We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation not far from airport”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Hotel
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Initially booked this hotel as was looking for somewhere close to the beach and not far from the airport for the first couple of nights after arriving in the country.

The hotel exterior is nice but the rooms are a different story. very basic indeed and saw several cockroaches at different times. the bathroom was dirty and in need of some refurbishment. service at the hotel was consistent with this, room wasnt cleaned once whilst we were there and found the female manager to be bordering on rude.

The pool on the roof is a nice feature and provided some pleasant views. Didnt eat her so cant comment on the food. On the whole wasnt the worst place Ive ever stayed but I would certainly recommend shopping around as Im sure for the same price there is better quality available elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr_conway_twitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradeep M, Public Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2012

Mr. Conway, we are unable to find your name in our Arrival or Departure register’s. So if you give us your true identity, we will go through our company details. And after that we will look into your matter. Looking forward to your reply!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

This hotel is just 15mins by taxi away from Colombo Int Airport & we spent our 1st night here. Very glad to have chosen this hotel as we were blessed by great hospitality who even went the extra length to help us arrange transport and guide for the rest of the trip at a very reasonable price.Bed was clean and did not experience bed bugs. All in all, we had a good night rest.
Would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiwei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradeep M, Public Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank You very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I have literally just got home after my return flight and feel the need to inform other travellers about this hotel. We have just had to strip our bags and steam clean EVERYTHING as they were crawling with BED BUGS!!! if you don't believe me please take a look at the bite pictures on my partners body. We tragically have had to throw away all our tea we bought and most of our other gifts as they were teaming with the little critters.

All in all the hotel was a total disgrace, we booked a room nearly a month ago to be told last night that we didn't have a room. After much standing our ground (as we had already paid the deposit) we were shown to their 'tour guide room', which had blood on the sheets, the floor was inch thick with dust, and the bins were over-flowing with rotting waste. After deciding to leave the hotel we were then shown to another room (which was ironic as we were told they were fully booked and didn't have anymore space).

This room was not much better and had all manors of creatures climbing the walls. The bed bugs obviously were the worst. We saw them with our own eyes and actually had to wipe them off our bags before we left for the airport.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do not make the mistake we did by booking this dirty and poorly run hotel, unless you want the same 12 hour itchy flight home that we had. All of our stuff is now ruined and we are really worried that our home will now also be infected.

A complete and utter ruined last experience of the beautiful Sri Lanka thanks to the ironically named The Palace Hotel.......

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hashan P, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

It is with deep regret that I received your email dated 29th Nov.2012.,that your experience at the The palace hotel was not satisfactory and we have noted your comments.

How ever .we wish to state that this is the first time in the last 7 years that we have received a complaint of this nature from a guest who stayed . With out Prejudice,please accept our apologies, and we wish to state that we will investigate the complaint and if necessary take necessary action.

We would like to state that you may have picked the bug in transit between the hotel and home. We are also informed by 2 other guests from UK that you informed that you are happy about your stay at the Palace Hotel.When you were leaving the hotel you handed over key to the reception, at that time you did not complaint.

We have had guests staying in this room no.106 . we never had a complaint of this nature.

How ever .we would like to make a good will gesture by refunding the payment you paid for
1 night that is US$ 20.

Your Sincerely.


Manager

The place hotel,Negombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Palace Hotel for two nights. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the right place, but of you are looking for a quiet, clean and comfortable place, then this is the right hotel in Negombo. Price is very convenient. The only observations is that the really need to improve the restaurant service and variety; specifically for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are better and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Einstein M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel is excellent value for money , the rooms are very spacious .It is basic but room was clean , with ac, mosquito net and the staff are very friendly and would go out of there way to help you. Also rooftop pool is another great perk in this hotel with free wi fi. The hotel is based on great stripe in Negombo beach as many shops, bar and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradeep M, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We arrived in Sri Lanka and spent our first night in Negombo at the Palace. Being two young Australian girls we are completely out of our comfort zone but the staff at The Palace have been amazing. Extremely friendly and helpful. Shyma the manager is lovely and full of bubbly energy. One of the staff even shared some of his fresh pineapple with us whilst asking how are first day was. Rooms are basic but clean. Mozzie Nets, Fresh towels, soap, shampoo,conditioner are all provided. Aircon is optional but definetely suggest getting it for the extra price. The main restaurant/bar strip is a 10-15 minute easy walk from the hotel. We felt safe at all times whilst in the hotel. Just remember to bring some insect repellent! Enjoy your stay :)

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Kirstenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradeep M, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

After touring 9 separate areas in Sri Lanka for 2 weeks and we returned for our last 2 nights in Negombo. We spent over an hour going up and down the main strip looking at different hotel and guest house rooms. The Palace Hotel, although not perfect (the carpet on the stairs needs cleaning), definatley offered the best value for money and service of them all by far! Many of the hotels and guest houses we stayed in were quite basic ranging from 2500 - 4000 rupees.
This was a great treat at the end of our trip. The room was fresh and clean with what seemed to be quite new linen and towels. The cleaning staff offered to clean our room during our stay. There were small toiletries in the bathroom and plenty of hot water in the shower. The roof top pool was a real treat and as the sea can be quite rough it was great to have the pool to swim in and cool down in the afternoon heat.
The staff were also great they really did their best to ensure we were happy and comfortable. They were very helpful and always made us feel welcome.
One last point this hotel always felt very safe. There was someone at the main enterance all day and in the evenings and it wasn't easy for a non hotel guest to just wander around. For me that was a BIG plus!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor I think these are the better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradeep M, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#35 of 43 in Negombo
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#13 of 43 in Negombo
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#14 of 43 in Negombo
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 43 in Negombo
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 140 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing