We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, relaxing, wonderful hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property
VIEW FROM THE SEA
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
VIEW FROM THE SEA
ENTRANCE TO THE BEACH
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
VIEW FROM THE SEA
ENTRANCE TO THE BEACH
VIEW FROM THE VILLA
SAFE BUT SEASONAL SWIMMING
TURTLE BEACH
LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM
BEDROOM 1
BEDROOM 1
SHOWER ROOM
BATHROOM 1
OUTDOOR EATING
INFINITY POOL
ENTRANCE
OUTDOOR EATING
ENTRANCE
SUNSET
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
744petej
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, relaxing, wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 1 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Our family of 4 spent a great couple of weeks at Samudra. The villa is beautiful, with lovely views of a picture postcard beach and an large pool. The staff are excellent - always very willing to help and really nice. Ruwan's food as other reviewers have mentioned is incredible. He's a fantastic chef and a massive asset - always willing to have a crack at cooking anything in addition to the sumptuous standard menu. Eating out is not as good as Ruwan's food.... We found the staff can be a little shy at first but are hugely accommodating to any request which beats being overly intrusive by miles. Sanjeeva invited us to his village full moon celebrations for lunch which was a lovely gesture and lots of fun.

They'll organise any trips you want - seeing wild Elephants in the national park was a real treat. The drivers and tuk tuk driver they recommend are really nice, helpful, honest and reasonable.

An incredible break in a beautiful villa which we have nothing but praise for. Highly highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thank you so much everyone enjoyed you staying at Samudra.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomfiel...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This is the most beautiful villa in a spectacular location with a wonderful and huge swimming pool.
When you add the unbeatable staff and the fantastic food it is hard to imagine how there could be anywhere better!

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Thank You.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banjo B
1 review
“The Paradise can't be better! ;-)”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Every detail was filled with love, every second we felt like to be at home. The service was brilliant - the meals where excellent. Ruwan and his team (Sanjeeva and Sunetra) did a great job - filled with passion.

From this location it is easy to make daily tours or short trips. Specially the Safari was really good and Galle Fort is a must place to visit. As well our trip to the Tea plantation (very close/half an hour away) impressed us very much.

The beach in front of the house, was everyday a dream for us....to watch and to jump in. The sound of the waves was like a symphony.

Everything is always perfect organized, if you want a massage, if you want to do a trip, if you want to relax - everything is always perfect.

We highly recommend this place...and we definitely coming back again.
Thank you so much.

Date of stay: April 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2018
Thank you so much for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa W
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely beach”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We were a family of 4 that stayed here for 8 nights. Our boys are ages 16 and 14.

The food was wonderful! The chef here is excellent and our food was presented beautifully and tasted delicious! You give him your lunch and dinner choices and some cash in the morning and he will go to the market daily to get the ingredients fresh. We tried to order 2 main courses, sides, and desserts to make it easier for him. We tried many things from the menu provided and everything was great! Try the Sri Lankan egg hoppers! Yummy! We spent around $100 USD/day on food.

The beach is fantastic! SO soft, huge, and deserted! The water was warm, safe, free of any debris, and fun to jump around in! You can walk for a very long time in either direction! A turtle hatchery is a few minutes up the beach and we paid to release some baby turtles into the ocean. The boys enjoyed that and the surf a lot!

The pool area is very nice. Water was a nice temperature and there was very soft grass to play on if needed. The grounds were well maintained and pretty. Plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas if shade is needed. Ceiling fans in the outdoor living area and dining area were just enough to make it comfortable while dining and lounging about. Furniture is tasteful and well suited to the region. Board Games are provided and we used them nightly!

Bedrooms have air conditioning which was greatly appreciated at night. Beds and pillows were comfortable and this was the best mosquito netting we have had anywhere in Asia. Plenty of space for your clothing and luggage to be stored. We especially appreciated the hanging racks in the bedrooms! Super convenient for hanging your wet bathing suits or bath towels. There is an outside shower and separate outside toilet area. We encountered some very large spiders, but the staff promptly removed them for us! A carafe of water was provided for us twice a day in our rooms and there is a large water dispenser in the kitchen area.

There is a lovely lady that will do your laundry for you every day! I wish I could have taken her home with me! That being said, you don't need to bring a lot of clothing. The house man was very nice and did an excellent job cleaning and with the turn down and serving at meals. Everyone was very helpful suggesting things to do and arranging for a van driver or tuk tuk driver and scheduling tours for us. Whale watching was 7 hours and yes whales, but, they were far away. We wouldn't recommend it. 2 of us went diving twice and loved it. Very safe and good stuff to see. Tea plantation was good, Galle fort and town was nice, cooking class was fun, boat ride around a close lake was good as well.

Minor suggestions to the owners: Bath towels, pool towels, and dining linens need to be changed. A stool in the shower would be very useful. Better bath amenities would be appreciated.

We had a wonderful stay and we very highly recommend Samudra to anyone coming to Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2018
Wow Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaelleo94...
Biarritz, France
2 reviews
“Superbe villa sur plage de rêve !”
Reviewed 29 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Recent, dream villa, in a modern, very comfortable colonial Sinhalese style and ideally situated on a beautiful and long almost deserted beach, with a very nice gardenopen on the beach ..... Close friend of any conveniences, and points of interests as Turtle hatchery, Unawatuna beach, Galle, Koggola Lake, tea plantation.....
It is a very quiet place, where the staff is adorable, attentive and professional ! One thank you to Ruwan for his cook's talents ! The communication with the owner is excellent, fast and pleasant. Hope to come back !

Date of stay: March 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2018
You are welcome to come back .very glad that you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikbD640...
De Pol, The Netherlands
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 3 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Perfect beach front location, really romantic. Very friendly and helpful staff.
We really enjoyed our stay here!

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2018
Tank You Erik.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenrich...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Hooked”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Once you’ve been you’ll keep going back. We do!
We can’t fault it, we love it, already looking forward to the next visit.

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2018
Thank You Helen-Everyone really enjoys having you all at Samudra.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing