We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms. Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Tourist Guest House
Ranked #18 of 228 Negombo B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms. Great location”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little guest house tucked off the main road. It's opposite the beach which is quiet and clean to swim in. The sea Joy restaurant next door does breakfast:

The room we stayed in was on the first floor and had very high ceilings, a large bed, balcony and bathroom. We didn't see much of the staff but they were friendly when we did.

The room was 4500 with no breakfast. The room was breezy with air conditioning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesTheSun1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    164
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
34
163
82
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The rooms and bathroom are very spacious. There was a fridge in the bedroom, but the furniture (tables and chairs) were of plastic. The rooms on the upper floor are very quiet, and have nice balconies. The guesthouse is next to the beach. However, there is no possibility to take any meal in the guesthouse as it is still under construction, but there is a nice restaurant just across the street. The prices for all their services are displayed in the main lobby, hence there is no surprise. We requested them to arrange a driver to take us back to the airport, which we paid together with the room at check-out time. When arriving at the airport, their driver complained that he had not been paid, and then that he had no money for putting petrol to drive back to the guesthouse. This left us with a mixed impression of the guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Clean, extremely friendly staff and good location. Great value of money, I would stay here again if I needed a room close to the airport. 800Rs for tuk tuk from airport. Marine is only a short walk from the beaches and Joy restaurant next door does lovely local food and huge breakfasts for 400Rs.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guysie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A great place to stay when you first arrive in Sri Lanka. We had contacted MT Guest House before arriving as we needed a vehicle to collect us and our large bike boxes from the airport! Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, very close to good food places. Free wi-fi and very accommodating to our need to put the bikes together in the foyer. They were also great in that they stored our cardboard boxes until our return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Marine is located just two minutes across the road from the beach. Staff are really good and helpful. The rooms are basic but clean and the bathroom was ok; use the mozzie nets! Close by are a few places to eat and a short tuk-tuk drive from the harbour markets. As a starting point and 20 minutes from the airport, The Marine was ideal. It’s not the Ritz, but then again, except the really expensive places, nowhere in Sri Lanka is! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms are the same front or back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelizard1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Right along the main road in Negombo a few doors down from several good curry places. This a very basic hotel but it is clean and the owners are very kind. They were renovating when we went in November. I hope by now they are done. The rooms were clean and so were the bathrooms. Basic amenities were provided. We did not have breakfast there so I cannot comment on the availibility or quality. Overall a good place to stay for the first night or so in Sri lanka.

Room Tip: Top rooms are spacious and have airco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank La H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great location
Big common space
Clean dorm room with locker, bed light, socket and AC!
Clean bathroom with hot water
No mosquito in the room
Free wifi
The manager Hiram Dole is really helpful
Only 1100 rubes
Love here :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamChenWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
1.0 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 42 in Negombo
1,410 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#10 of 42 in Negombo
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
1.9 mi away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#2 of 228 in Negombo
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Tourist Guest House

Property: Marine Tourist Guest House
Address: No. 118 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marine Tourist Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marine Tourist Guest House in Negombo. Our budget Guest house ,hotel is located 100 m away from Negombo beach. The Marine Tourist Guest House of Negombo is in the Negombo tourism resort. If you are looking for the ideal home-away-from-home accommodation, Marine is the ideal place. Situated in a peaceful environment and just minutes from the Colombo airport, Marine Tourist Guest House is the place for you. Largest, cleanest budget guest rooms in Negombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Tourist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Tourist Guest House Hotel Negombo
Marine Tourist Guest House Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing