We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property fronting a lovely lagoon”
Review of Jetwing Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Lagoon
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

After a long flight from Sydney, we relaxed for three days here / before we ventured to explore Sri Lanka. Great hotel deserving the awards received. Built around a large pool and next to an amazing lagoon. Environmentally conscious design -very appealing. The lagoon provides activities such as boating. The restaurants have a sweeping view of the lagoon and the food is excellent. Our suit had a massive baloney with views of the lagoon- was great to wake up with a cup of tea / watch the lone fisherman or two in their boats catching prawns. The same prawns can end up on your dinner table! It was difficult to choose between the 100 meter pool / Jacuzzi in privacy of your suit to unwind. The staff were attentive and courteous - the manager inquiring if we were happy! Great hotel.

Room Tip: Worth splurging on a suit - facing the lagoon. Very spacious and luxurious.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank as-55-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your three days stay at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for describing the facilities and scenic view around the resort, which is much appreciated. We also learnt that you had enjoyed the food and the service at the resort, hence I have taken the liberty to pass on these compliments to the entire team, which was as you can imagine, very pleased to hear the feedback.
Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend the last three days of your holiday in Sri Lanka and we sincerely hope to welcome you back to the resort sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
Wester Felthman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Jetwing Lagoon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed as a couple + grown up son, and decided on a luxury hotel for the last night of our holiday, prior to a flight home. I booked via agoda.com online , a family room with lagoon view. What a disappointment therefore when we were shown to a room without a view.
The room was beautiful but could have been anywhere...
I complained and was initially told it was the only room available, but then the manager advised we could be upgraded to a suite. This was absolutely gorgeous- a balcony overlooking the lagoon, a separate bedroom and bathroom for our son, a jacuzzi, very luxurious indeed.
We ate in the restaurant and the dinner and breakfast buffets were excellent.
The 100m pool an amazing feature- does this exist in any other hotel?
I am grateful to the hotel for making our stay so enjoyable. I see agoda are still advertising the family rooms as having lagoon views even though I have emailed them to advise the error.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and we hope you had a pleasant journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed the short holiday at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for the compliments made on the food and I have taken the liberty to pass them on to my entire team, which was very pleased to hear the feedback. As for the pool, it is certainly the longest straight pool found in the entire western coast of Sri Lanka.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend you last night in Sri Lanka, and we hope we will be able to welcome you and your family back to the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Wester Felthman,
General Manager
Jetwing Lagoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here to recover from our flight. We landed at 2am and were able to get to the hotel quickly and easily. The staff wee ready and waiting and got us to our room quickly. The rooms are very nice as are the hotel grounds. The pool is massive and a great place to relax.

The only negative is the isolated location, is a 10 - 20 min tuktuk ride to get into town. If you wanted to be closer to restaurants, etc then styling by the beach would be better. Other than that a very nice place to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your first night in Sri Lanka at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for your compliments on the efficiency of our associates and also for admiring the swimming pool which incidentally is the longest one in the entire western coast of the island.

We appreciate your recommendation of the resort to fellow reviewers and we do hope that you and your family will be able to return back to Sri Lanka and to Jetwing Lagoon in the near future.

Sincerely,
Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Jetwing Lagoon Hotel is a unique and very special place. I am living in Sri Lanka for over 11 years and owner of Lords Restaurant Complex in Negombo situated on the beach side strip of negombo. I have traveled many places in Sri Lanka and nothing comes close to the special feeling and energy that this hotel has created.

It is peaceful, tranquil and touches your heart in a very special way immediately when you are embraced by the friendly team that works at this hotel and the unique design and architecture

The Hotel is set in large grounds surrounded by water with the lagoon one side and the deserted beaches on the other. You must go and watch the incredible sunsets that fall and light up the sky over the lagoon and sea. When walking on the beach you will see the locals going about their daily duties and fishing off the reef area.

I am living close by so come most days to use the Fitness Center, extremely large 100 meter swimming pool and other facilities the hotel offers. The Team Responsible for this area and water sports always help to encourage and make a fitness program for you too loose those extra pounds gained, especially when you taste their afternoon tea and yummy cakes overlooking the Lagoon with all the wonderful bird-life to capture your mind and heart.

An absolute MUST is the Speed Boat trip into the lagoon, I experience this every month several times. It relaxes your mind body and soul with beautiful scenery, protected mangroves with many species of bird-life, monkeys, and other wildlife. You can also visit the old British canal, the fishing harbor and go out into the sea. If you are celebrating a special occasion then they do a fabulous Champagne Boat trip with the sun setting and all the birds flying all around you looking to shelter for the night . Even if you are staying elsewhere I highly recommend coming for lunch and go out on the boat, I can guarantee that once you are touched by the magic of this place you will be booking your next holiday here.

Outside of the hotel you are surrounded by locals in a small village. There are no other bars and restaurants but that adds to the special charm of this place because of the peace and gentle rhythm of life. There are Tuk Tuks very close by so if you want the night life and to experience other restaurants (including Lords!!) it will only cost you no more than 10 dollars to go both ways into the lively nightlife of Negombo Beach Road Strip and then retreat back to this special place and recover the next day.

The buffet food selection is always excellent and varied. The Seafood is fresh from the lagoon and they often have evening barbecues. The Ala carte menu food is presented beautifully and sampled by me most days, although I feel there could be a more varied selection in different Cuisines especially in the vegetarian range.

So whether you are living here in Sri Lanka, and want a special place to visit or traveling to this beautiful island you will not be disappointed with this selection. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the unique bathroom design will make you want to spend most of your holiday in the loo or soaking in the tub!

I highly recommend this very special place that feels like my second home. A special thanks to the Jetwing Lagoon Team who look after me every day in such a special wonderful way.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms or Suites are a must and worth paying that little bit more. The Suites all overlook...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinSriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Mr Fullerton,

Greetings from the resort and thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of the services and facilities that you have experienced during your regular visits to Jetwing Lagoon. First of all and on behalf of my team, may I sincerely thank you for patronizing the resort so regularly.

We were delighted to learn that you have enjoyed every visit that you have made so far to Jetwing Lagoon. I have taken the liberty to read out your comment to my fellow associates and they were very pleased to hear your feedback. Thank you for admiring the architecture of the resort which, as you certainly know, was the first purpose built resort designed by the famous architect Geoffrey Bawa way back in 1965.

We do hope that you will continue to patronize Jetwing Lagoon to enjoy the peace and tranquility that the resort is gradually being renowned for. Looking forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Perfect place and good value for money. Good food , Water sports and unrestricted sea view (In the rooms we booked). The hotel has a large swimming pool. A very nice place to relax and spend the holiday. Would definitely recommend for anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center are silent, when compared to those ones near the beach which can be a little noi...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rankesh-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking the valued time to write a review of your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for commenting on the water sports that we offer at the lagoon and for admiring the swimming pool which is incidentally the longest in the entire Western Coast. We were also very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the food and we appreciate very much your thoughts on recommending the resort to fellow travellers who would like stay at Jetwing Lagoon.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is our second time in 2 months! We love the JW lagoon! It's such an amazing boutique hotel designed by Geoffrey Bawa! We have stayed with other JW hotels in Negombo, however this has certainly impressed us the most ! It's a great place to unwind after a 12hr flight from London or even relax before you head off to next destination after a short break! The pool is amazing being the longest 100m in Asia ! Fabulous views of the lagoon & away from hassel and bustle of main strip in Negombo. Staff are amazing from front office to house keeping and the restaurants! Food is really great! First time it was set menu which we preferred compared to Buffet recently. Breakfast was excellent! Cocktails were great so was the wine selection. We stayed in a Bawa room which is not the standard but worth every penny! The bathroom was another suite with its own garden and almost as big as the main suite it self! We will stay here anytime and its are favourite location after a flight or before a flight out of Katunayake airport.

Room Tip: We stayed at a Bawa room which is little bit more expensive than the standard rooms. The upgrade is...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review about your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us for the second time and thank you for such pleasing comments made on the resorts, the rooms and the architecture. We have noted your positive sentiments on the food and the service which you experienced during your stay. I have taken the liberty to pass on these compliments to the entire team, which was very pleased to hear such feedback.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Jetwing Lagoon and we very much look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were so happy to have chosen this hotel because it really exceeded our expectations! We've been to quite a few Jetwing hotels (including Vil Uyana) and we must say that overall this place surpassed the rest.
The atmosphere and location was therapeutic. The room was comfy cozy with nothing to nit pick on. You might want to bring your own laundry bags however, cuz the hotel doesn't provide them.
Food was the best we've had at any Jetwing hotel, however we felt the breakfast spread to not match up with the rest of the standards.

The massive 100 meter salt water pool was indeed the winner. So picturesque! The lounge beds by the pool was equally soothing! Tip: try chilling by the pool beds at around 11 pm, you can very well fall asleep there without needing your room!

The only con we were able to point out was the fact that in the Bawa garden rooms, the open bathroom was not noise proof! we could hear into the corresponding Bawa rooms bathrooms and that is a potential put off for couples! But if you really cant handle that, you could always opt for a suite to avoid that!

In a nutshell, amazing choice for a laid-back getaway! Excellent job Jetwing! Please keep up the standard here!

Room Tip: Bawa Garden Rooms are cozy, includes spacious bathroom, good view (either pond/pool).
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RukshilaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
4.8 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
517 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
486 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,832 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 43 in Negombo
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lagoon

Address: Pamunugama Road, Thalahena, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negombo
#1 Business Hotel in Negombo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#1 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: £78 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Lagoon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jetwing Lagoon, an architectural masterpiece designed by Geoffrey Bawa is an Ayurveda and Spa resort nestled beside the serene waters of the Negombo lagoon. The resort is gracefully decorated in hues of white and brown, featuring a glorious pool that boasts of being the longest in Sri Lanka’s west coast. Located between the Indian Ocean and the Negombo lagoon, Jetwing Lagoon offers a blend of rejuvenation and relaxation.Cuisine options include the Blue Lagoon restaurant and a unique restaurant called Geoffrey's Pavilion, offering Geoffrey Bawa's favourites. Further to the experience, Jetwing Lagoon’s deep respect and concern for the natural world is instilled through the many sustainable practices implemented at the resort to ensure minimum harm to the environment and community at large. Jetwing Lagoon is without doubt the finest spa resort by the Negombo Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Jetwing Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lagoon Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing