We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous little guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean View Guest House
Ranked #88 of 121 Galle B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little guest house”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The place to stay in Galle no doubt. I am not sure how you could get kinder or more welcoming hosts in this lovely guest house. The rooms are small but comfortable and the front room with the view to the sea is wonderful. The roof terrace is a fantastic place to enjoy watching the sea from. Just lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pukuchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    13
    8
    14
See reviews for
5
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We didn't stay here but looked at the rooms which were much better value than the hotel where we were staying, near the northern gate.

The upstairs double with en suite and sea view seems very good value at well below $100, when compared to other places in town. There's a nice shared balcony and grassy roof garden, overlooking the sea,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sh_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

After travelling trough the country for almost 4 weeks, we spent one of our last nights there and would not stay there again. They tend to charge higher prices when you're there than they tell you one the phone. If you let them know what they said on the phone they will accept (what we heard from other travellers as well). Our bathroom was not clean (q-tips from earlier guests in the toilet and spiderweb full of bugs on the ceiling) and rather shabby. The mosquito net had several rather big holes. The bed was comfy. Service was not very good and part of the staff hardly speaks English and is a bit scruffy. Breakfast was good. The owners seem to be very nice but we only met them while leaving. The place is not worth the 50 USD with maintenance as it is now.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galle hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived in Galle without a reservation and most moderate priced guest houses were booked. We were lucky that this cute place had rooms. It is an older home right on Rappert Rd. The views from the roof top patio were spectacular. We could sit there all day watching the people walking on the fort enjoying the sunset. Breakfast was also served on this rooftop terrace. The rooms were clean and came with mosquito nets. There was a/c, hot water and Wi-Fi on the 2nd floor only. The only complaint was with the bathroom. It was a little shabby and could use a little updating. Staff are nice and helpful, the gem store attached to the hotel are honest and have some wonderful jewelry. We spent 2 nights here and are happy that we did. Many people make Galle a day trip, but staying in the fort and walking around after everyone leaves is very special.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor in the front have the best views of the sunset and fort wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Lovely hosts and nice rooftop garden! More like an extension of the family home. We don't mind paying a bit more as a result of the holiday season but the rear rooms were poorly ventilated and damp. The bathroom was also not particularly clean (perhaps due to the high turnover) and there was limited hot water. Overall, a decent stay but with potential to be much better. Pick one of the front, ocean facing rooms!

Room Tip: Pick one of the ocean facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Our room was OK and had a nice view, and the people at the guesthouse were very nice. However, the breakfast was not very good and overall I don't think it is very good value for the money-- you're paying for the view and while it's nice, I think we would have been better off either staying at one of the other places with an ocean view (which were unfortunately booked) or just staying somewhere in the midst of the Fort and taking an early morning walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphabetavenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed here for two nights and would do it again if visiting Galle. While a bit pricey, the location inside the fort walls with a view of the ocean both from our room and the rooftop garden made it worthwhile. The staff were kind and helpful. They picked us up from the train station free of charge and never charged us for our pots of tea in the morning. We enjoyed having morning tea on the rooftop with nice views all around. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and well-kept.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#19 of 121 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 121 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Small House Boutique Guest House
0.2 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#14 of 121 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Old Dutch House
New Old Dutch House
#81 of 121 in Galle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Guest House

Property: Ocean View Guest House
Address: 80 Light House Street | Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View is a Guest House located in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Galle Fort. It has clean and comfortable A/c or Non A.c rooms with luxury attached ensuites with running hot/cold water. Some rooms have Sea Views. Spacious Balcony and Roof Garden for Relaxation. Halal food and no Alcohol. Wifi wireless Internet Connection for our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing