony. Mrs Khalid is a very sweet, softly spoken older lady and her English is good, we mainly dealt with her son who was very friendly and helpful. This is a no frills (no toiletries etc) guest house but is great if you are looking for a simple affordable option in a great location. In Galle there are very few mid- priced options (Mango House is one) in the Fort as most hotels are either very expensive of vey cheap, this is the later and you get what you pay for and we had not compaints.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 and 2. I think this is all they currently rent out. They are both good and enjoy a la...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Mrs Khalid's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed for eight nights in 2004.(december 2012 is wrong but I had to put something there) I am writing this now because in the reviews I read no one has yet to mention the fact Mrs. Khalid might be the best cook in the world. Apparently there have been renovations. In the photos I noticed some of the same furnishings. When I stayed the only complaint someone else (not me) might make is the room could have been cleaner ... not the bathroom or floors but the out of way spots. When I return I would stay nowhere else. Mrs Khalid if you read this AOA and I hope your cup is at least half full.

Room Tip: not the one i want
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Durio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A real find! Thanks to our friends in Sri Lanka for finding this charming renovated Dutch house. Mrs Khalid is friendly and attentive as are the staff. We were at the front of the house and the room was a good size with a well appointed bathroom. Breakfast is provided if required and is more the substantial.
We were in a double room with 4 poster bed complete with mosquito net, air conditioning and fridge which you are at liberty to stock yourself. As non drinkers we were not pulsed by Mrs Khalids aversion to alcohol on the premises.
The house is still undergoing renovation, but the work is done while you are out so you are not inconvenienced. The location is relatively quiet, the main source of noise will be the vice cream vendors.
We will certainly use this guest house on our next visit to Sri Lanka.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Murray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The new Khalid's is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable, with beaut new mattrices, fantastic showers. Having the front rooms is best, with the wide balcony to sit on and soak up the view over the ocean. Attentive house boys are there to assist you.

Room Tip: Go for the front rooms with the balcony. In the evening Galle is very quiet, so no need to worry abo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HugeDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We found Khalid's having left another guest house which we had booked online and could not accept. Khalid's is in another league, while still providing good value for money. We had a first-floor room at the back of the old place, with a large balcony overlooking the roofs of Galle, a large bedroom with four-poster style mosquito netting, efficient fan and a large, well appointed bathroom. The house itself is large, airy and clean. Breakfast are delightful, with scrambled egg, toast and fruit, all served with charm. The owner, Sabri, is helpful (my tablet had failed, so he lent me his laptop for emailing) and good company. The Lonely Planet report was well wide of the mark in its criticism of Khalid's. This is a quality establishment, to which we returned with pleasure after a hot morning's sight-seeing.

Room Tip: From what we saw, all the rooms are clean, airy and well-equipped.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We had an unpleasant stay at khalids guesthouse - we were put in the new wing which has just been redone. It was totally charmless - or worse - missing basic things like curtains and bathmats (its early days so these might go in over the next few weeks), but generally seemed badly planned: air-conditioning where the vent ended in the bathroom turning it into a sauna, the bathroom had an open wall onto the rest of the house which left no privacy and as the house is private, there was constant noise of 2 squealing kids (starting at 7am) from the living room downstairs. we finally moved to the old wing - which is a bit threadbare but charming and much better value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My friend & I visited Galle in Dec'10. It was our first night in Sri Lanka & we were thrilled at this lovely place.
It is right in the heart of Galle Fort area - walking distance from just about everything worth visiting. Our 1st floor room overlooked Pedlar's Street and even a slice of the ocean.
Rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, bathrooms very clean, the heater can be switched anytime for hot water. What more can one ask for from a home-stay?
Mrs. Khalid was amazing - reminiscing about escapades from decades gone by and forever giving us tips of where to goo for good 'deals'. She really is a grand old lady.

Room Tip: Ignore everything Lonely Planet says - just leave it up to the owners to give you an appropriate roo...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNBharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.2 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#14 of 23 in Galle
15 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 143 in Galle
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mrs Khalid's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs Khalid's Guest House

Address: 102 Pedlar Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Galle
Price Range: £54 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mrs Khalid's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mrs Khalid's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mrs Khalid`s Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing