We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serendib Guest House
Ranked #12 of 272 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This has to be the hidden gem of Sri Lanka, or anywhere else for that matter. Both Hilary and Budikka are exceptional hosts. Both are generous and helpful should you wish to tour the island or just kick sand around Negombo. We loved staying here and were loathe to leave such a beautiful guest house. In all our travels the best we have ever stayed in and Buddika's breakfast just tops in all.

Room Tip: No preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

we chose the serendib through the glowing reports on trip advisor and we were not disappointed.
Hilary and Buddika are the perfect hosts and their hospitality is second to none. We stayed for 2 weeks and from he start we were made to feel at home with nothing being to much trouble.
Buddika makes an amazing breakfast with any amount of tea and coffee and toast. We also were treated to a meal with them and it was amazing the best meal of our holiday. All the staff are pleasant and nothing was to much trouble for them. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is ideal for peace and quiet. must also mention the two dogs Cleo and Fergus who are so friendly and loving we are now planning to go back to Sri Lanka next year and will use the Serendib again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geordie207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here for 11 night's in Jan and I have to say it is one of the best guest house's we have ever stayed in.The hospitality from Hilary Buddika and all the staff was second to none, nothing was too much trouble for them, they went out of their way to help in anyway they could. The day's were started off with one of Buddika's great breakfast's and everyday we got back we were offered a tea, coffee or an alcoholic drink have never been offered that anywhere else, and on our last night we were invited to eat with them which I have to say was a wonderful night.The accommodation is really clean and comfortable and would recommend it to anyone, if you do book here you will not be disappointed.
Audrey & Carl

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheppo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

How lucky we were to stay a this wonderful guest house for the first two nights of our holiday in Sri Lanka. Suffice to say that all the glowing comments by other reviewers about Hilary, Buddika and the other staff at Serendib are more than justified. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and the peaceful location away from the hustle and bustle of 'downtown' Negombo was perfect. The kindness and hospitality shown by Hilary and Buddika to us and the other guests went far beyond the call of duty and they went out of there way to be helpful in every way. I can also add my voice to all those who have commented on Buddika's breakfast. It really is fantastic.

We used the Serendib car and driver for a ten day tour of Sri Lanka and Yohan - the driver - was a real treasure. Yohan is a very good and very careful driver. He is reliable, knowledgeable, courteous and friendly. He greeted us every morning with a warm and welcoming smile and looked after us like royalty. Yohan is not a licenced guide but he knows Sri Lanka like the back of his hand and his suggestions about places to visit and places to eat were always spot on. Yohan did so much to make our holiday such a wonderful experience and I can recommend him without reservation.

We have already decided to go to Sri Lanka again next year and we will definitely be staying at the Serendib and using Yohan's services again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived at serendib guest house 2nd February 2014 for 5 days we were greeted with a warm welcome off Hilary and Budikka they made our stay totally relaxing and they were at hand if we needed them or anything. Lovely house home from home would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this guest house to anybody. We will definitely be keeping in touch with Hilary. Thank you again for your hospitality. Budikka makes the most amazing breakfast, it is to die for. Michelle & Eric Manchester England.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilsmedic, Owner at Serendib Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Hello E & M,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of Serendib. We too really enjoyed your company with good friends & good times to remember.
Yes, it will be lovely to keep in touch with you both and do remember you are more than welcome back to Serendib.

Best wishes,
Hilary & Buddika.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here at our first day in Sri Lanka, welcomed warmly by the owner. The room is very clean and comfortable and, I have to say, the best breakfast we had in Lanka!!

We also rent a car here for our 8 days tour, great service with a great driver. Our driver Yohan is really considerate, friendly and helpful. He helped us optimize our itinerary and meet every requirement from us. We wished we could have stayed here longer, wonderful place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilsmedic, Owner at Serendib Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hello E,

Thank you so much for the review of Serendib & tour from here. Yes, Yohan is a safe & considerate driver who takes good care of our guests.

I'm pleased we made your stay comfortable and memorable we look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Hilary & Buddika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We began and ended our month long trip to Sri Lanka at Serendib and found it ideal. 20 min drive to the airport, few minutes walk to the beach, nice swimming pool if you don't fancy the beach. Lovely room, huge breakfast, filtered water available so no need to buy water in plastic bottles - yay! Very friendly, helpful staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilsmedic, Owner at Serendib Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hi,

Yes the breakfast is the best in Sri Lanka! Buddika is the chef & works efficiently to ensure your breakfast is top quality.

Thank you for taking the time to review Serendib we are happy you enjoyed your short stay with us, do come & visit again you are very welcome.

Best wishes,
Hilary & Buddika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites
3.7 mi away
Amagi Aria
Amagi Aria
#16 of 43 in Negombo
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#2 of 272 in Negombo
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Kapuru
Villa Kapuru
#2 of 252 in Negombo
137 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palms Villa Negombo
Palms Villa Negombo
#3 of 272 in Negombo
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendib Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendib Guest House

Address: No 83/1 St Joseph Street, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: £33 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendib Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY OUR PEACEFUL AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE Situated only 7 kilometres from the airport and a 5 minutes walk from the beach, Serendib Guest House has the perfect location for your holiday in Negombo. Enjoy the comfort of five individually decorated rooms with separate bathrooms, - and equipped with good beds, AC / fan, and mosquito nets. In the morning, we serve you the included generous breakfast with fresh fruits, eggs, bacon/sausages, and vegetables, plus toast with butter and jam and of course coffee/tea. Our peaceful garden invites you to relax under palms and mango trees and cool off in the pools. You are welcomed to use a spacious living room with TV and prepare your snacks and drinks in our guest kitchen, where you can store food/beverages in the refrigerator. You also have free access to our WiFi. Our reception will tend to your needs, if necessary all day around, to make sure your stay will be as satisfactory and pleasant as possible. EXTRAS: To make your holiday in Sri Lanka memorable, we are happy to offer the following extra services: Pick up and drop off the airport. Sightseeing in Negombo by bike or "Lucky tuk tuk" Planning and organizing your Sri Lankan day or round trip with our car and experienced English speaking driver cum guide. Ayurvedic massage by a professional masseur, according to your need, in our massage room. Special honeymoon arrangements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Serendib Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendib Guest House Hotel Negombo
Serendib Guest House Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing