We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Something a bit different for wildlife lovers in...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Country House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
berrymanr...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something a bit different for wildlife lovers in the city”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this place. If you want something a bit different from the usual hotel rooms, then I'd highly recommend these chalets. Surrounded by jungle and tea plants, it offers a glimpse into the wonderful natural environment of this beautiful country. Monkeys, fireflies, lizards, birds and so much more. Even birds nesting in the lampshade over the dining tables (you won't find one of those in IKEA).

Very friendly and helpful staff who will organize tours, taxis, pizzas and anything else you need. A bit out of town and hard to find even for locals but equally you feel you are away from the more touristy elements and in the real Galle.

Chalets are confortable, good aircon, wifi and spacious. Some toiletries would be nice maybe for somewhere in this price range? Excellent bathrooms, where else can you shower while watching monkeys in trees outside (quite a shock for both of us I'd imagine).

Lighting at entrance to property could be improved, very dark at night but all in all, this is a wonderful place to stay. Thank you to Nipuna, Raja, Migara and Nadeesh.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takemeawa...
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique tree house experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights in-between travelling from Bentota and then moving on to the Maldives. As others have said, it is hard to find and every taxi and tuk-tuk driver we used ended up having to ring the venue for directions. It is also very dark when you get there and you walk along concrete paths between the bushes and trees to reach your room.

Before arriving we had many email and Whats App conversations with the owner Nipuna, who provides a superb service. He arranged extras for us including drivers and a trip to Unadawalawe Wildlife park. Also ordered in pizzas for the children.

The chalets themselves are more like very posh tree houses. Ours was a wood and glass building on stilts, reached by a wooden walkway through the trees. This is not for the faint-hearted. There are monkeys swinging in the trees, huge fruit bats, monitor lizards, porcupines and even a snake and a scorpion.
The air con and wi-fi was great although we lost power for a couple of hours during a storm, which couldn't be helped.
The rooms were nicely furnished with modern bathrooms. It lacked a few 'finishing touches', no bin or hairdyer, a kettle but no cups and only tea. A couple of the lamps were missing lightbulbs and the door had fallen off the bedside cabinet which had been turned around to disguise the fact!

I think we did not experience the same excellent service as normal because Nipuna and his parents had temporarily moved back to Colombo due to a family illness. He still put in an appearance to check all was well and followed up with phone calls. I think in his absence standards had slipped slightly. On our first night the manager said there weren't enough staff to cook us dinner and on the second night we were told that they were short-staffed and only one of the families staying could have dinner not both! When we told the owner about this he rectified the situation.So, I think this is just a temporary blip.

The kitchen staff were very friendly at breakfast and dinner, if a little disorganised and they were very friendly to the children. It's a very relaxed place so if you order breakfast at 8.30am expect to eat by 8.45am. The food was delicious, fresh bread, omelettes, curry and rice in the evening. Unluckily we had a whole day of rain and two of us stayed on site for one day. The staff kindly organised lunch for us which was beyond their brief.

It is on the outskirts of Galle and you do need the staff to organise transport for you if you want to visit anywhere, it's too far to walk into town.
If you are up for an adventure, enjoy nature and animals and aren't expecting room service and cocktails then you will enjoy this unique B and B experience. Nipuna deserves to do well.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding host, location, property ”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was the treat at the end of our break and didn't let us down. I travelled with wife and two kids aged 2 and 5. From the moment we arrived the owner was kind and friendly and showed us to our beautifully designed property. Nothing was too much trouble and we enjoyed a delicious evening meal that night and fantastic food throughout.
The owner was visible and arranged a tea plantation trip as well as pizza for the kids when they didn't have any appetite.
I would thoroughly recommend to anyone who wants to be 20 mins tuc tuc from great beaches and 10/15 mins from Galle centre.
An idyllic location surrounded by monkeys, nature and top notch hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellsange...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Myself and two friends arrived into Galle for a 3 night stay at the Country House Chalet. We were welcomed by the very friendly owner and were able to upgrade to the poolside chalet, which was definitely a good idea. The Chalet was much bigger and also right next to the pool - ideal! It was also quite quiet which meant we could start to relax as soon as we arrived after a long trip from Kandy.

The chalets are located in the grounds of the main house, and the whole place has a real jungle feel. There is a tea plantation situated just below the grounds. We saw lots of wildlife (birds, monkeys, fireflys) and nightly watched the bats fly over. We only had breakfast at the chalet, which was quite small (we have huge appetites) but it was healthy and tasty. There is also a little "chill area" where there is a dart board, some board games, and some comfy chairs to sit with a book.

The staff and owners were really helpful and friendly and always went the extra mile to make sure we were OK. The customer service there is second to none, probably the best we experienced in Sri Lanka. The hotel is a short tuk tuk ride from Galle. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to the other people

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne S
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location great staff”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in one of the two bedroom chalets. We were welcomed on arrival by the Owner with a glass of cool juice and a chat. The bungalow itself is very stylish and perfectly clean and comfortable (with good wifi). The chalets are located in the grounds of the main house, and have a real jungle feel. We saw plenty of birds, monkeys and chipmunks, a mongoose, and nightly watched the bats fly over. The food is cooked by Mum and was delicious and plentiful - I was lucky enough to get her recipe for fish buns! The staff and owners were so helpful and friendly it really made it difficult to leave after a four day stay! Our daughter (12) absolutely loved it too, and the Staff were very attentive and kind. The location is a short tuk tuk ride from Galle/Fort and set back from the main road. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this little slice of paradise - it was a real high spot in our two week stay :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NkSG03
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent place further enhanced by stellar service”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
4
people found this review helpful

My family (with two young kids) spent a night on our way back to Colombo. We should have stayed for longer.
This place was a bit challenging to find with Google maps not 100% accurate (relentless heavy rains and waterlogged main roads in the main town didn't help) but once we were there it was fantastic.
It's a modern chalet villa nestled in vegetation all around.
Nipuna is an excellent host. He made sure that we have all the information and support needed for a joyful stay. He is a 'yes' man when it came to odd requests and he always found a way to help. For e.g. We didn't expect him to ask his staff to buy a herbal medicine for my wife who had a bit of cough. Very thoughtful of him to have done that.
His staff were perfect too. We had a satisfying dinner at the villa itself. With light music (he has a secret to share here, ask him yourselves ;) ) and interesting conversations, the dinner experience couldn't have been any better.
The breakfast in the morning was suitably adequate. Kids enjoyed the infinity pool (even the floats were provided by Nipuna).
It was a short but memorable trip. We would be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernliane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oasis of serenity”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The country house is nestled in its own tea plantation, just outside the hustle of galle. Very quiet and secluded. Our two story chalet was spacious, modern and nicely furnished, decorated with artwork from the owner. With the infinity pool right on our doorstep it provided a perfect viewing spot for the monkey antics at sunset. Excellent home cooked traditional Sri Lankan breakfast and dinner. Delicious and a must do. Owners were very personable and friendly, they patiently taught us the Sri Lankan game of carrum. Highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thank you Mr. Liane,
It was a great pleasure hosting you.
I'm gald to hear that you had a nice time here. I really hope you will return in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;