We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top pick during our honeymoon”
Review of Jetwing Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top pick during our honeymoon”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had the delight of staying at Jetwing Lagoon during our honeymoon week and this hotel became our most favorite hotel due to many reasons. Entering the hotel we were given the good news that we have been given a free upgrade to a room with the lagoon view and the staff were quite friendly.

When we booked online we just made a comment that it would be for a honeymoon couple and the hotel welcomed us with a cake inside the room and a decorated bed. The rooms were with ample space with the beautiful view of the lagoon specially in the night. The bathroom itself was quite spacious and the design had its own uniqueness. We loved the open bathroom concept too :)

The next best thing about the hotel is its large swimming pool which as we heard is 100 meters long and 15 meters in width. It was quite relaxing to have a dip in that picture perfect pool. Relaxing by the pool bed enjoying the light breeze was no doubt one of the must do things at the hotel.

While these factors make the hotel one of the best small luxury hotels, we think that there could have been some improvement in the breakfast menu and the spread. Food was upto standard however it didn’t exceed our expectations like it was at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Overall it was the best hotel we stayed during our honeymoon though it was the last we selected among six other hotels we visited. It was the last but the best and we took wonderful memories with us and we will definitely pay another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayalX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    327
    63
    22
    11
See reviews for
273
429
46
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

What a great 3 night stay we had. The entrance into the hotel is a sight to be seen, as you look in from reception you get a great view of the 100m pool. The room was incredibly spacious, and very clean. the hotel is powered by both solar and grid power, the first time the power swaps between the two it catches you out. That being said the swap over is very quick. We did the full board option, as we wanted to relax and weren't that interested into going into Negombo for dinner, although it's quite close by. The food was fantastic, and they had a varied menu for all meals, and unlike the Jetwing Lighthouse where we'd stayed earlier the lunch menu changed everyday. Being there over a weekend we experienced a lovely BBQ on the Saturday night, and a Sunday Dinner the following lunch time (both are very popular with the local community judging by the number of people attending). Again both meals had a fantastic selection of foods available. Finally the Staff at the hotel were great, they simply couldn't do enough for us, and make our stay truly fantastic, as I said to the assistant manager on departure "they will be seeing us there again soon". Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Limey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review following your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for admiring the architecture of the resort and the spacious rooms which incidentally were architected by Vinod Jayasinghe, a senior student of the world famous architect Geoffrey Bawa. We were also very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the variety of food served in the set menus and the weekend buffet.

Thank you as well for the compliments made on the service of our associates. I have taken the liberty to pass on these sentiments to the entire team which was very pleased to hear off your feedback.

It was indeed very nice to hear that you are planning on returning back to Jetwing Lagoon and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of having you back with us. Please feel free to contact me on my email address should you need any assistance in planning your next visit to the resort. wester@jetwinghotels.com.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend your holiday.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was a very relaxing and peaceful experience. An ideal location if you don't want to spend hours travelling as it is only an hour away from Colombo. The pool is one of a kind. The service was excellent and staff were well mannered and hospitable. The deluxe rooms were big and design was soothing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amilasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for our complements made on the service and hospitality of our associates. I have taken the liberty to pass on these sentiments to the entire team which was very pleased to hear off the feedback.
The swimming pool as a matter of fact is the longest straight pool in the entire west coast of Sri Lanka, and it has truly turned out to be one of the most popular features amongst many guests.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend your holiday and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the resort sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Jetwing Lagoon is another beautiful hotel in the Jetwing stable. Stayed there over the 2014 Vesak break and loved every minute in this beautifully located relaxing hotel. From the initial meet and greet at reception to settling the bill and leaving, everything was spot on.

Our request for a change to a Family suite overlooking the lagoon was not a problem and the comfort of this room and the stunning views made our three night stay one to remember.

Food was excellent, in particular the set menu and a la carte breakfast, although the buffets were also lovely, so hats off to F&B Manager Mr De Zoysa and his team.

GM Mr Felthman was also on hand, welcoming and hospitable without being overbearing, got the amount of attention just right (some can get it terribly wrong at times) so thanks for making our stay very pleasant.

Went for an hour on the boat one morning which was very safe, relaxing and interesting, worth a try if you have the time.

All staff were very courteous and attentive, and the Vesak lantern competition was very entertaining seeing the competitive spirit between all hotel functions.

Overall, cant fault this Jetwing Hotel, aswum setting, beautifully fitted and comfortable rooms, great food, friendly and attentive staff, everything you want from a five start hotel, so much so, we are planning our next visit already.

Room Tip: The views of the lagoon are definitely the best there are, so if possible get a lagoon view room, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewartR216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your kind words about the food and the service from our associates and it was a pleasure reading you enjoyed the Jetwing Hospitality. I have taken the liberty to pass on these compliments to the entire team which was very pleased to hear off the feedback. It was also pleasing to learn that you enjoyed our boat excursion and the Vesak Lantern competition which was held during the period of your stay at the resort.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend your holiday and we look forward to the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me should you need any assistance in planning your next visit to the country and I would be more than happy to assist you. My email address is as follows: wester@jetwinghotels.com.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The very first thing that hit me and my wife was that the entire welcome area was open! I researched a bit about Geoffrey Bawa (The most famous architect in Sri Lanka of yesteryear's and also the architect of Jetwing Lagoon) and he had a very simplistic and minimalist solution to everything he ever built (Colombo has a Paradise road Cafe and it served as his office before it become a Cafe...folks should check it out). Now back to the hotel, the family suite was breathtaking. If only they had taken down the wooden railings in the balcony we could have watched the lagoon from the lounge chairs. We tried everything they had. Water Skiing, 100 meter pool (twice the size of the Olympic pool), Spa and the food was brilliant. Mr. Wester (the GM of the property) thru to Nicola (our hostess & GRE) were at their hospitality best. Lewis place which is less than 5 miles from the property is a nice getaway for night life. My wife & I had a wonderful anniversary and would visit again when the time is right:-) Also special thanks to Mr. Jerome for helping us with the reservations & the arrangements. The Anniversary cakes, two day in a row was the icing on the cake...literally:-) thank you for a good time...Raj & Shwe

Room Tip: Definitely the suites...5 of them and they are equally good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajmano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We at the resort were delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for admiring the architecture of the resort and you might be pleased to know that the resort architecture was carried out by one of Geoffrey Bawas senior students named Vinod Jayasinghe.

The Jetwing Lagoon used to be one time called the Blue Lagoon and it was the first purpose built resort constructed in 1965 by the world famous architect Geoffrey Bawa . The resort was then restored in 2010 with some new features added but keeping in line with the original architecture.

Thank you as well for the compliments made on the food and the service provided by our associates. I have taken the liberty to pass on these sentiments to the entire team which was very pleased to hear off the feedback.

Thank you once again for choosing to spend your holiday at Jetwing Lagoon and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel has I think the longest swimming pool in sri lanka... rooms are big and the outdoor bathroom is lovely ( belongs to each room) . Breakfast was very nice served to the table by the waiter and nor bouffet style.Location is on a lagoon, outside and not close to the village center . (7 km) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liron078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this great hotel, flying in from Dubai. We instantly fell in love with the place ! It is very clean and the architecture & deco is simple & modern, yet cozy. The hotel management is very professional and this shows in all parts of the hotel. Room service is excellent, restaurant is very good (yet reasonable pricing), spa nice & relaxing (and clean), WIFI network works well and hotel offers good free-time services. We tried out the boat drive in the mangroves with a 4.30pm departure, just before the sunset. It was great - kids (7 & 11y) loved it too! There was also a day trip to the elephant orphanage. Its a 2h drive from the hotel, but a nice day trip, with a departure in the morning. We also appreciated the ecological side of this hotel. For example, the rooms don't have plastic bottles, but glass ones. There are solar panels and shower water is recycled for gardening. It is nice to stay in a hotel like this. We can warmly recommend this place from families to couples. It is calm and relaxing place, ideal for e.g. a long weekend break as its a 30min drive from the Colombo airport. Next time we will come back for a longer stay in Sri Lanka and combine a stay in this hotel with a trip to Candy tea plantations. Have a great stay in Sri Lanka - Its a green & lush country with friendly people ! Finnish-French Family living in Dubai, May 2014.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mijolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We were delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed the three nights stay at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for admiring the architecture of the property and the environmental friendly practices carried out out all the same.

It was pleasing to read that you may intend to visit Sri Lanka with your family soon, in which case i would be happy to assist you in the matter. My email address would be wester@jetwinghotels.com.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
4.8 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
473 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 42 in Negombo
1,407 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 42 in Negombo
1,771 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 42 in Negombo
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lagoon

Property: Jetwing Lagoon
Address: Pamunugama Road, Thalahena, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#1 Business Hotel in Negombo
#1 Family Hotel in Negombo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jetwing Lagoon, an architectural masterpiece designed by Geoffrey Bawa is an Ayurveda and Spa resort nestled beside the serene waters of the Negombo lagoon. The resort is gracefully decorated in hues of white and brown, featuring a glorious pool that boasts of being the longest in Sri Lanka’s west coast. Located between the Indian Ocean and the Negombo lagoon, Jetwing Lagoon offers a blend of rejuvenation and relaxation.Cuisine options include the Blue Lagoon restaurant and a unique restaurant called Geoffrey's Pavilion, offering Geoffrey Bawa's favourites. Further to the experience, Jetwing Lagoon’s deep respect and concern for the natural world is instilled through the many sustainable practices implemented at the resort to ensure minimum harm to the environment and community at large. Jetwing Lagoon is without doubt the finest spa resort by the Negombo Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lagoon Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing