We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Katrineholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel!”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Golden Star Beach Hotel is a very nice and beautiful hotel. The rooms has good standard and the staff is really friendly and helpfull.
This is my third time at Golden and i have enjoyed to stay here every time. The beach is nice and big, so it's not crowded at all. The water is more clear in the south, but this is also very good and there is no sharp things under the water. So it is safe and kids can play around as much as they want. The pool is great and has a deep side and an undeep side.
The food is very good, but it can also be better. Every saturday evening they arrange a BBQ-dinner which is fantastic!! I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    82
    110
    76
    68
See reviews for
91
130
49
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of a tour of Sri Lanka to be close to the airport (which it is - only 15-20 mins taxi ride). The room that we were allocated was very spacious and clean enough but not at all comfortable and you would not want to have spent any serious time there. The room had a small high level window, poor air conditioning and the bed linen and towels all needed replacing. I get a sense that this hotel may have rooms of varying standards so ensure that you get a good one if wishing to stay any length of time. The pool area backs onto the beach via a good outdoor bar which is plus (although remember that Negombo does not have the nicest beaches in Sri Lanka) but the pool itself is small and has seen better days. Breakfast seemed reasonable. We paid USD 90 for one night and for what we got, this was very expensive but if you can get this hotel a reasonable price and go with realistic expectations it could be an option - but explore others as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IgorandScrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Greve, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The hotel Room cleaning staff is very kindly..help you if you have Any problem...and also they clean the Room perfectly! We stay in Room number 2 and 3..it is a sea view Room, we Can see the sunset from our Room itself..the bathroom is very clean and theres hot Water facilities too...service is good! The reception is very helpful, always smiling and they always Solve your problems...the pool bar service is good..

Room Tip: Value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Rooms are okay and clean, i had a sea view room. The food is very delicious i must say. Staff was very friendly. I was warmly welcomed by the front desk. My husband was very happy to be in the hotel too. He got a surprise on his b'day which was a very lovely and a delicious cake. This was our first time in Sri Lanka, but we will definitely come back to golden star on our second stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natzy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Having read the non-stellar reviews, we were prepared (we had no choice as this was part of our Intrepid trip) - but in the end found the hotel to be ok for a short 1 night stay).

Seems the hotel caters to a lot of low-end package tours from Sweden, Germany and Russia.. had we booked this hotel for an entire week, we would have been disappointed too..

Our room was basic (no surprise), our little patio was missing 2 chairs, most of the beach lounging chairs were broken, and not enough for most guests. Food/beverage service on the beach was poor. The location on the beach was good. The restaurant prices were a little steep.

We stayed our first night at a guesthouse before transferring to the Golden Star - big difference - for less than half the price, we had a great experience at the guesthouse

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planetseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

service is good and friendly, staff is good, the breakfast is delicious, people are friendly, rooms are very nice and clean...good to be!! pool area is clean and beach too....the service is good... you should be here and do not believe other fake comments...

Room Tip: it is a good hotel.. you should come here and see....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafal_Kurlandzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putten, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

its nice to be in golden star every time...nice people, nice beach, good security on the beach, good service.....we are here for the 8th time in sri lanka and we always come back to golden star....reasonable rate with reasonable facilities...good food and can be recommanded....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gesina G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#11 of 41 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#33 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beacon Beach Negombo
Beacon Beach Negombo
#17 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Paradise Holiday Village
Paradise Holiday Village
#30 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#27 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Star Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Star Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Star Beach Hotel
Address: 163 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Star Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Star Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Star Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing