We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean View Guest House
Ranked #96 of 147 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2010

This was the worst place I have ever stayed in. Don't be fooled by their website, this place is very rundown. The room had a double bed with really dirty mosquito netting round it. There was a funny smell (musty) in the room and there was a bidet in the bathroom with something in it. The shower curtain was thin and I put my finger through it and there was a bizzare window in the shower so anyone walking up the stairs could see you. Although the A/C worked we were kept up all night with a window that kept banging in the wind. I don't think we even slept for 5 minutes. The worst thing was that they charged us a lot of a poor room. They quoted one price and then added a 10% service charge without telling us. The total cost of the room was 4000 rs +, which is very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeandPaulCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2010

one of the best places to stay in Galle (saw everyone in this price), bit pricey but worths it, the owners are lovely, well educated and mannered, and the guest house has a beautiful terrace, with real grass as a carpet, -sthg i 've never seen before!- with a lovely view of the Indian Ocean.

Breakfast was lovely, and homemade.

totally recommended...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoutmanEliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I spent 4 nights at Ocean View in december, the owners were most helpful, With transport from the station & around town, coffee at all hours, breakfast just when you want it, any small problems with the room appologised for and rectified (couldn't work the AC). The situation couldn't be better.
The jewellery factory was a big plus as a craftswoman myself, & I did give into temptation, but the sales pitch was very low key and it was a joy to deal with such nice people, as were all the Sri Lankans I met on my trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellinglgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

How many Ls are there in appalling? Want to know how an ATM feels? Stay here.Up selling from the moment of check in - gem factory tours , tacky baubles for sale , transportation, overpriced food, smelly room, guests under constant supervision. All the atmosphere of a Taliban recreational club.
And the piece d'resistance?
Try an owner who has you escorted to her power desk, seats you slightly lower, and then conducts a sign-in/check out ritual which involves trying one last series of up-selling manouvers; followed by an inappropriate series of questions related to the costs of all your previous accommodation and airfares.
Ohh , almost forgot , and then adds 10% "service charge" to the bill without prior notification.
Probably the most unpleasant accommodation I've endured in 40 yrs of travelling

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouisCypher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

This gem of a guest house is located within the fort of Galle right next to the outer wall of the fort. The beautiful terrace where meals are served looks out over the fort wall and the sea. Morning and evening walkers that are enjoying the views afforded from the fort ramparts wave at you as you dine on the delicious food that is prepared fresh in-house. The menu is limited, but the food quality and taste is magnificent.

The rooms are simple. I had a room with AC, fan, an ocean view; a comfortable queen sized bed with mosquito net; and a private bathroom with tile shower, sink, toilet, and bidet. A small desk was available in the room. The room was immaculate and I slept so well. The inner fort provides for peaceful and quiet evenings.

The owners are absolutely delightful people. They were always available to assist and were able to arrange a custom-made tour to fit my needs. I thoroughly enjoyed spending part of an evening visiting with them in the garden. The owners are bilingual (with extraordinary English skills) and know the area well.

For a peaceful and comfortable setting, you can't beat this place. I enjoyed it so much I extended my stay with them.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Mauro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.0 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#2 of 147 in Galle
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#27 of 147 in Galle
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#4 of 147 in Galle
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 147 in Galle
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#18 of 147 in Galle
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Guest House

Address: 80 Light House Street | Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £57 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View is a Guest House located in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Galle Fort. It has clean and comfortable A/c or Non A.c rooms with luxury attached ensuites with running hot/cold water. Some rooms have Sea Views. Spacious Balcony and Roof Garden for Relaxation. Halal food and no Alcohol. Wifi wireless Internet Connection for our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing