We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover in Negombo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stopped over in this hotel for 1 night near the airport on our way to Yala National Park and again on our way back.

The room was very tired and not really as clean as you would expect in a hotel such as this - basically ok but dirty doorframes and surfaces. I felt it was a typical transit hotel. The only real problem was the meal. On our first night they had booked a large wedding at the hotel. This meant that the area which was normally used for hotel guests was used for the wedding and our self service buffet meal was served from a small storage room. The food was awful. Very little choice, burnt tuna steaks full of bones and chicken thighs with no meat on. The rice was nice though.

We complained and to be fair the manager apologised and offered to cook us a meal himself, but by that time we had travelled 20 hours and just wanted to go to bed.

On our return the difference was noticeable. We ate in the normal area and the food was great.

My complaint is that the hotel management made a conscious decision to give the wedding precedence over normal hotel guests to the extent that the meal was a very bad experience and spoiled the first day of our holiday. That, in my mind, was unacceptable, hence the poor rating.

As always, the staff are great. The pool was excellent. The beach looked nice and had a number of beach boys who were not too bad and left as soon as we said we were not interested in their services. The wedding closed down at 23:00 so no problems with noise.

To summarise, a good transit hotel if there is no wedding scheduled but not somewhere I would like to spend more than a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned. Stayed here from February 6th 2014.
All the staff are a credit to the management. Friendly, helpful and always smiling.
Lovely quiet hotel. Has good size rooms with in room WiFi, very useful. Cleaned every day. Needs a bit of updating and understand will be closed soon for a refurb.
Hotel is right on the beach and has a lovely well maintained garden and a good size pool.
Stayed half board, breakfast was good, dinner a bit limited choice but well prepared. I was there for Valentine's dinner. What a wonderful selection of food, the desserts table was amazing. Ice sculptures decorated all the buffet tables. Sculptured by hotel chef, credit to him.
The hotel is a good base for touring from. Went on a 3 day tour with Shireen tours, left out of hotel, 50yds on opposite side. Good careful driver ( Musthoq) which you need in Sri Lanka.
Looking forward to see the refurb and going back in September. Such a lot more of Sri Lanka to see.
Would definitely recommend Paradise Beach hotel.
Janice. From UK.

Room Tip: Best views on 2nd or 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Thank you Mr & Mrs (mum) Cruz and the rest of your fantastic staff for making our holiday so much fun! You could not do any more for us .
Great for singles and families alke nothing is to much trouble and we really mean that!
Yes rooms are tired for this 40 year old hotel. but is due for refurb in april, we cannot wait to see the improvements ,this as they say will put the icing on the cake for a wonderful, relaxing stay. Mark & Karen

Room Tip: 3rd floor seems popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

From the moment you step into this hotel until the time you leave you are you are met by ALL staff with impeccable manners who treat you courteously and with a good sense of humor. Nothing is a bother for them and who will help you in anyway possible to make your holiday a success. The food is excellent, with a vast choice to suit all nationalities at all meal times, served by friendly and smiling staff. The pools are well maintained and kept very clean. Great location for a hotel which makes the most of its surroundings. Rooms cleaned every day, fresh drinking water supplied to each room as well as tea and coffee. Free use of safe, air conditioning ceiling fan and wifi. Good to see local weddings in the hotel giving you a glimpse of the local customs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank chrisCullercots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The best that can be said about the hotel is its location on the beach and close to the airport. Also the only hotel we stayed in with wi-fi throughout.
Room was in dire need of some tlc. Meals were adequate but very limited selection with very little promotion of national dishes. In general we found it a more expensive hotel than we expected.
Staff were generally friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyprus_Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Brilliant friendly staff. Great location. Busy though with lots of local weddings and celebrations. Bad wifi connections .overall super clean and friendly management staff. Pool area was always clean and staff polite and professional.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilkennycat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The official pictures on website are NOT what it is today - very tired, old and if I have to pay for it again, I won't pay more $40 per night. We paid about $90/night. The only good comments were that they provided breakfast (not very wonderful but better than no breakfast). And the second thing was the view of the ocean. It is too bad that the balcony is full of birds' poops - gross!

The most shameful thing about this hotel is that they are charging arms and legs for transportation charges to go anywhere. We hired a taxi from Colombo city to Negombo for about 2800 rupees. But Paradise Beach hotel will charge you 3000 rupees for the airport drop off (that is less than half the way it took from Colombo city - no shame at all. If you walk across the street to a tour company or taxi for hire, it will cost about 1500 rupees to the airport. There are two shops nearby the hotel, don't be their victims. When we asked why such high rates, they said we are a safe company and we highly recommended - unbelievable!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, facing out to the pool - not a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedynikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 44 in Negombo
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
3 mi away
Amagi Aria
Amagi Aria
#14 of 44 in Negombo
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 44 in Negombo
1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 44 in Negombo
629 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 44 in Negombo
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Hotel

Address: 289 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: £36 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach, all sea view, 62 double/twin A/C rooms and 02 suites with private balcony, hot/cold water, safety deposit lockers, cable TV, tea/coffee maker & mini fridge. Our restaurant serves Western & Eastern cuisine, well known for seafood dishes, well stocked bar with wines, cocktails, etc. Conference facilities available for 100 pax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing