We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mrs Khalid's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mrs Khalid's Guest House
Ranked #41 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A quiet stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed five nights and altogether it was a good time. We were at the front and had the balcony to ourselves as the other room was unlet. It would be less private if people in the other room. The air con still makes the bathroom very hot but Sabri, the owners son is going to fix this.
Mrs Khalid has retired so there is no food available but as we had a fridge, we stocked up on fruit and curd for brekkie.
One great thing was the tuktuk driver we met. Saman 0723469246, was knowledgeable, a careful driver and very reasonable for price. He just likes to be back in Fort to pick up his daughter from school on time. We used him as far as Merissa.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    17
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
32
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had 4 nights staying at Mrs Khalid's guest house (106 Pedler Street). We had 2 rooms which were large and simply furnished with air conditioning units and large balconies with sea views. Towels, sheets and mozi nets are provided. One of the rooms (the double) has a fridge which is useful for storing bottled water etc. The bathrooms are large wet rooms with hot powerful showers. I stayed with my fiancé in one room and we were queried about our marital status, there is also a no liquor policy on site. My mother stayed in the other room (which can be twin) and it worked well having a shared balcony. Mrs Khalid is a very sweet, softly spoken older lady and her English is good, we mainly dealt with her son who was very friendly and helpful. This is a no frills (no toiletries etc) guest house but is great if you are looking for a simple affordable option in a great location. In Galle there are very few mid- priced options (Mango House is one) in the Fort as most hotels are either very expensive of vey cheap, this is the later and you get what you pay for and we had not compaints.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 and 2. I think this is all they currently rent out. They are both good and enjoy a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed for eight nights in 2004.(december 2012 is wrong but I had to put something there) I am writing this now because in the reviews I read no one has yet to mention the fact Mrs. Khalid might be the best cook in the world. Apparently there have been renovations. In the photos I noticed some of the same furnishings. When I stayed the only complaint someone else (not me) might make is the room could have been cleaner ... not the bathroom or floors but the out of way spots. When I return I would stay nowhere else. Mrs Khalid if you read this AOA and I hope your cup is at least half full.

Room Tip: not the one i want
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Durio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

A real find! Thanks to our friends in Sri Lanka for finding this charming renovated Dutch house. Mrs Khalid is friendly and attentive as are the staff. We were at the front of the house and the room was a good size with a well appointed bathroom. Breakfast is provided if required and is more the substantial.
We were in a double room with 4 poster bed complete with mosquito net, air conditioning and fridge which you are at liberty to stock yourself. As non drinkers we were not pulsed by Mrs Khalids aversion to alcohol on the premises.
The house is still undergoing renovation, but the work is done while you are out so you are not inconvenienced. The location is relatively quiet, the main source of noise will be the vice cream vendors.
We will certainly use this guest house on our next visit to Sri Lanka.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

The new Khalid's is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable, with beaut new mattrices, fantastic showers. Having the front rooms is best, with the wide balcony to sit on and soak up the view over the ocean. Attentive house boys are there to assist you.

Room Tip: Go for the front rooms with the balcony. In the evening Galle is very quiet, so no need to worry abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HugeDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We found Khalid's having left another guest house which we had booked online and could not accept. Khalid's is in another league, while still providing good value for money. We had a first-floor room at the back of the old place, with a large balcony overlooking the roofs of Galle, a large bedroom with four-poster style mosquito netting, efficient fan and a large, well appointed bathroom. The house itself is large, airy and clean. Breakfast are delightful, with scrambled egg, toast and fruit, all served with charm. The owner, Sabri, is helpful (my tablet had failed, so he lent me his laptop for emailing) and good company. The Lonely Planet report was well wide of the mark in its criticism of Khalid's. This is a quality establishment, to which we returned with pleasure after a hot morning's sight-seeing.

Room Tip: From what we saw, all the rooms are clean, airy and well-equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We had an unpleasant stay at khalids guesthouse - we were put in the new wing which has just been redone. It was totally charmless - or worse - missing basic things like curtains and bathmats (its early days so these might go in over the next few weeks), but generally seemed badly planned: air-conditioning where the vent ended in the bathroom turning it into a sauna, the bathroom had an open wall onto the rest of the house which left no privacy and as the house is private, there was constant noise of 2 squealing kids (starting at 7am) from the living room downstairs. we finally moved to the old wing - which is a bit threadbare but charming and much better value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.2 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.0 mi away
Beatrice House
Beatrice House
#43 of 256 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#45 of 274 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Small House Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#9 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#29 of 274 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mrs Khalid's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs Khalid's Guest House

Property: Mrs Khalid's Guest House
Address: 102 Pedlar Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mrs Khalid's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mrs Khalid's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mrs Khalid`s Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing