We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A fresh breeze for the soul”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Barbara & Private Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Barbara & Private Swimming Pool
Villa Barbara Private Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
24 reviews
Villa Barbara & Private Swimming Pool
Villa Barbara
Private Swimming Pool
Full moon Day
Swimming Pool
Drive into the villa
Balcony overlooking the lagoon
Villa Barbara Boat
Ready For Fishing
Back Garden
Large Kitchen
Place to Relax
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom ensuite
2nd Bedrom
Main Bathroom
3rd Bedroom
Main Reception
Main Reception
Dining Room
Ground Floor Bathroom
Cabana on the Lagoon
View of the lagoon and cabana
UK Family golden jubilee organised by villa owner
Ready to go Fishing
View From Lagoon
View from Lagoon
Our Boat
Front Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Negombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Afton, Virginia
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The breeze and ambiance
Liked least: A bit hard to find the entrance from the road
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senevirat...
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Barbara is a nice big house and was well suited for a family holiday; we were 6 adults and 5 children and there was plenty of space for all of us; it is clean and comfortable; there are several balconies, a terrasse, a lovely gazebo by the lagoon and even a hammock, all places where to sit and relax and the children enjoyed playing in the gardens. It is very private and secluded with great views - a nice change from the hustle and bustle of Negombo itself. Pathum, the house manager, is very helpful and efficient and responded to all our needs very quickly; he organised little boat trips on the lagoon and tuk tuk rides for the children. Meals were delicious and varied, and we particularly enjoyed the typical sri lankan breakfasts - toasts and marmelade come a poor second now!
We also made use of the nearby Jetwing Hotel's sea-water swimming pool: it is a fantastic pool but a little pricey if you just want a quick swim

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roger P
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury and Service from Upul and Patham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in December with my wife and two teenage children. We were looked after from the moment we stepped off the plane as the pick up was trouble free. We then had a short drive to Villa Barbara through Negombo which we all found exciting after being on the plane so long.
Negombo is incredibly vibrant and lively but then as we passed over the lagoon bridges, there was an instant change to a more peaceful pace and we drove down the short distance to the Villa weaving past cows in the road and people walking.
We were welcomed with fresh cool watermelon juice and a coconut drink by the owner Upul who is a lovely guy. He introduced us to Patham the house manager who was then available for any questions or any Tuk-Tuk journeys. Patham was an absolute pleasure. His smiling attitude was superb and he was available without ever being intrusive. On one evening Patham's wife and mum came and cooked us some Sri Lankan dishes which were superb.
The house is all you expect, finished to a high standard with loads of bathrooms and space and the garden is spacious and well tended by 'Uncle'. What I particularly liked was that once through the gate there was a fantastic feeling of privacy. On either side there is light woodland changing to mangrove as it gets to the waters edge so there are no immediate neighbours except a happy pig on one side that snuffled around among the trees!
At the water edge there is a small cabana with electricity which was nice just to sit and look out over the lagoon.
We used the house as a base to do day trips such as a drive to Kandy and the Elephant Sanctuary. We also had a few days further south where the beaches were better for surfing but Negombo has a large beach just to the north side of the town. I wouldn't swim in the sea near the Villa as there is a rock shelf but it is beautiful to walk along just to see the crashing waves and views to Colombo in the far distance to the south.
Shopping wise, there is plenty of choice with busy a market selling all fresh produce and of course the fish market where the fish is literally coming off the little boats just before you buy it - well worth a visit. There was also a very well stocked air-conditioned European style supermarket called 'Arpico' with anything you might need.
There is a beautiful luxury pool just a few hundred yards from the villa at 'Jetwing' which we used for a nominal fee.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting, friendly service
Liked least: Beaches not great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrish190...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodation with superb local staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed in Villa Barbara for three superb weeks that just went so quickly and none of us wanted to go home! The villa is spacious and well appointed, a major plus is the excellent WiFi connection to stay in touch whilst there. Pathum the manager was fantastic, it is true to say that nothing is too much trouble, he really looked after our every need willingly. Highlights? so many including watching the fishermen on the lagoon, the boat trip and the Tuk Tuk rides into Negombo. The villa location is ideal for exploring other parts of Sri Lanka. Most lasting memory was the out of this world traditional Sri Lankan meal prepared by Pathum's wife and the owners Auntie, it really was superb.
Thank you for making such a memorable experience. We would love to visit again and stay here.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the location and ambience
Liked least: occasional power cuts
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieJou...
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa Barbara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I have recently stayed at this residence with my girlfriend, mother and sister. From the minute we arrived, we were blown away by the natural beauty of the grounds that the villa is situated on and also the lagoon which the property backs on to.

Pathum (property manager) and "Uncle" (groundskeeper) were always on hand to ensure our stay was as carefree as possible. These two gentlemen ensured that everything that we required and every service we asked for was met. Nothing we asked for was too hard or too inconvenient for them to undertake.

The bonus for our stay was a spectacular 3 hour boat ride along the lagoon and surrounding mangroves, which the owner, Upul Gomes, organised for us. It really allowed us to witness the local fisherman at work and also to take in the gorgeous vistas looking towards the mainland that we otherwise would have missed.

Leaving the property for the next part of our journey was quite difficult as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Barbara - Pathum, "Uncle", the food, the people, the property and the landscape are all things that we will sorely miss.

We will definitely be returning to this property again in the not too distant future.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The entire beauty of what the villa offers - people, views, property and food
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V
Canton of Schwyz, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Das ganze Haus inkl. Personal für uns
Liked least: Moskito
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing