We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Negambo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jetwing Beach
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Negambo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Sri Lankan buffet is great. Jetwing is one of the top hotel brands in Sri Lanka. We always stay a couple night whenever we visit my wife's family in Sri Lanka. Rooms were good and the beach views were great. We were there in August though and the sea was to rough for swimming.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we were delighted to note that you have rated Jetwing hotels as one of the best in Sri Lanka. Your loyalty to Jetwing Hotels is truly and sincerely appreciated.

We were most delighted that you did enjoy your vacation with us and thank you for recommending us to fellow Trip Advisors reviewers.

It would be our pleasure having you back with us for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    621
    185
    51
    27
See reviews for
442
852
78
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. Check in was smooth with a nice welcome drink and cold towel, we were shown to our room number 302 which had a lovely view of the sea and pool. There are many great points to this hotel and a few not so great....

Big room, massive comfy bed and great pillows...had a good nights sleep here.

Good choice of TV channels,well stocked mini bar and bathroom toiletaries, bath robes, slippers etc.

Great buffet on the Friday, the choice was fantastic and high quality. Breakfast also had very good choices for all nationalities with fresh preparation stations so you know your food is cooked to order and healthy options, pastries, hot food, fruit, cereals etc.

Location right on the beach and in a good spot for walking into Negombo for some local food and nightlife.

Now for the not so great....

Wifi was pretty much none existent in the room over the 3 days, only the balcony seemed to get reception and this is patchy.

Limited and no hot water on all 3 days, after informing maintenance about this on the first day they asked us to wait an hour as they had just done some repairs to the boiler, after 2 hours and still Luke warm water I rang again and was told it was a wood burner so the water takes time to heat up anyway, after 3 hours there was hot water. Same story the 2 days. On the third day I complained again as I couldn't face another cold shower.

Sunday evening half board meal was set menu, there was not enough staff to cope with the number of guests and we waited a long time to order, We ordered the local rice and curry and this was truly awful, the chicken was fried so was like chewing rubber and then mixed in a sauce, curries tasteless and bland, not at all like a great Sri Lankan curry. Really shocked by this as the buffet on the first night was superb

On one night we ate at the fine dining restaurant Black Coral...the service is excellent, if not a bit over the top, the starter was delicious but unfortunately the steak was really tough. For the price they charge the steaks need to be perfect here.

Spa again this was lovely but throughout the whole massage I could hear people talking outside and kids screaming in the pool...hardly a relaxing hour, I had or ask half way through for them to put some music on, the girl left the room, came back 5 mins later and no music.

Overall Jetwing Beach has a lot to offer and they just need to pay attention to small details to make this a truly great hotel. I will stay again but hope they can improve.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kay009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

We take our commitment to guest satisfaction very seriously and we were glad to read that you were overall pleased with the room we allocated for you, the location of the hotel as well as the food on offer not forgetting the warm welcome you received on arrival

Thank you for pointing out the areas that need attention and we were really sorry to note that you had experience some shortfalls which led to disappointment and inconveniences. Please be rest assured that all of your comments are extremely valuable to us and have our full attention. Thank you for bringing up those matters to my attention.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Negombo and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile


We love this place so much.First off its one of the best ocean-front locations in Negambo. The room is very clean and updated with great view of the Indian Ocean.The bed was very comfortable. They also had a large comfy chairs ,work desk w/ a comfy office chair. A large TV and a mini-fridge also. Pool is spacious and could order any drinks to the pool deck itself. Staff is wonderful and ready to help.
This beach has it's name to be one of the best beaches in Sri Lanka and we can say "yes"

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nukiashly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay in May 2014 at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka. We were enchanted to note that you were pleased with the product and the personalize service rendered by our team.

Your word of appreciation will not only motivate our associates but it will also inspire them to continue providing to deliver the best of services to our valued customers

It would be our pleasure having you back with us for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing experience, this hotel made our Sri Lanka trip worth it, Sri Lanka was our second location for honeymoon as we went to Dubai first and they were very different, staying at this hotel was a treat and the staff were out of this world, of your coming to Sri Lanka I would def reccomend to look no further than the jetwing hotel group, they are one of the best in Sri Lanka and have more than 5 different locations and styles of hotels,
Food was fresh and misquotes were a problem but our own butler, yes our own butler as we had the best room this was a optional offer for us, he gave us big spray and looked after us like family, he also everyday put little gifts in our room to make our stay special as it was our honeymoon,
Jetwing you deserve the 5 stars so well done
Keep up the good work and if I come Sri Lanka I will come and stay with yous
Oh yeh and the pool was amazing also, clean fresh and well maintained,

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Undercover786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us in October 2013 at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were so thrilled to read that you both enjoyed your holiday with us on the occasion of the celebration of a very special occasion. We are glad that you were extremely pleased with the product and services of our associates as well as the Jetwing group in general.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team specially the butler who made you feel at home away from home.

We were pleased to note that you had a memorable holiday and wedding ceremony and that you plan to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us. We look forward to having you back with us and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any ways in planning your next visit to Jetwing Beach.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Clean and quite pretty hotel (for negombo...), with big rooms. Convenient and nice stop after a long haul flight, but not an incredible night either: the beach is not amazing, the hotel a bit noisy (eg steps in the corridor) and there are not a lot of reasons to stay long in this area. Excellent service and helpful with children (free comfortable cots, toddlers/kids room and babysitting....)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

It was a pleasure to note that you and your family were impressed with the convenient location, the room and the service of the entire team as well as the personalized service at the child care

It would be our pleasure having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel by taxi and were met at the door and welcomed. The reception was spacious but in need of some repair (which began during our stay as there were parts of ceiling beams crumbling). The staff greeted us and offered iced tea or a local fruit drink and a cold towel while we were being registered.
We were then walked to our room, 317, which was spacious and had a good view of the ocean from the balcony. All the furniture was solid wood and the bed was large and very comfortable. The room was clean and well maintained although i would not describe the decor as stylish. The bathroom had windows all around it but thankfully it did have blinds you could take down for privacy. There were plenty toiletries in the stone jars. The rain shower worked well and there was plenty hot water for a bath too. Tv channels were limited but free wifi in rooms and public areas. There was no mosquito net but to be honest there appeared to be less issue here than other areas we visited. We even had a towel animal greet us on return from dinner and another night we were greeted by the gorgeous smell of jasmine flowers, which were placed over the bed when they did the turn down while we were at dinner.
We stayed in room 105 and 106 on another night at the end of our trip, which was adjacent to the pool and had a door opening on to the terrace but had the exact same layout. This gave good access to the pool and other recreational facilities and would suit families. Less privacy due to style of blinds. You need to decide if you want daylight or privacy. Tilting blinds would be better for these rooms.
There was a choice of pool and also dining options. The spa was good too fitting us in last minute.
The main restaurant tended to offer buffet style dining but if you prefer they have an a la carte menu. we ate at the Black Coral twice over the four nights we stayed. It was excellent, service was impeccable. The staff in the main restaurant were also very eager to help. We also ate at the beach bar of the Jetwing Blue, adjacent to the Jetwing Beach one lunch time and it was fine too. Like everywhere else in Sri Lanka we felt that tipping was always on the mind of the server but maybe that's what kept the service levels up.
We didn't venture far from the hotel as it was at the beginning and end of a busy week touring but when we did the locals were very friendly towards us. I did not like the vendors approaching us on the beach; they were persistent but not aggressive and they are only trying to make a living. Definitely did not like the snake charmer coming past the loungers with a monkey on a leash in addition to his snake.
Plenty tuk tuks nearby if you want to use them for a short trip, some of them offering ideas of where they would take you. All in all a very relaxing and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor may suit families so you have easy access to room when sitting out. 317 had good view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were impressed to note that you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us and that you were particularly pleased with the personalized service rendered by our associates and thank you for letting us know the areas which need attention as it will help us to improve the standards where applicable.

It would be great having you back with us and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we stayed only for one night in this resort. We had a suite on the top floor, very spacious and nice, with a big outdoor tub and shower. The butler was friendly and did an excellent job. We had dinner at the Black Coral restaurant (we skipped the buffet restaurant) which was very nice as well. Great food and friendly staff, although a bit slow to my mind. Would Definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OandO-AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Beach, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Beach in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were pleased to note that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your kind words of our product and service, especially the personalized service of our Butler. We have shared your appreciation with the entire team to keep them inspired in performing their duties to the utmost.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Beach

Property: Jetwing Beach
Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Negombo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#2 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rhythmic sounds of the sea, Jetwing Beach lies near the golden sands of the resort town of Negombo, basking in the glorious tropical sunshine of this island paradise. Incorporating a unique blend of space and style in its design, this inimitably charming hotel is ideal for a fun family holiday or an intimate couples retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jetwing Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Beach Negombo
Jetwing Beach Hotel Negombo
The Beach Negombo
Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Beach Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Beach Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing