We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, disappointing guesthoue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean View Guest House
Ranked #94 of 153 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2013

After travelling trough the country for almost 4 weeks, we spent one of our last nights there and would not stay there again. They tend to charge higher prices when you're there than they tell you one the phone. If you let them know what they said on the phone they will accept (what we heard from other travellers as well). Our bathroom was not clean (q-tips from earlier guests in the toilet and spiderweb full of bugs on the ceiling) and rather shabby. The mosquito net had several rather big holes. The bed was comfy. Service was not very good and part of the staff hardly speaks English and is a bit scruffy. Breakfast was good. The owners seem to be very nice but we only met them while leaving. The place is not worth the 50 USD with maintenance as it is now.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived in Galle without a reservation and most moderate priced guest houses were booked. We were lucky that this cute place had rooms. It is an older home right on Rappert Rd. The views from the roof top patio were spectacular. We could sit there all day watching the people walking on the fort enjoying the sunset. Breakfast was also served on this rooftop terrace. The rooms were clean and came with mosquito nets. There was a/c, hot water and Wi-Fi on the 2nd floor only. The only complaint was with the bathroom. It was a little shabby and could use a little updating. Staff are nice and helpful, the gem store attached to the hotel are honest and have some wonderful jewelry. We spent 2 nights here and are happy that we did. Many people make Galle a day trip, but staying in the fort and walking around after everyone leaves is very special.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor in the front have the best views of the sunset and fort wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Lovely hosts and nice rooftop garden! More like an extension of the family home. We don't mind paying a bit more as a result of the holiday season but the rear rooms were poorly ventilated and damp. The bathroom was also not particularly clean (perhaps due to the high turnover) and there was limited hot water. Overall, a decent stay but with potential to be much better. Pick one of the front, ocean facing rooms!

Room Tip: Pick one of the ocean facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Our room was OK and had a nice view, and the people at the guesthouse were very nice. However, the breakfast was not very good and overall I don't think it is very good value for the money-- you're paying for the view and while it's nice, I think we would have been better off either staying at one of the other places with an ocean view (which were unfortunately booked) or just staying somewhere in the midst of the Fort and taking an early morning walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphabetavenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed here for two nights and would do it again if visiting Galle. While a bit pricey, the location inside the fort walls with a view of the ocean both from our room and the rooftop garden made it worthwhile. The staff were kind and helpful. They picked us up from the train station free of charge and never charged us for our pots of tea in the morning. We enjoyed having morning tea on the rooftop with nice views all around. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and well-kept.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

With no neighbours this guesthouse is nice and quiet! The rooms, whilst basic are cool, clean and comfortable. The staff are incredibly friendly, caring and helpfull and breakfast out on the balcony was just such a perfect start to the day! We found this place to be the perfect base for us. The garden upstairs was great! With a big swing (my partner looses about 20 years upon sitting on any swing) and a tortoise (like I said - 20 years!) the stunning ocean views, sunsets and dinners are secondary! The garden's great, quiet and private. A nice place to enjoy lazing in the sun.

2 negative comments, firstly we spotted a cockroach on the balcony (it's Sri Lanka - there are going to be cockroaches! Get over it) and secondly we had one of the front rooms (the cheaper of the 2) and the heavy rain beat through our shutters one night and I had to get up and raise all our belongings off the floor and put some towels down to catch it. The staff were very apologetic and thoroughly cleaned our room the next day making it all as good as new! And yes, on the coast you are prone to a couple of sea storms by night. It didn't get into our room the other nights - this storm was just a big one I assure you!

Room Tip: Be aware of the 10% service charge added - this is standard practice EVERYWHERE eating, sleeping, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mridrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked this place because it was the only place we could find inside the actual fort and the minimum booking was for 5 nights which in hindsight was a bit long for us, 3 days would have been plenty to explore the old town - which is absolutely gorgeous and full of fabulous shops! But the most disappointing part was the extortionate price US$160 a night!! When we arrived & were shown around, I thought it worth no more than $50/night. On top of that, the air con was ineffective so we sweltered thru all 5 nights (& being from Australia we are no strangers to hot weather!) and the bathroom tho clean was dark & dingy. The toilet ran too unless you fiddled with the button. The staff and owners were very welcoming (but very keen to sell you some jewellery from their shop!) & happy to provide mozzie spray & coils when I was eaten alive at night, & the roof-top tortoise a gorgeous & interesting addition to the lovely garden. Breakfast was also good.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#26 of 153 in Galle
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#4 of 153 in Galle
539 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Republic Galle
Villa Republic Galle
#1 of 1 in Gintota
81 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 24 in Galle
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Guest House

Address: 80 Light House Street | Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View is a Guest House located in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Galle Fort. It has clean and comfortable A/c or Non A.c rooms with luxury attached ensuites with running hot/cold water. Some rooms have Sea Views. Spacious Balcony and Roof Garden for Relaxation. Halal food and no Alcohol. Wifi wireless Internet Connection for our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing