We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Beware of their currency exchange services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Beware of their currency exchange services”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for the first and the last night of our 4 day trip. The rooms were clean, the bed was clean and the toilet was well maintained. Our kids loved the sea bath and the pool as our sit out of our rooms lead into the beach. The pool was well maintained and clean. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and the food was nice and we liked the variety as well. The A/c was working well through the night and WiFi in the room had good signal strength.

Warning. Since this was our first hotel, we decided to use their current exchange and ended up getting a raw deal. The least they could have done is warn us on the exchange rate. We ended up converting INR 10,000 and received Srilankan 15,000. We were shocked to find out that the next place we exchanged INR 10,000 we received Srilankan 20,000. So lost 5K and i genuinely thought they had made a mistake and checked with them on my last day and they did confirm that their exchange rate was right. I don't know if this would be the case with other currencies definitely if you are an indian traveller please refrain from using their currency exchange services.

Room Tip: We stayed in 16 and it has a sit out facing the beach and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    82
    109
    75
    68
See reviews for
91
129
49
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel I have ever been to. We were supposed to stay there for 6 nights, but after we saw our room, we immediately checked out.
Unknown hair on the bed, AC not working well, toilet not flashing at all, dirty beach, terrible view from the balcony. Do not trust the pictures they have on their website.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kkernovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
DEVONPORT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good hotel but expensive for what it is. Great location and pool but the rooms air conditioner did not work and the bathroom was terribly basic with no hot water.
Close to the airport and good for a starting point or last port of call when leaving - tuk-tuk to the airport R1200

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BROUGHTYLASS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Golden Star is right on the beach in Negombo, with a lovely pool, pleasant restaurant and bar. The service provided by all the staff is good, WiFi was effective throughout the hotel and rooms. Safe deposit box is at reception and used a two key approach. The location is good - situated near plenty of restaurants, tour businesses and cycle hire shops. Negombo was just 20 mins or so from the international airport.

The downside is the quality of the rooms. My room was above the reception lunge and I suspect was not one of the better ones - some of which overlook the pool etc. Room size is good, with a internal balcony. Bathroom was below average for Sri Lanka, and water leaked over the floor. Electrfics were poor - the light switch was repaired while I was in the room - and while the power was still on. A/C was effective but very loud.

Overall the hotel was a good starting point for my first three nights in Sri Lanka. If you are inclined to spend more time in your room than sleeping etc., you may want a hotel with better rooms. However for me the location on the beach, pool and good location were more important.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool seem to be a better choice. Rooms 40 & 41 (I think) are right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good hotel with great location right on the beach. The bar is a bit expensive though. Breakfast is buffet style and loads to choose from. Nice pool and very friendly staff. Note that you cant swim at the beach in monsoon season. A place popular with tour groups.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is an average hotel, with average food and a nice view of the beach! The room we stayed in was spacious, with a new bathroom! The staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast is functional, as is the room. Nothing fancy, but nothing to complain about. Could do with a facelift.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashrita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is really nice, rooms are comfortable, I was in a single room but there were 3 beds in the room which made it a bit cramped, but obviously it wasn't a problem.
Bathroom and shower were nice.
Hotel complex is very nice, nice reception with wifi, and wifi by the pool too. Had pizza lunch at the restaurant when I arrived which was nice and homemade base, but was also horrifically expensive. For dinner we went out to a nearby restaurant which was good.
Pool is nice, with a bar next to it. Went onto the beach but it was more of a working beach and the sea was rough and not clear at all, so just swam in the pool. Buffet breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mevrouwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 41 in Negombo
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#33 of 41 in Negombo
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#26 of 41 in Negombo
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beacon Beach Negombo
Beacon Beach Negombo
#17 of 41 in Negombo
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
1.4 mi away
Paradise Holiday Village
Paradise Holiday Village
#30 of 41 in Negombo
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Star Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Star Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Star Beach Hotel
Address: 163 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Star Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Star Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Star Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing