We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!”
Review of Jetwing Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jetwing Beach
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at Jetwing Beach for a long weekend in November 2013. Overall, we had a wonderful experience. A representative from the hotel greeted us at the airport and promptly led us to our pre-arranged airport transfer. After a 20 minute drive we breezed through a quick check-in. Our room had a spectacular view of the pool, palm trees, and the ocean and we were able to enjoy the view from our private patio. The furniture was a tad worn, but the size and layout of the room and the general vibe of the hotel more than made up for that fact.

There is ample seating on the beach and plenty of sun or shade--whatever your preference. A hint when it comes to choosing your outdoor seating: there are 5-10 regulars selling sarongs and other beach trinkets along Jetwing's beach--if you would like to minimize your contact with them (they're actually quite nice and not very pushy), choose a seat closer to the hotel building. The beach itself is clean and pleasant for a short stroll.

Both the breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent and the food service staff were quite friendly. We opted for the Bed & Breakfast package and had no regrets. There are many options for lunch or dinner outside the hotel and both Jetwing beachfront dining venues offer a nice variety of lighter meals and plenty of drinks.

If you enjoy shopping, there are many souvenir and gem stores along the street outside the hotel. Bargaining is welcome.

Thanks for a great weekend, Jetwing Beach. We hope to return some day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo, Sri Lanka.

It was a pleasure to learn that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the varied meals in all the outlets, the surrounding area as well as the facilities we have on offer.

Your feedback on some areas which you mentioned would need attention, is of immense value to us and has been taken positively on board for rectification. Thank you for that.

We have shared your compliments with the entire team and it was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach for another memorable holiday. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.


Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    642
    191
    53
    28
See reviews for
453
882
81
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kiryat atta, israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

we stayed for one night at this hotel when we arrived to Sri Lanka, and i wish i would stay there more nights. the location is very good by the lagoon, and not far from the airport, the rooms are big and well orgenized, we had a pool view and what a pool! ac in room was great, wifi signal was free fast and strong, Breakfast was delicious and varied, And dinner was delicious too, the service was quick and efficient, I will recommend all my friends to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed with my wife on our last day in Negombo, checked in 4thDec - check out 5thDec.
Location wise is much better than Lagoon, you can enjoy other food outlets and shops not very far from the hotel. Rooms are big and comfortable. We stayed at 304 facing the swimming pool.
Friendly staff, and my special thanks to Ravinda, made possible on our last minute request to book this hotel. Wide choices during breakfast, huge sitting area. Staff are friendly. The view of the beach under cloudy skies was amazing. I could not find "Do Not disturb" to keep outside my door. Next morning staff knocked only once and wanted to open the door, luckily I closed from inside as we both still asleep comfortably. Later I find out that outside the door, the place you see your room number - you just slide kind of wooden cover toward the number and "Do not Disturb" sign appear. I suggest guests should be informed in advance about this.
In short, it is clean, have fast service, comfortable room and excellent Spa.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are facing the sea, but you can ask to make sure. Higher rooms are better, unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Points2deliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Our focus and attention in Jetwing hotels is to provide efficient, friendly and excellent service to all our guests and we were pleased to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us and that you were overall pleased with the services provided by our team especially Ravinda at the front office.

We have shared your compliments with the entire team and they are equally happy to know that you had an amazing holiday with us.

We have noted your comment on the Do Not Disturb sign and thank you for pointing out that indeed it should be part of the information we give to guest upon arrival.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach for another amazing holiday with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.


Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. We had a lovely room overlooking the ocean, and the ambiance and the sense of the ' beach' was very much felt. The decor was well thought through, the pool was lovely, the staff were excellent. The manager was also very nice and took the time to engage with us personally and was so helpful to us. We loved our stay here, and we would return with our family the next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were overall please with the services provided by our team. We noted as well with pleasure that you appreciated the overall design and décor of the property and the an eye-catching view of the India ocean.

We greatly appreciate your compliments and have shared them with the entire team. Once again thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach for another memorable holiday with your family. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.


Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here in November to recover from the trip from UK before setting off into the interior for a volunteer holiday in very basic accommodation. The Geoffrey Bawa designed building is a delight with large airy reception, huge comfortable well equipped room with shaded balcony overlooking the sea and giant bath. The pool is nicely landscaped and a decent size, while the outside bar is shady and tranquil (excepting the squawking crows, an inevitability in these parts that you soon get used to).
Service was excellent, with a prearranged taxi from the airport and again the next morning (at 5am!) to get me to Colombo Fort for 6am for the start of my trek. Now the expressway is open this is a max 1 hour ride including traffic at the Colombo end, but I did have to remind the driver to use it as it's not in their DNA yet!
As always in Sri Lanka, the light bulbs are rather dim (albeit eco-friendly, which is a theme of the hotel) and there's a slightly damp air to everything. Also the air con is noisy but as it runs automatically when you're not in the room, you can easily have it off when you are and not suffer.

Room Tip: Room 322 overlooks the bar and the sea, and is far enough away from the pool to avoid kiddie-shoutin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_Tessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to know that you are a fan of late Geoffrey Bawa and were fascinated with the architecture of the hotel as well as pleased with the service extended by our team.

The new highway between the Bandaranayake International Airport and Colombo is a convenient journey to the southern coastal area and in a few years time it will be extended to the northern coastal area and to the central hills as well, which will make the journey in the island a very pleasant one.

Please be assured that we take all our guest comments and feedback to be of extreme importance to us as it helps us to continuously understand the level of our guest satisfaction as well as to constantly monitor and measure our service and standards.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your compliments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach for another memorable holiday, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Jetwing Beach is the sister hotel to Jetwing Blue in Negombo (see my separate review). Jetwing is a hotel chain and has several establishments in the local area and elsewhere in Sri Lanka

Location & Access:
About 20 minutes from Colombo airport the hotel is on the beach road outside of the main town of Negombo. Private airport transfers cost in the region of £15 to £25 each way. A tuk tuk into Negombo is £4.50 return. The hotel has direct beach access. Off street car parking is available. There is a daily train service between Negombo town and Colombo For visitors on a package deal consider hiring a local driver and guide (£70 a day) rather than taking the organised tours.

Google Earth: It is not possible to see the hotel on Google Earth Street View

Architectural style: Modern low rise with just over 100 bedrooms overlooking the pool/beach

Reception and Public Areas: All are light and airy with modern decor. Everything is fresh and clean. A glass walled air conditioned restaurant with sea/beach views is a nice feature. A choice of 2 large swimming pools and clean beach. Note due to strong tides, sea swimming is not recommended. The public beaches outside the complex are very popular with locals especially at weekends – expect some hassle from hawkers and lots of litter and rubbish. There are some local shops for groceries and basic provisions as well as several gift stores and jewellers selling some good quality crafts. Nightlife and (very little) organised entertainment is limited to a few bars in the local area

Food & Drink: The restaurant is excellent and noted to be one of the best in the area. Staff are incredibly helpful. There is normally a self-service buffet offering an enormous choice or a la carte menu offering international cuisine. The menu is inexpensive in comparison to UK prices. Drink prices are average for the area. There are also a number of restaurants within walking distance offering European, international and Asian cuisine.

General Advice: The advertised room rates are expensive for Sri Lanka – anything from £125 per night for a single room. If not staying at the hotel pay 1000 LKR for a day ticket to use the swimming pool and beach

Summary:
The hotel is bright and modern. The staff are excellent and go the extra mile to ensure that guests are well looked after. It is an ideal location for anyone arriving or leaving from Colombo airport and is a good base from which to explore this part of Sri Lanka

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterh125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a constructive review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Beach.

We were delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and were extremely pleased with the service of our associates, the varied cuisines on offer and the convenient location of the hotel. We were also glad that you were able to experience most of our F&B outlets and found them to be very good. Your kind comments are truly appreciated and it was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest.

Our prime focus in Jetwing hotels is to provide efficient, warm and friendly service to all our guests and we were pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations in those areas.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your compliments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach for another memorable holiday and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here as a start to our Sri Lanka trip. The room was luxurious, pool great and views amazing. Was a lovely start to our trip. It was a shame we didn't have much time here, but I would recommend and would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 42 in Negombo
1,407 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 42 in Negombo
1,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#10 of 42 in Negombo
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Beach

Property: Jetwing Beach
Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#2 Family Hotel in Negombo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#3 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rhythmic sounds of the sea, Jetwing Beach lies near the golden sands of the resort town of Negombo, basking in the glorious tropical sunshine of this island paradise. Incorporating a unique blend of space and style in its design, this inimitably charming hotel is ideal for a fun family holiday or an intimate couples retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Beach Negombo
Jetwing Beach Hotel Negombo
The Beach Negombo
Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Beach Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Beach Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing