We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A kind of Fawlty Towers ....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palace Hotel
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Roden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A kind of Fawlty Towers ....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

.... but worse.

Although the staff was very friendly and quite helpfull, this hotel is absolutely no 3* level as was promised in our travelplan. In it is in bad repair. We stayed here at the beginning of our trip through Sri Lanka and at the end.
Lots of mosquitos (bloodstains on the walls), no adequate mosquito nets, toilets & shower dirty and rickety. The beds were hard. The breakfast was simple and adequate.
If you're a backpacker there should be no big problem, otherwise this hotel is to be avoided.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourens_Prins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradeep M, Public Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
As soon as we saw your review, we checked our arrival register and went through all our hotel data’s to find your name as it is in the comment above (Lourens Prins ). We were unable to find Lourens Prins in the month you said you stayed with another companion (couple). How ever we have one costumer named Lawrence who stayed alone in the month of November and the nationality is different from the nationality which you mentioned. If you are kind enough to give us you True name, Arrival departure date’s and the room number you stayed at. And also if you were with another person, the details of that as well. Looking forward to your reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    8
    10
    9
See reviews for
7
20
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

To be honest, I was going to give this hotel an even worse hotel, but the staff proved very friendly and helpful that it sort of made up for it.

To make it short, my first impressions was that the rooms were shabby, and the bathroom was especially unappealing, with a lot of peeling paint, dirt. Also I found the beds a bit hard and I don't know how often they change the linen. The first morning I had breakfast and there were ants crawling on the table! I informed the staff but they didn't seem too alarmed. Hopefully they can sort out this problem. When I left a glass of orange juice in my room for too long it was crawling with ants. No problems with mossies though.

The hotel itself is a beautiful old building in a convenient location. The hotel staff were very hospitable and friendly, as is usual in Sri Lanka. Breakfast was quite good.

Hopefully they can improve the quality of the rooms because I would like to wholeheartedly recommend it, but have reservations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trimac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Initially booked this hotel as was looking for somewhere close to the beach and not far from the airport for the first couple of nights after arriving in the country.

The hotel exterior is nice but the rooms are a different story. very basic indeed and saw several cockroaches at different times. the bathroom was dirty and in need of some refurbishment. service at the hotel was consistent with this, room wasnt cleaned once whilst we were there and found the female manager to be bordering on rude.

The pool on the roof is a nice feature and provided some pleasant views. Didnt eat her so cant comment on the food. On the whole wasnt the worst place Ive ever stayed but I would certainly recommend shopping around as Im sure for the same price there is better quality available elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_conway_twitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradeep M, Public Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Mr. Conway, we are unable to find your name in our Arrival or Departure register’s. So if you give us your true identity, we will go through our company details. And after that we will look into your matter. Looking forward to your reply!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

This hotel is just 15mins by taxi away from Colombo Int Airport & we spent our 1st night here. Very glad to have chosen this hotel as we were blessed by great hospitality who even went the extra length to help us arrange transport and guide for the rest of the trip at a very reasonable price.Bed was clean and did not experience bed bugs. All in all, we had a good night rest.
Would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiwei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradeep M, Public Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank You very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

I have literally just got home after my return flight and feel the need to inform other travellers about this hotel. We have just had to strip our bags and steam clean EVERYTHING as they were crawling with BED BUGS!!! if you don't believe me please take a look at the bite pictures on my partners body. We tragically have had to throw away all our tea we bought and most of our other gifts as they were teaming with the little critters.

All in all the hotel was a total disgrace, we booked a room nearly a month ago to be told last night that we didn't have a room. After much standing our ground (as we had already paid the deposit) we were shown to their 'tour guide room', which had blood on the sheets, the floor was inch thick with dust, and the bins were over-flowing with rotting waste. After deciding to leave the hotel we were then shown to another room (which was ironic as we were told they were fully booked and didn't have anymore space).

This room was not much better and had all manors of creatures climbing the walls. The bed bugs obviously were the worst. We saw them with our own eyes and actually had to wipe them off our bags before we left for the airport.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do not make the mistake we did by booking this dirty and poorly run hotel, unless you want the same 12 hour itchy flight home that we had. All of our stuff is now ruined and we are really worried that our home will now also be infected.

A complete and utter ruined last experience of the beautiful Sri Lanka thanks to the ironically named The Palace Hotel.......

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hashan P, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
It is with deep regret that I received your email dated 29th Nov.2012.,that your experience at the The palace hotel was not satisfactory and we have noted your comments.

How ever .we wish to state that this is the first time in the last 7 years that we have received a complaint of this nature from a guest who stayed . With out Prejudice,please accept our apologies, and we wish to state that we will investigate the complaint and if necessary take necessary action.

We would like to state that you may have picked the bug in transit between the hotel and home. We are also informed by 2 other guests from UK that you informed that you are happy about your stay at the Palace Hotel.When you were leaving the hotel you handed over key to the reception, at that time you did not complaint.

We have had guests staying in this room no.106 . we never had a complaint of this nature.

How ever .we would like to make a good will gesture by refunding the payment you paid for
1 night that is US$ 20.

Your Sincerely.


Manager

The place hotel,Negombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Palace Hotel for two nights. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the right place, but of you are looking for a quiet, clean and comfortable place, then this is the right hotel in Negombo. Price is very convenient. The only observations is that the really need to improve the restaurant service and variety; specifically for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are better and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Einstein M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel is excellent value for money , the rooms are very spacious .It is basic but room was clean , with ac, mosquito net and the staff are very friendly and would go out of there way to help you. Also rooftop pool is another great perk in this hotel with free wi fi. The hotel is based on great stripe in Negombo beach as many shops, bar and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradeep M, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#36 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#11 of 41 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Terrace Green Hotel
Terrace Green Hotel
#15 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windmill Beach Hotel
Windmill Beach Hotel
#28 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#34 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 140 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing