We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near airport but nothing else”
Review of Jetwing Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Lagoon
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you have spent many hours by air getting to Sri lanka, I would recommend this hotel as your first stop to get acclimatised and over any jet lag. Also could be useful if concerned about getting to the international airport from central Colombo in peak hours traffic as within 20-30 minutes of airport and minimal likelihood of a traffic snarl getting there. As a location, there is nothing in walking distance with only one worthwhile attraction nearby by car being the Negombo Fish Market. Over 1 hour to downtown Colombo. I would not recommend swimming at the nearby beach which is unmanned by lifesavers and looked treacherous. As a hotel, you will however have a comfortable stay. Be ready for the biggest swimming pool you are likely to see in a hotel at 100m long, certainly the biggest in Sri Lanka. Has spacious rooms with all amenities and quiet A/C and ceiling fan. Bed very comfortable and cleaning is spotless. Shower, bath and toilet all outside so can get a bit humid. Clear glass between shower area and toilet a but quirky if need privacy but otherwise ok. Felt food selection in restaurants not as good as other places we stayed but OK. All staff very pleasant. Has good spa treatment. Occasional aircraft flying over but never in volume or too annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us and thank you for recommending the resort to fellow travelers. This is very much appreciated.

We were also pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and the hospitality of our associates. Thank you as well for the compliments made on the spa treatment. I have taken the liberty to pass on these sentiments to the associates at the resort.

We have taken note on the level of the selection of food which you felt could have been better and I have personally communicated your message to the Chef and his team to look into ways to bring some innovation to our selection.

Thank you for your thoughts as they are very important to us and provide not only a true barometer of our performance, but also give us guidance as we plan to serve you better in the future.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend your holiday and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Jetwing Lagoon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Situated 30 minutes from Colombo International and just 1750 Sri Lankan Rupees in a taxi (13.5 dollars or 8 pounds) if you use the official airport taxi company who are first on your right as you leave arrivals.

This is the ideal place if you want to quietly relax before or after a tour of beautiful Sri Lanka.
The staff are fantastic, very helpful and accommodating from the moment you arrive. The buffet has a wide and varied choice of food to choose from as well as made to order pastas and grilled meats.

We only had a short time in Negombo, which we thought we were going to spend just relaxing around the hotel, that is until we were rescued by Mark our guide who took us on a fantastic day out around Negombo and Colombo. We booked a 3-4 hour tour that turned into 7 hours of being shown around a lot of the main sights in and around Colombo, including the old Dutch and British quarters as well as some beautiful local Buddhist and Hindu temples, and nicely finished off with a beautiful seafood dinner. But.........he wasn't finished there!! We went on a private boat trip first thing the next day to the Dutch canal and the mangrove waterways, all before breakfast had started, but Mark called the hotel during our day trip to arrange a packed breakfast!!

All in all a great trip, a great stay at a beautiful hotel and an unforgettable tour thanks to our new friend Mark.

We will be back next year to tour Sri Lanka properly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaycee239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write about your pleasant experience following your stay at the resort.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your short holiday at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for the compliments made on the quality of food and the hospitality of our associates. I have taken the liberty to pass on these sentiments to the our associates who were very please to hear of the feedback. We were also very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your city tour with Mark, who is incidentally the leading chauffeur in our transport fleet. I have personally spoken with him and passed him your commendation.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon, and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman .
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Jetwing Lagoon is practical enough if you need to be near the airport, it is friendly and clean (as most places in Sri lanka) and the buffet is good,, but those are the only positives. The olympic size pool looks like a training pool for professional swimmers, the lagoon offers no views to speak of and the pleasant town is too far away to explore easily.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieSantpoort_Zuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

Before anything else, thank you for your compliments made on the cleanliness and hospitality of our associates and we were also pleased to read that you enjoyed the selection of food we have on offer.

The Jetwing Lagoon is located on a strip of land between the magnificent Negombo lagoon and the Indian ocean. The resort is known for its tranquility and calm atmosphere. However, it is located only 7 kilometrers away from the main Negombo strip where a wide choice of bars and restaurants can be found. In addition, at the resort itself, we have a wide range of water sporting activities on the lagoon water not to mention the SPA centre and the excursions of the mangroves available throughout the day.

We appreciate the views you have expressed in your review and we thank you for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend a part of your holiday in Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

..After a long and weary journey from Italy till Negombo, this hotel was like a vision. With the rooms settled all around the hugest swimming pool we have ever seen (100 meters long!), it is areally impressive place. Bedrooms are comfortable and big, but the special touch is the open air bathroom (obviously with all the privacy the customer need); the dining room location is amazing, under a big porch with the view on the lagoon, and the food is tasty.
We really enjoyed our staying!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pietro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your short stay at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for admiring the architectural design of the rooms and the semi open concept of the bathrooms.

You might be pleased to know that the the swimming pool is the longest in the entire west coast of Sri Lanka. Thank you as well for the compliments made on the food. I have taken the liberty to pass these sentiments to the chef and his team and they were very pleased to hear of the feedback.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A good place for a longer stay.
The rooms and surroundings of the hotel are designed with good taste. As a result, nothing interferes with relaxation. Service is at a high level. Breakfast buffet is diverse. Every choice is a corner diet, Sri Lankan, English breakfast, fruit corner, dessert corner with a large selection of croissants, muffins and pastries. I would recommend the pancakes with coconuts Treacle.

Negombo is advantageously situated with respect to most of the attractions of Sri Lanka. I would recommend day trips to Kandy, Colombo and the park Wilpattu a real safari. Best to ask at reception for driver Mark Miusioun that will show you the best places in Negombo and the whole of Sri Lanka with really fair prices.

The swimming pool is always a lot of space - it has a 100m long!
The swimming pool can be a great place to relax in peace. No loud music.
Service is always around to meet the wishes of guests.

Than you all Jetwing Lagoon Staff for unforgetable holidays!
Gihilla Inna!

Room Tip: best view at Lagoon
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kasia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for admiring the tranquility and the architectural design of the resort. You might be pleased to know that the swimming pool is the longest straight pool in the entire west coast of Sri Lanka and has become one of the most talked about feature of the resort in addition to its tranquility.

Thank you as well for your kind compliments made on the quality of the food and the hospitality of our associates. I have taken the liberty to pass these sentiments to the entire team which was very pleased to hear of the feedback.

Thank you once again for recommending the resort and for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend your holiday. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort sometime in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We only spent one night at Jetwing Lagoon after a very long flight. We absolutely loved it, and wished we could have stayed for longer. The rooms are just ridiculously big – it's about 6 metres to get from the shower to the basin in the bathroom. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and the rooms are well air conditioned. The buffet breakfast is also great – a wide selection of Sri Lankan and Western options, freshly cooked omelettes, and even someone to cut your fruit for you.

You can't go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Europa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your one night stay with us. Thank you for admiring the large spacious rooms and bathrooms and for your compliments made on the buffet breakfast. I have taken the liberty to pass on these sentiments to the entire food and beverage team who were very pleased to hear of the feedback.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This a fabulous hotel. The luxurious, spacious and comfortable rooms are well designed with a fantastic and huge 'outdoor' bathroom. The central 100 metre (warm) swimming pool is amazing. I loved the architecture of the whole place. (Clean lines, soft whites, spacious)

The impressive buffet for dinner, with so much choice, was absolutely delicious. (There is also an A la Carte menu). The fresh tempura cuttlefish prepared and cooked in front of you (one of many dishes) was to die for and there is a separate room for dessert with so many tarts, cakes and treats that it looked like a beautiful Parisian patisserie. The lovely lady who looked after us for dinner and breakfast was memorably so lovely and helpful as were all the staff. We left this hotel for the nearby airport after an awesome breakfast on a high note and considerably heavier !

I would have loved to have stayed longer and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank char918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon, and thank you for taking the time write about your experience following your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for such a pleasant comment on the resort. The architecture of the resort was done by Vinod Jayasinghe who is a senior student of the famous architect named Geoffrey Bawa, and the swimming pool is the longest straight pool in the entire west coast of Sri Lanka.

Thank you as well for the compliments made on the quality of food and the service you experienced during your stay. I have taken the liberty to pass on these compliments to the entire team which were very pleased to hear of the feedback.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend your holiday, and we very much look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future. please feel free to contact me on my email address which is wester@jetwinghotels.com should you need any assistance in planning your next visit to the island.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
4.8 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
513 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
476 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,827 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 43 in Negombo
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lagoon

Address: Pamunugama Road, Thalahena, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negombo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#1 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#1 Business Hotel in Negombo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: £82 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Lagoon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jetwing Lagoon, an architectural masterpiece designed by Geoffrey Bawa is an Ayurveda and Spa resort nestled beside the serene waters of the Negombo lagoon. The resort is gracefully decorated in hues of white and brown, featuring a glorious pool that boasts of being the longest in Sri Lanka’s west coast. Located between the Indian Ocean and the Negombo lagoon, Jetwing Lagoon offers a blend of rejuvenation and relaxation.Cuisine options include the Blue Lagoon restaurant and a unique restaurant called Geoffrey's Pavilion, offering Geoffrey Bawa's favourites. Further to the experience, Jetwing Lagoon’s deep respect and concern for the natural world is instilled through the many sustainable practices implemented at the resort to ensure minimum harm to the environment and community at large. Jetwing Lagoon is without doubt the finest spa resort by the Negombo Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Jetwing Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lagoon Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing