We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, okay hotel in Negombo”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rani Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rani Beach Resort
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cheap, okay hotel in Negombo”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Second hotel we have ended trying in Negombo and the best budget one so far on the beach with a pool. Negative was a horrid breakfast. Rooms were okay with good air con, okay bathroom, staff ranged from okay to good. Pool is very nice. Outside plenty of choices for food. Good for accommodation for one night in Negombo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrike2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    76
    77
    29
    21
See reviews for
49
93
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as a family. We had a very spacious double room and triple room that was clean with nice comfy beds. There is a small empty fridge, so no mini bar. It's says on Tripadvisor that there is 24 hr room service but this is not so. My husband came back from watching a cricket match in Colombo at about midnight and there was absolutely nothing for him to eat or drink. A minibar would have been useful. If you want to order something you have phone for a menu and then order before the restaurant closes at 9:30pm. Restaurant wasn't great. We ate the buffet dinner in the first night which was very expensive for what was on offer compared to what we've had in other hotels in SL. The food was always cold, the need lids on the chafing dishes and maybe light the burners underneath. Breakfast was just ok, really not too exciting. I believe they are building a bar area which will be great in the future as there is nowhere to sit and have a drink. Pool is fabulous and the waiters were friendly and great with our kids. The people selling stuff on the beach are really annoying but this happens everywhere I think.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DohaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We again stayed at the Rani Beach Hotel and were upgraded to the Suite room with a
beautiful view of the beach. The staff welcomed us with a cool welcome drink.
Dinner was in buffet style and tasty. When booking this hotel we suggest to ask for a suite room which costs only a little more than the standard room and also we recommend to insist
on having a seaview room. Some rooms do not have this view and should be avoided.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevensGentBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable hotel with nice pool overlooking the beach and ok breakfast buffet. Not the cheapest option but perfect as soft entry to Sri Lanka or final relax before home.
www.soljamtravels.wordpress.com

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Most dirtiest hotel, ever !!!Got up in the morning,stepped into the balcony to look at dawn, slipped,and Fell in the balcony due to muddy conditions on the cement surface, not cleaned. Management did not take any action to compensate me, even though it was their responsibility to keep a a clean room.and balcony.Had to pay out of my pocket USD 100 for the Hotel's doctor who did nothing. Warning most rude Management ever, do not know how to be courteous to hotel guests. try any nearby hotel other than this you will stay alive and happy.

Room Tip: save your life and money, go to another hotel in Lewis ave, Negombo, like Brown's beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangalore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Checked into hotel with an argument with the receptionist for room and room boy to carry luggage. Later in thw room found out AC not working. Had a terrible night in an oven with ac and fan both in worst conditions. Cleanliness was ok ok. Nothing great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varunbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin NZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Our last two nights in S.L were spent here as part of the package organised for us by the Sri Gemenu Hotel. The initial impression was good enough and one of the girls at reception spoke reasonable English. Unfortunately our room on the first floor looked directly out to a semi finished building that virtually blocked the view to the pool and beach. ( see photo) . The 3 storey building dose not have a lift.

The room was spacious and clean with Tv but no internet so down to the restaurant with the laptop. The pool was clean with foam mattresses on the deck chairs next to the pool and some under trees which we made use of.
Our second disappointment came when we went down for dinner. A limited menu was presented to us ( 2 main options) but we noticed some other patrons had a more detailed menu. We realized then that the hotel/ meal price that we had paid for must be in the economy class!

Breakfast was OK as was lunch- about $USD 16.00 for two of us including a beer.
Overall its a pleasant enough place but check where your room is and what the dinner options are, cost wise. We witnessed a great sunset ( see photo ) but then any of the hotels along the coast had the same

Room Tip: Choose a room on the left side of the entrance and as close to the sea as possible to get the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDRennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 41 in Negombo
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#13 of 41 in Negombo
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#26 of 41 in Negombo
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#34 of 41 in Negombo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rani Beach Resort

Property: Rani Beach Resort
Address: Lewis Place, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rani Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rani Beach Hotel Negombo
Rani Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing