We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean View Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Deco On 44(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fortaleza(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Amangalla(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
9
16
13
8
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
16
13
8
14
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

After travelling trough the country for almost 4 weeks, we spent one of our last nights there and would not stay there again. They tend to charge higher prices when you're there than they tell you one the phone. If you let them know what they said on the phone they will accept (what we heard from other travellers as well). Our bathroom was not clean (q-tips from earlier guests in the toilet and spiderweb full of bugs on the ceiling) and rather shabby. The mosquito net had several rather big holes. The bed was comfy. Service was not very good and part of the staff hardly speaks English and is a bit scruffy. Breakfast was good. The owners seem to be very nice but we only met them while leaving. The place is not worth the 50 USD with maintenance as it is now.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived in Galle without a reservation and most moderate priced guest houses were booked. We were lucky that this cute place had rooms. It is an older home right on Rappert Rd. The views from the roof top patio were spectacular. We could sit there all day watching the people walking on the fort enjoying the sunset. Breakfast was also served on this rooftop terrace. The rooms were clean and came with mosquito nets. There was a/c, hot water and Wi-Fi on the 2nd floor only. The only complaint was with the bathroom. It was a little shabby and could use a little updating. Staff are nice and helpful, the gem store attached to the hotel are honest and have some wonderful jewelry. We spent 2 nights here and are happy that we did. Many people make Galle a day trip, but staying in the fort and walking around after everyone leaves is very special.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor in the front have the best views of the sunset and fort wall.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Lovely hosts and nice rooftop garden! More like an extension of the family home. We don't mind paying a bit more as a result of the holiday season but the rear rooms were poorly ventilated and damp. The bathroom was also not particularly clean (perhaps due to the high turnover) and there was limited hot water. Overall, a decent stay but with potential to be much better. Pick one of the front, ocean facing rooms!

Room Tip: Pick one of the ocean facing rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Our room was OK and had a nice view, and the people at the guesthouse were very nice. However, the breakfast was not very good and overall I don't think it is very good value for the money-- you're paying for the view and while it's nice, I think we would have been better off either staying at one of the other places with an ocean view (which were unfortunately booked) or just staying somewhere in the midst of the Fort and taking an early morning walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphabetavenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed here for two nights and would do it again if visiting Galle. While a bit pricey, the location inside the fort walls with a view of the ocean both from our room and the rooftop garden made it worthwhile. The staff were kind and helpful. They picked us up from the train station free of charge and never charged us for our pots of tea in the morning. We enjoyed having morning tea on the rooftop with nice views all around. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and well-kept.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews