We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to have a party !!!”
Review of Rani Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rani Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best place to have a party !!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Me and my wife gave a party to our friends at the Rani Beach Resort on 18th of May 2014 and I must say we are very happy about our decision on selecting the perfect venue. The place was nicely decorated and the managing staff was so helpful and they provided us all the assistance needed to make our special day a memorable one !!! Food was great and what else you want !!! I like to thanks the managing staff of the Rani Beach Resort for making everything perfect and would recommend the place to anyone to have a happening beach party!!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are faced to the sea side ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TharinduKande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    79
    78
    31
    22
See reviews for
51
93
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our whole trip in Sri Lanka was fully planned, except the last night - so we arrvied in Negombo, tired, looking for a hotel to stay over (last night before departure)
First they've showed us a room, quoted a rate - and ended up giving us another room, trying to get another rate as well. Of course we did not agree on it and stick to our first quotation.
The towels smelled like wet dog, the bathroom was moldy, the furniture was old and smelly, the floor & clothings dirty, lots of moskitos and flies, no acoustic insulation - we heard everyone talking or passing in front of our room, for dinner we were sitting in the restaurant (full of moskitos and flies) waiting 15minutes to be attended by shoe-less waiters lacking of communication skills and food knowledge... the breakfast was OK in terms of food variety but disgusting in terms of preparation and presentation!
Again no one attending properly just staring at us! The Pool was dirty and the crows were permanently disturbing the people on their sunbeds (again no towels were given automatically, being a struggle to get the towels - which smelled again really bad!). AC did not work properly in the room.
The Beach in front of the hotel was dirty and dark. On top we were disturbed every 5 minutes by random people trying to sell jewellery, clothes, katamaran-trips etc.
Locationwise centrally located!

All in all it was the WORST hotel we have ever stayed in... it has NOTHING to do with a Beach Resort! If we would not have been too tired after our 9h trip by car - we would have immediately packed our things in that night and moved to another hotel! (since there are plenty in that one street!)
It was really disappointing because the name itself promises another ambiente and raises other expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennySMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is a good choice to have some rest after your flight. We had ocean-side rooms equipped with fridge & AC and a big balcony facing to the sea.
The pool was nice and with direct connection to the ocean so you also can take a few steps outside to the sandy beach and enjoy the sunset.
The staff is very friendly and the food was OK.
We only could get Wifi working at the lobby area (even if we had our rooms close).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms were adequate size with balcony and air conditioning. The pool made our stay even better. Internet was just at the reception, but at least it was working. Nice friendly staff and a good buffet. Ocean wiew was beautiful from the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kov1krisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This guest house is a few doors up from the Ice Bear hotel, it has a sign and is down an alleyway that leads to the beach. I have added this hotel myself because it was really peaceful and very clean. the rooms do vary, the ones with the communal terrace are nicer but more expensive. there are 7 rooms in total. the wifi worked with good signal. the staff were very friendly and were forever sweeping up and keeping it tidy. they are fan rooms with cold water which doesnt suit all but this is what i prefer. i thought it was good value. they do offer tea and breakfast too, i just had the tea.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatty_Rascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piangil Vic Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Our first impressions of the room were not good,it was a street facing room and not a lot in the room worked including no hot water.We requested a change and got a sea facing room where everything worked.Lobby and floor staff were very friendly and helpful.Both rooms had pretty ordinary furniture but it is adequate although a proper room safe would be better than the current set up.The rooms are a good size and we had a very big balcony with sea and pool views.The swimming pool and beachfront area is a nice spot to relax on the sun lounges with excellent waiter service.Breakfast was ok considering the room cost and there are restaurants nearby in the main street.

Room Tip: Grab a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jOhnandjudy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wattala, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

It was my cousin brother's wedding reception which was held there. Beautiful hall facing the sea. I dont know about their room facilities but they gave a good service, though we had a problem in parking vehicles. But the wedding buffet was excellent. We enjoyed their food so well and it was indeed tasty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamila1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#13 of 42 in Negombo
1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#11 of 42 in Negombo
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#34 of 42 in Negombo
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#27 of 42 in Negombo
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#35 of 42 in Negombo
372 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beacon Beach Negombo
Beacon Beach Negombo
#17 of 42 in Negombo
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rani Beach Resort

Property: Rani Beach Resort
Address: Lewis Place, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rani Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rani Beach Hotel Negombo
Rani Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing