We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average place”
Review of Rani Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rani Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Average place”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Average place for a day's stay. No lifts so we had to walk two floors up. The pool was dirty on the deeper side. Cockroaches in the toilets, Bad air con. Pretty run down place though they try to keep them clean. The reception also does not have air conditioning. Food though was excellent. Would prefer some other place next time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijayBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    80
    84
    32
    23
See reviews for
55
96
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Offenburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Since I didn't want to waste my time and money at the worst place ICEBEAR Guesthouse, I was looking for a ''real'' beach hotel or restaurant to relax.

Fortunately, I found this place with nice pool and great view (unlike the view from the Icebear Guesthouse!!). The bike from the Icebear Guesthouse was very bad and didn't have proper lock.
The people from this Rani Beach Resort was so kind to offer me parking space at their hotel.

Due to those very kind, generous and helpful people, I was able to finally relax myself by their pool and enjoyed the good drinks with nice view. The food and drinks there are way better and even cheaper than the small Icebear Guesthouse.

After the cockroach hunting night in Icebear Guesthouse, I was lucky to be able to get some sleep in the GOOD RANI BEACH RESORT!

The location is quite good. There are several small shops nearby.

They gave me nice tips. Very grateful to have been there. A professional hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms with Sea View would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forrestchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The place is pretty tired but clean. Poor showers in rooms. But rooms were large with ac. Balconies facing the sea were good but rooms facing the street were noisy. An average buffet breakfast but omelettes and fresh fruit were good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank awannabefoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Me and my wife gave a party to our friends at the Rani Beach Resort on 18th of May 2014 and I must say we are very happy about our decision on selecting the perfect venue. The place was nicely decorated and the managing staff was so helpful and they provided us all the assistance needed to make our special day a memorable one !!! Food was great and what else you want !!! I like to thanks the managing staff of the Rani Beach Resort for making everything perfect and would recommend the place to anyone to have a happening beach party!!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are faced to the sea side ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TharinduKande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our whole trip in Sri Lanka was fully planned, except the last night - so we arrvied in Negombo, tired, looking for a hotel to stay over (last night before departure)
First they've showed us a room, quoted a rate - and ended up giving us another room, trying to get another rate as well. Of course we did not agree on it and stick to our first quotation.
The towels smelled like wet dog, the bathroom was moldy, the furniture was old and smelly, the floor & clothings dirty, lots of moskitos and flies, no acoustic insulation - we heard everyone talking or passing in front of our room, for dinner we were sitting in the restaurant (full of moskitos and flies) waiting 15minutes to be attended by shoe-less waiters lacking of communication skills and food knowledge... the breakfast was OK in terms of food variety but disgusting in terms of preparation and presentation!
Again no one attending properly just staring at us! The Pool was dirty and the crows were permanently disturbing the people on their sunbeds (again no towels were given automatically, being a struggle to get the towels - which smelled again really bad!). AC did not work properly in the room.
The Beach in front of the hotel was dirty and dark. On top we were disturbed every 5 minutes by random people trying to sell jewellery, clothes, katamaran-trips etc.
Locationwise centrally located!

All in all it was the WORST hotel we have ever stayed in... it has NOTHING to do with a Beach Resort! If we would not have been too tired after our 9h trip by car - we would have immediately packed our things in that night and moved to another hotel! (since there are plenty in that one street!)
It was really disappointing because the name itself promises another ambiente and raises other expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennySMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is a good choice to have some rest after your flight. We had ocean-side rooms equipped with fridge & AC and a big balcony facing to the sea.
The pool was nice and with direct connection to the ocean so you also can take a few steps outside to the sandy beach and enjoy the sunset.
The staff is very friendly and the food was OK.
We only could get Wifi working at the lobby area (even if we had our rooms close).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms were adequate size with balcony and air conditioning. The pool made our stay even better. Internet was just at the reception, but at least it was working. Nice friendly staff and a good buffet. Ocean wiew was beautiful from the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kov1krisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#35 of 43 in Negombo
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beacon Beach Negombo
Beacon Beach Negombo
#17 of 43 in Negombo
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 43 in Negombo
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#14 of 43 in Negombo
1,105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#27 of 43 in Negombo
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle
Royal Castle
#20 of 43 in Negombo
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rani Beach Resort

Property: Rani Beach Resort
Address: Lewis Place, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rani Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rani Beach Hotel Negombo
Rani Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing