We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect end”
Review of Amaya Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amaya Chalets
Ranked #45 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Negombo
Reviewed 14 May 2012

After 6 months on the road we arrived at the peaceful and tranquil surroundings of the Amaya Chalets in Negombo. Run by Manoj and his family they are so welcoming and embrace you as one of the family. The chalets are very well maintained and their local knowledge will help with your travels around this beautiful country. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie_Moonface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Amaya Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Very clean and tidy chalets, Owner is extremely helpful and friendly, provides alot of information about activities, and restaurants in Negombo aswell as the rest of Sri Lanka, Owner can also organise A/C vans to temples aand beyond! Great service and Breakfast! Free Internet aswell!!!!!!!!!!! Lovely family enviroment. Chalet is about a 10min tuk tuk ride to the surrounding beaches/bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Only one aircon room try grab this if you can. Other room has two fans which are good though.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Lovely family held place. The chalet had 2 rooms, a sitting room and bedroom. Both pretty well equipped with everything necessary for storing our things. Nice sitting area in front of the chalet. Very clean place, which is essential when staying away from home. Manoj and his family are great people, who're always ready to help and advise. A way to beach takes around 10 minutes by tuk tuk, and we'd normally pay around 250 rupees to get there.
This is a great place for value.
I definitely advise this place for staying. The hospitality, safety, cleanness and comfort of this place will add to your wonderful experiences in Lanka.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here the night before flying back from the airport.

Manoj who runs the chalets is incredibly kind and helpful, and drove us to Negombo beachfront. he even came and picked us up when we got taken on a mystery tour by a tuk-tuk driver who got lost!

The property itself is clean and the rooms have a bedroom, living area and bathroom. There is also a computer that guests can use with the internet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked Amaya Chalets for one night on a long layover. We later found out that the airline had a room for us at a different larger hotel. We decided to check the reviews of both hotels before we made our decision. It was pretty easy. The other hotel was said to be dirty and had bed bugs! Everyone said lovely things about Amaya Chalets. After staying there, we can add to the glowing reviews. We arrived late in the evening and were welcomed by the operator. He offered to take us somewhere for dinner but we were too tired. He very politely brought me some toast when I asked even though their kitchen had surely been closed for hours. The next day we had a long wait for our flight and not much energy to explore. The operator allowed us to stay past check out for no charge so we wouldn't have to sit at the airport for 3 extra hours. It's very clean and comfortable and spacious. The operators are friendly, welcoming, and very hospitable. I definitely recommend this location if you are staying in Negombo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very nice family, clean appartment, we asked and got local breakfast, what was very good. No matter is to much for Manoj. Internet using in the guest area was very comfortable to get in touch with family in Europe per skype. Price-Quality is very good. Also a safe place to stay.

Thank you for staying in your place Manoj, we will see you next time.

Yvonne Jacobs and Tilak Senaratna.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very clean and comfortable chalets! It get's about 15 minutes to get to the beach by tuk-tuk. Manoj is very helpful and hospitable host. He was also kind enough to show me around the city.Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AnyaLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
1.0 mi away
The Breeze Residence
The Breeze Residence
#25 of 43 in Negombo
29 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Henderson Airport Residence
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,050 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Chalets

Address: 398/2, Pillewa Road | Dalupotha, Negombo 2111, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shamila's Chalets)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Negombo
Price Range: £13 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the homely comforts of Amaya Chalets just a few minutes away from Negombo Beach and Colombo Airport. If you are looking for convenient vacation rentals in Negombo Sri Lanka then look no further than Amaya Chalets. With close proximity to Colombo airport you can get you vacation started soon after you land. If you are a beach lover you can literally drop off your bags and within 30 minutes of landing you could be enjoying the beautiful beach at Negombo. Amaya Chalet is a small family run rental property and thus you will get to experience real Sri Lankan home treatment. With beautifully decorated and furnished double bedrooms available the villa is suitable for couples, families or single visitors looking for a relaxing atmosphere to relax as they embark on their exciting holiday. The close proximity to the airport (only 15 minutes drive away) also offers a great place to wind your holiday down as you prepare to leave Sri Lanka on the next leg of your Journey. Additional services such as airport pickups and drop offs, whatever the time for your flights, are also available. All you need to do is simply let the very friendly people at Villa Amaya know your flight details. You can also inquire about tours with English speaking guides which can be arranged at competitive rates.As if that was not enough, to extend the hospitality available at Amaya, the following are all available at no charge to you:• Wifi• Toiletries and towels• Desktop computer with internet access• Secure parking• Luggage storage. If you are planning a vacation to Sri Lanka then there is only one place for you to stay, Amaya Chaltes, where the homeliness of Sri Lankan living greets you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Amaya Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Chalets Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing