We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,058)
Filter reviews
2,057 results
Traveller rating
968
758
232
68
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
968
758
232
68
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral restaurant the fine dining restaurant sri lanka a la carte restaurant huge bath lovely hotel our honeymoon main restaurant palm trees elephant orphanage walk in shower sister hotel stray dogs lords restaurant the ground floor rooms are large long flight
Filter
Updating list...
907 - 912 of 2,057 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My title of this review sounds harsh but we stayed at Jetwing beach for four nights following a 10-night stay at an amazing hotel (Saman Villas) in Bentota and we were constantly comparing the two, which probably wasn't very fair as they are completely different.

Although I have no major complaints about this hotel, we found that the pool attendants and pool bar staff didn't come across as friendly or helpful as the staff in the restaurant, spa and housekeeping. The setting is 'nice' - although the beach isn't the cleanest or prettiest and the birds are a pain. The pool is good for swimming some lengths. Also, the people trying to sell things to you constantly were very annoying and quite often would pounce the minute you stepped on the sand.

Our pool-view room was big enough and clean and we received fruit and sparkling wine, as well as a massage and free candle-lit dinner as part of our honeymoon package. The food at the meal was in the fine dining restaurant and it was lovely. I must say that the food in the main didn't blow me away and was quite average, as was the pool bar menu.

The location to the airport is definitely a plus point and one of the reasons we decided to stay there before we went home so that we weren't driving for hours before getting on an 11-hour flight. We went for a walk outside the hotel, but it was quite due to the time of year we were there.

We booked extra spa treatments including a facial, massage and a manicure - and while the treatments were good, the manicure was not the best and I ended up taking off the polish the next the day :-/ The therapist was lovely though...

Oh - and they had a cocktail and canapé event in the reception one night and invited guests to meet management etc - this was a nice touch.

I don't mean for the review to seem bad, because the hotel is of a good standard but we were split rotten at the previous hotel, which we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Pool view room had a big bath tub and big walk-in shower. The beds are massive too. You could see the beach and sea too.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollieLovesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were enchanted to know that you had chosen to stay with us to celebrate your honeymoon and it was nice to note that you were pleased with the service and product available at the hotel.
We appreciate your genuine feedback as it will help us improving our service standards and remedy to some of our shortfalls. Thank you for letting us know the areas which need attention.
Please note that the beach is not a private beach and we cannot restrict anyone entering the beach area. However we confirm that we frequently meet up with the beach vendors to address this particular issue and that the matter has our full attention.

It would be our pleasure having you back with us for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

It was a quick ride from the airport, great stay overnight, the breakfast was very variable and had something for everyone. The beach and pool were great and the water was clean.
A negative thing about this stay was the staff kept on coming into our room and would just open the door with their keys. Which was horrible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo, Sri Lanka.

We were impressed to know that you enjoyed the overall experience and were pleased especially with breakfast spread at the buffet.

We would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you with the housekeeping which was a unintentional and apologize for the incident concerned. Be assured that your feedback have been shared with the executive housekeeper for immediate corrective actions and thank you for brining this rare incident to our attention.

Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach, please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The location of this hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport. It's situated on the overlooking Negombo beach. This was ideal as our flight arrived at 2.00am. The rooms were quite spacious and the beds very comfortable. The beach was only a very short walk perhaps 2 minutes. The breakfast was plentiful and beautifully presented. I enjoyed the egg hopper. In hindsight should have stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a beachfront room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thommo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Beach Negombo in Sri Lanka.

We were extremely delighted to read that you and you’ll had an amazing stay with us, and were pleased with the room, comfy beds and the breakfast spread, we will not miss to share your compliments with the entre team especially the Chef and his brigade.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your compliments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach for a longer period and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is extremely close to the beach and the location could not be any better! This is where i spent most of the free time i had.

The service was very warm and attentive and check-in and checkout was smooth.

The rooms are nice and large a mine had balcony overlooking the beach. Its a spectacular sight especially during sunset. However i did not find a full length mirror in my room which is very strange.

The buffet breakfast is quite nice. However on the last evening I ordered a salad a la carte and the croutons and bread were stale and it was mostly only lettuce. This was the only downside on an otherwise stellar stay.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niketa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Beach Negombo in Sri Lanka.

We were pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us and our team really looked after you with personalized service from the moment you arrived and throughout your entire stay.

It is a pleasure to know that you were pleased with the view of the Indian ocean and breakfast spread and all your feedback is greatly appreciated.

However please do apologies for the quality of food consumed from the A’la carte, I have personally communicated this to the Executive Chef and rest assured for investigation and improvement

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your compliments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach for a longer period and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel and returned after 3 years for a one night stay with my son ad mum...the suite was fabulous... The toilet is bigger than most deluxe rooms ad the open air shower is a unique experience... Our butler
Sanjeeva was lovely ad looked after us very well....we had a very relaxed stay and will definitely return....a few suggestions to further improve the experience....the service in the main restaurant sands was super efficient but rather mechanical .....the set meal on offer for dinner was limited in choice ad our meal was ok but not fabulous.... Suggest a better option is to offer the guests the choice of just ordering from the a la carte menu...the pool attendant needs to be more attentive ad the service from the pool side restaurant positively bad....front office staff excellent.

Stayed: May 2557
Thank Arunikaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Beach Negombo in Sri Lanka.

It was great to note that you and your family are regular guests at our hotel and thank you for returning and spending your vacation with us. We were enchanted to read that you’ll had once again enjoyed your stay with us and we will not forget to share your feedback with the entire team specially the butler Sujeewa for taking good care o f you.

We greatly appreciate all your kind comments and thank you for mentioning the areas that need attention as we do depend on guest feedback as it helps us to improve the service standards and remedy to some of our shortfalls.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your compliments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews