We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honey moon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jetwing Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Honey moon”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel resort, nice rooms, very calm erea, and a very good room service well cleaned by "Dinesh" who is a very nice guy , respectable with a high service experience, good hospitality , very big seimming pool

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We were pleased to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for admiring the serenity and the architectural design of the resort. Thank you for the compliments made on the cleanliness and hospitality of our associates and I will not miss to make a special mention to Dinesh for a service well delivered. Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon to spend your honeymoon and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Lagoon in the near future.

Best regards

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    316
    63
    22
    11
See reviews for
268
418
44
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalutara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at Jetwing Lagoon over the weekend expecting the same Jetwing high standards which we experienced at many other Jetwing hotels, but were totally surprised by what transpired over our short stay and Jetwing Lagoon became a hotel we will not set foot again.

First the good:

- The location: Nestled between the beach and the Negombo lagoon, the hotel is situated on an ideal location for relaxation and tranquility. The views and vistas across the lagoon with the occasional fishing boats are quite breathtaking
- The food: We found all three meals quite excellent even though it was not the biggest. The food was nice on the palate and the combinations available were good.
- The bathroom: Geoffery Bawa has done a superlative job in designing the bathrooms in an outdoor manner and the size and layout of the same was quite charming. It is a bit similar to what you get at Forest dwellings at Jetwing Vil Uyana but in a smaller scale.
- The size of the pool: It was quite big for a hotel of this nature and therefore it was never crowded. But, the pool setting was somewhat bland and lacked a bit of charm which some other pools have.

Now the bad:
- The attitude of the staff: Terrible to say the least and this alone ruined our whole weekend.

To start with our rooms (we had booked three double rooms) were not ready until 4PM even though the check in time was 2PM and we had informed the hotel the day before itself that we will be arriving by 2PM. When we were finally given one room to crowd into until the others were being made ready, to our great dismay we found out that what we have been given were twin bed rooms and not doubles. We promptly informed this matter to the front-desk and stated that we did not request twin beds and at no point was it brought to our attention that it was going to be such. The answer we got was simply ridiculous where they said that all deluxe rooms come with twin and not doubles. We were amazed because all the images in the Jetwing Lagoon website show double beds in deluxe rooms and no hotel we have been to or know of ever had a twin bed option only unless you asked for it.
We decided to take up the matter with the manager on duty and he listened to our problem and promised to look into it. After a while we got a call again from another person who spoke in a very rude and unprofessional manner and tried to put the blame on us for not accpeting what he could offer and he also was adamant that only twin beds were available. We were also told that no solution can be given since the hotel was overbooked; which was not clearly a fault of ours. Things got worse when another staff member arrived and challenged us to show the so called images on the website showing double beds which we promptly did and this person also left saying there is nothing to do.
By this time we were simply fed up and annoyed by how the issue has been handled and we decided to leave based on how the staff had treated us thus far, and called up the manager again to state that we wish to leave. This time he promptly came over and promised that something will be done very soon and as if by magic three rooms were available within 10 minutes with double bed configuration and one room was upgraded to a family room and offered a late check out which we generously accepted. It was quite clear that the staff (except the manager on duty) were simply lazy & didn't want to be bothered about guests requirements or satisfaction.
All in all we wasted more than an hour to settle this issue and some of the members who handled it were extremely unprofessional and downright rude. So if something similar happens please take it up with the manager as middle level staff will make you want to leave rather than stay.

- The level of service at the restaurant:
Even though the restaurant offered good food the overall service level was well below par. Some food items have run out well before the meal closing times and the staff attended to the services with glum faces and a general ignorant attitude. For example, we had to inform 4 different people just to get the fan above us to be turned on.

- There are rats in the room:
Room 109 which was given to us after the above fiasco has a resident rat who made the drawer his home and was even brave enough to come out and nibble on a banana as well as a packet of cream. Fortunately, we found it only in the morning and hopefully it did not nibble on us during the night. We did not want to make a scene again after what happened during the check in and left the rat for itself and informed the front desk during check out so they could take care of it before next guests if they want to.
So, if any of you future travelers receive the room 109, make sure to ask for a different room which hopefully do not have the same problem.


Overall we are greatly disappointed with how things panned out and it is unfortunate because the hotel itself is nice and if these teething problems can be sorted, it has the potential to become a truly superb one. But, until then we will not return or recommend the place to anyone else who expect a good service and a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'rat room' - Room 109 and make sure you get the room as you requested and not how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayathu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Lakshitha & Jayantha

The comments posted by you rocked Jetwing and left senior management petrified. We have no excuses to offer you and as you quite rightly stated it is a “rare black mark for Jetwing”. Even then it should not have happened.

We have shared your story with all our Hotels so that we will never be embarrassed again when it comes to customer service. There can be delays which sometimes happens due to factors unplanned for. Then a simple apology and a gentle request for additional time would have satisfied many of our guests. I am so sad it didn’t come from us during this time.

Both of you have recorded your experience accurately and I would like to thank you for that. You taught us a great lesson and we will never forget and are grateful for that. As I mentioned to you both in writing and over the phone, we will not leave a single stone unturned to win you back as our customers and serve you again.

As for rats and insects, even though I like to give assurances, I cannot, due to two reasons. In a tropical country such as ours, these creatures multiply fast. Secondly, we at Jetwing try to minimize the use of chemicals so they too have a better opportunity to live. We will certainly be more vigilant in future when it comes to hosting pests in our luxurious rooms.

Until we meet to serve you again and with a million apologies, I remain.

Ayubowan
Hiran Cooray
Chairman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katunayake, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a one of the best hotel I have stayed. Swimming pool is amazing.
Foods/meals taste excellent & delicious. had a chance to have a boat ride through the lagoon while seeing natural beauty of trees, birds singing, etc

Room Tip: Bawa Suit room is marvelous for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for your kind compliments made on the quality of the food. We were pleased to read that you had a pleasant boat ride on the lagoon and has the opportunity to experience the sights and sounds those tranquil waters have to offer.

Thank you once again for recommending the resort and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Jetwing Lagoon sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Bad
1) Delay in check-in - We booked three double rooms more than a week in advance. We were told to check in at 2 pm. But when we went there at around 3 pm we had to stay till 4.30pm till we get the third room. But thankful to the acting manager, they offered us a late check-out next day at four.

2) Got rooms different from what we booked - As mentioned we booked double rooms and we were given twin rooms. It was difficult as one of us had their 1 year old baby too.

3) The staff was unprofessional - When we inquired about it, the reception said all the other rooms are occupied and what they mean by double includes twin rooms too. But when we said that in the website they have shown double beds, then asked us to show the website too and we had to show them that. Then we we said "we are leaving and we want a full refund", and the lady said that they will have to check on that as well. Then we somehow managed to find the number of the Acting manager Mr. Sujeewa (Manager was out of the country) through our contacts. Then he came to our room, offered us three double rooms. (109,110 & 134). Why couldn't they do that before, which would have helped us have a nice stay.

4) Poor hygiene of the rooms - This was the least issue, as this could have been a genuine mistake compared to other issues of unprofessional nature. We found a rat in the room and it had eaten the banana's that the hotel offered as welcome gift (Room 109). We found the rat when we were about to check out and we didn't even want to complain about it knowing the response.

Good
1) The food was very tasty and offered a good variety.
2) The pool was very nice and had a lovely time in the pool. It was lit very nicely around the pool, during the night time.
3) The resort is partially supplied with sustainable energy with the solar power.
4) Though the hygiene was questionable the look and feel of the rooms was very good, except the fact that the rooms are not properly sound proofed.
5) Very close by to the airport and Colombo city.
6) You get free WiFi. Its open and you don't have to ask for passwords.
7) The buggy carts are very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms where the adjacent are vacant, if possible. The sound proofing of the rooms are not ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lakshithaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we are pleased to have been able to contact you over the phone to review the matter. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to explain what had happened and that it was an extremely rare occurrence. We thank you for your understanding.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are huge with very comfortable beds and lush pillows! I loved the ceiling fans which add a cool breeze on top of the excellent and quiet air con. The pool is fabulous. The staff are helpful and pleasant. It is a little out of Nogombo but we liked that as we could hop on a tuktuk and have an exciting ride into town whenever we fancied it. It's handy for Colombo and we hired drivers to take us exploring.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fio888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing lagoon and you appreciated the design of the rooms, and the comfortable bedding amenities. Your comment on the pool is well noted and you might be pleased to learn that it is the longest straight pool in the entire west coast of Sri Lanka.

Thank you once again for your thoughts and views of the resort and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Jetwing lagoon sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 4th to 7th August 2014. The hotel has beautiful architecture, is very well laid out, and well maintained with comfortable rooms and a great restaurant. The bathrooms were fantastic with an “outdoor” feel to it. The food was consistently good with one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever tasted. The best thing about the hotel was the staff. They were courteous, friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. A truly wonderful experience. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your short stay at Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for the compliments made on the food and the hospitality of our associates. We were also very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well as that you appreciated the tranquility and the architecture of the resort.

Thank you once again for all your pleasing words about the resort and I have taken the liberty to pass these compliments to the entire team which was very pleased to hear of the feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance .

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

As a traveler, you choose your own accommodation, don't let the others choose for you. Reviews are subjective to individual liking and only help you to make final decision. Whether you like it or not on the arrival day, during your stay, until your departure, it is your choice, not the hotel nor other travelers to be blamed. I have chosen this hotel because it is originated design by the late Bawa, great architect of Sri Lanka, not because of it's SLH brand, and the beauty of the property did not disappoint me at all. I admired the design, simple but tasteful. The architect gives you the huge space in the room, and I call this "luxury". Wash basins, water closet, shower and bath tub are carefully laid individually and separately from bedroom. It may be peculiar for some people because they do not have doors, and it seems that there is no privacy. You can reach the nature around you while having your routine activity, even when it rains, the rains drop into the bathroom naturally, the architect has prepared the floor for this and it does not make the room wet. Other facilities are more or less the same as others. Staff are pleasant and always wear smile, humble and ready to service. I have made a good and right choice of accommodation and hope to return with more days to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duangruedee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lagoon, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Jetwing Lagoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at the resort.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Lagoon. Thank you for admiring the architectural design of the rooms and the semi open concept of the bathrooms. Thank you as well for the compliments made on the associates of the hotel and I will not miss to share your feedback with all of them.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Lagoon and for recommending the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Lagoon in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Wester Felthman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 41 in Negombo
1,356 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
453 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 41 in Negombo
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 41 in Negombo
1,737 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
5.1 mi away
Dickman Resort
Dickman Resort
#2 of 41 in Negombo
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lagoon

Property: Jetwing Lagoon
Address: Pamunugama Road, Thalahena, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negombo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#1 Business Hotel in Negombo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#1 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jetwing Lagoon, an architectural masterpiece designed by Geoffrey Bawa is an Ayurveda and Spa resort nestled beside the serene waters of the Negombo lagoon. The resort is gracefully decorated in hues of white and brown, featuring a glorious pool that boasts of being the longest in Sri Lanka’s west coast. Located between the Indian Ocean and the Negombo lagoon, Jetwing Lagoon offers a blend of rejuvenation and relaxation.Cuisine options include the Blue Lagoon restaurant and a unique restaurant called Geoffrey's Pavilion, offering Geoffrey Bawa's favourites. Further to the experience, Jetwing Lagoon’s deep respect and concern for the natural world is instilled through the many sustainable practices implemented at the resort to ensure minimum harm to the environment and community at large. Jetwing Lagoon is without doubt the finest spa resort by the Negombo Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lagoon Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing