We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap price is the only good part of this hotel,don't stay”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Hotel
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We were a family with kids and were staying in a standard room for a night only since we have to move towards kandy next morning ! The hotel is average and the manager on the reception take too long to honour our booking since he was not aware of our booking through agoda ! The worst part of this hotel is there is no elevator in the hotel,we have to fetch our luggage on 3rd floor and there was no bell boy to help us out !The hotel don't have their restaurant also as a result we have to go outside to find out food for us after arrival at 9 p.m ! In restaurant while having dinner,we have to eat fast since all hotels/restaurants gets closed at about 10.30 p.m.! The morning breakfast was also not worth to have ! In short,don't stay in this hotel for a night also otherwise,you will be completely exhausted !

Room Tip: All rooms are good to stay but please be informed that there is no elevator in this hotel and no bel...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dipeshkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

we 3 girls walking in PALACE HOTEL in later evening Jan 20, lucky to meet the boss in recepition, offering discount, we promised for a recommend in Chinese----

很不错的酒店!我们碰上的老板,风度十足,细腻体贴,对我们照顾非常周到!前台经理也是非常客气,有求必应的绅士。唯一有些小小腹诽的是负责厨房的一位先生,他如火的热情让亚洲人有点儿招架不来。
早餐中规中矩,红茶口感很好,属于酒店早餐里相当不错的。
设施属于怀旧风格,大堂还有一辆老爷车,应该是比较早就登陆尼甘布的酒店,建议如果能稍加翻修会更吸引人。热水、空调、蚊香全都运作正常,我们在兰卡的最后一晚相当愉快!
顶楼还有个游泳池,不过没来得及享受一下。
出正门穿个小巷子20米就是海滩,其实从巷口就能看见大海,视野不错。
特此表示感谢!

thank you for all!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xingxingxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Welcoming staff but the palace is a little down-at-heel decorative-wise. Howevere, being able to have a roof-top pool dip, when Negombo Beach (very close) is a fair bit polluted is a great bonus; private sunbathing and great sunset views! Breakfast is nothing to shake a leg at, so go to one of the adjacent food places. No sign of any bedbug problems, and we were in Room 106!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hullmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stay some days in the palace hotel in negombo on beach road, perfect place u find shop, bar, town, and BEACH really near. Its hotel with hot water , wifi , A/C restaurant very tasty and very nice team all time present for you!! so friendly
You find in the palace hotel on the balcony with swimming pool the most beautiful view of negombo.
I recommand this hotel for your next holiday

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeromep720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

It was 1.30 am in the morning and pouring cats and dogs when we showed up at this hotel. We had to wake up the manager who was helpful (and thankfully sober!). They were 3 other people in a highly inebriated state (on a school night!). One of them was not decently dressed and was sprawled out on the sofa. One other had a bottle of beer in his hand and was blocking the doorway. He kept on offering the beer to us while mumbling something to one other guy who was trying to take him away. It was very awkward. We had no other option due to the stormy weather and had to stay here.

Since the manager didn't say or do anything to restrain these drunks, we guessed that they were either from or close to the management (our guess was confirmed the next day as one of these people checked us out).

The room was pretty basic.Bathroom was clean but pretty old. Nothing to rave about except its good location and proximity to the beach. This place has definitely seen better times.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2pence_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This place looks like it might have been great ten years ago. Quite pricey (we paid 75$/night) – with Internet only working in the lobby and the restaurant next to it.

Can't really recommend it, but it was a nice view from the top balcony and the staff where friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

we arrived in Negombo by train fairly late at night. First glance, the hotel may look expensive but the rooms offered were well justified by the amount quoted. the double beds were comfy and there was really hot water. Furthermore there was a tuk tuk blasting loud club music (i am a heavy metal listener and i mean blasting) on the streets but from our rooms, we could sleep quite soundly. Hotel staff were friendly.

drawbacks include a small area for shower and wifi only avail in the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzewei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradeep M, Public Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

ThankYou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#35 of 43 in Negombo
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#14 of 43 in Negombo
1,118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dickman Resort
Dickman Resort
#4 of 43 in Negombo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#13 of 43 in Negombo
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
1.5 mi away
Paradise Holiday Village
Paradise Holiday Village
#33 of 43 in Negombo
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 140 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range: £41 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing