We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unimpressed”
Review of Rani Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rani Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unimpressed”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We arrived at the check in time and were welcomed with a welcome drink. We had to sit and wait in the extremely hot lobby. The staff was apologetic that the room was not ready. We got to our room and it was at least 40 degrees C. NOT OK. The workers were coming out of the room SWEATING. We had a great view of the beach and pool and the room was triple board so it was spacious. The bathroom was nice but NO toiletries. We left to have lunch and left the air conditioning unit on 16 degrees. We came back and the room was so hot. They have curtains but they don't stop the sun from coming in the top uncovered windows. We came back to the room and had to take a COLD shower to cool off. We called the front desk and they came up but "didn't know" what to do. One hour later still no relief and had to take another cold shower before dinner. Great breeze on the beach and great company in the pool. We sat down for dinner and had two options. We were not unhappy with the choices for dinner that night. The staff was nice and helpful. Our driver convinced the hotel to have breakfast for us when we were leaving for the airport at 245am!!!! We got up and they had four individually packaged breakfasts for us with bottled waters. I thought that was incredibly nice. All in all, I enjoyed the beach and pool. The food was mediocre. The front desk was clearly overwhelmed. I would go back to this hotel only because our AMAZING driver recommended it. If you need a driver recommendation, do contact me!!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE our driver!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morganmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    80
    84
    32
    22
See reviews for
54
96
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Not worth my time to review this one but I'm doing this in the interest of my fellow traveller compatriots :)

Close to the aiport but then so are some other hotels. At the inexpensive price, I understand one is to expect very little of this hotel but I do expect the basics-

Rooms are big but the bed/mattress was infested with ants. After a 4 hour journey from Kalpitiya, day long trip to Colombo -a clean, bug free bed is all I expected. When we called the staff to look at it, they shrugged their shoulders saying they see no ants. humph!

I would recommend booking a cab guy outside the hotel- the hotel guys charge you 2000 bucks for a 10 min drive to the airport. the outside (they will be on the road, you just need to walk 10 steps & they'll call out to you anyway) cabbies will charge you anywhere bw 1200-1500. Atleast it's some saving.

Don't have the breakfast buffet. Stick to basics- eggs and toast. Their juices tasted bad, the sausages were infested with flies. Avoid it even if the manager convinces you otherwise.

Didn't even think of going to the beach. It was dirty and polluted. If you're a night stopper like me who just needs a place to crash- go for it but only if you don't have any other option within the same price range.

Went with mom so it was ok (she's quite practical) but not recommended for a couple or a family with kids.

Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter-Saabrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Rani Beach is located on polluted and dirty Negombo Beach. The only reason to stay is the proximity to the airport. Having stayed previously at the Paradise Beach Resort 100 meters down the beach, we had a good basis for comparison. The Rani is far inferior, despite its larger and better-equipped rooms.

The Rani Beach has large, clean rooms, with comfortable beds, and good bathrooms. However, some of them front on the loud and busy street, meaning gross amounts of traffic noise from early morning unti late night. Be sure to get a seaview room! The others are very poor value.

The place is built like a giant ear, so any noise in the inner courtyard and pool is everybody's to hear. That includes the vans and cars that jockey in and out early and late, drunken yahoos from the Emirates experiencing alcohol for the first time as they yodel Arabic Top 40 hits around the pool, wedding parties, and whatever else is going on

The restaurant was very poor. The service is the kind that ignores you for a long time when you come in, insists on trying to sell you drinks until you beg for a menu, ignores you when it's obvious you're ready to order, takes forever to provide mediocre food, then stands and tries to sell you junk and junkets while you're trying to eat, only to disappear indefinitely when you want to pay and go. And that's with 1/10 of the tables occupied.

Otherwise, hotel service was pretty efficient, but impersonal to a remarkable degree for Sri Lanka. They were going through the motions OK, but you didn't matter one way or another to them. All in all, I'd only stay there again at a steep discount, as a last resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Had a bad experience, having inquired properly from front office, especially about food choices. Room was supple, but the bed was uncomfy, as it was shorter than expected, causing neck problems. No 24hour room service, and full board customers will need to check carefully, what is on offer for them. Parking will be an issue if they are having a function.

Room Tip: Check the bed, and opt for Bed only or Bed and breakfast at the most. Check food options before maki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nilanka_CMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I chose this hotel after having read the reviews on Tripadvisor. I stayed two nights before flying home on an early morning flight. It is ideally located for the airport just being 20 minutes away (subject to traffic). The Hotel were expecting us and check in was painless. The rooms were deluxe rooms with a sea view. Given the cost of other accommodation in Negombo, the cost represented good value. The room was spacious with aircon and a flat screen TV and fridge. Complimentary water was provided. The bathroom was spacious and everything worked. The room was cleaned to a good standard. Breakfast was uninspiring. The staff were helpful and accomodating. I wasnt that impressed with Negombo as a resort, and wouldnt choose to spend my entire holiday there. As a stopover as you arrive or before you leave this Hotel is a decent choice and given that Jetwing dominate the hotels on the strip also provides value for money. It has a pool and direct access to the beach. Hawkers are an irritation, and the beach is not the best that Sri Lanka has to offer, but for a short stay its ideal

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I selected this hotel after reading its reviews on Trip Advisor. Hotel is situated on a good location in Negombo. It has a beach adjoining the hotel which although not very clean like Goa or Thailand, but still worth a morning walk alongside it.

Hotel rooms - big spacious rooms and clean bathrooms. Latch of the Bathroom door was broken and the beds were small, just enough to accommodate 2 of us with our kid. Barring these minor glitches, we had a comfortable stay.

One deficiency was the lack of tea kit and mineral water which is not provided complimentary but is expected from a hotel of this category. Fortunately, we were carrying our own tea bags and sugar and there was an electric kettle provided in the room. You also have a general store right opposite where you can purchase these things.

Service - Staff is extremely courteous and serve you with a smile. Service is prompt and anything requested is provided quickly.

Food - Indian food is not served here in the Menu. However the complimentary breakfast was sumptuous and had something for all of us. Dinner served on New Year's eve was good, but could do with more variety.

One thing I would like to mention - there is no lift in the hotel which is 3 storied. So if you are not fond of climbing stairs or have old people travelling, then request for ground floor at the time of booking.

Overall a good, comfortable stay and a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shashank_Swarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two weeks. It is great nice and clean and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. Large clean rooms with large balconies. Calm and quiet at night. We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesuntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#35 of 43 in Negombo
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beacon Beach Negombo
Beacon Beach Negombo
#17 of 43 in Negombo
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#14 of 43 in Negombo
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 43 in Negombo
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#27 of 43 in Negombo
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle
Royal Castle
#20 of 43 in Negombo
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rani Beach Resort

Property: Rani Beach Resort
Address: Lewis Place, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rani Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rani Beach Hotel Negombo
Rani Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing