We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last night stay”
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Blue
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Last night stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Having started a tour from Negombo and staying in Jetwing beach then last couple of nights Due to availability and us changing our itinerary we spent the last night in Jetwing Blue.
Very disappointed.
The previous night we were in Jetwing beach so had expected much the same as beach and sea, no. Room no where near as nice, and there should be some attention to detail , such as the bathroom and cleaning around the floor areas.
The dining area was more like a cafe. No atmosphere. Bar area awful.we arranged to go to the a la carte restaurant at Jetwing beach and pay at Jetwing sea. General amaner Hyacinth Jardenwarra , sorry if this is badly spelt, was brilliant and arranged this.
Would not stay again and would not recommend, in addition the service was poor compared to Jetwing beach and sea.
It is a shame as Jetwing are superb at delivering great service. We booked our entire holiday direct with Jetwing so this was a let down.

Room Tip: Stay at Jetwing sea or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for having given you cause to express your disappointment following your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing these shortfalls to our attention and we would like to assure you that necessary rectification and action will be taken to avoid similar happenings in the future.

However we were pleased to know that you were satisfied with our sister hotels Jetwing Beach and Jetwing Sea, and we hope this will not deter you from your future travel plans to Negombo.

Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next stay to Jetwing hotels.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    570
    191
    84
    42
See reviews for
343
562
77
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent our last night in Sri Lanka at Jetwing Blue Negombo. It was very disappointing. The room had two very small single beds. The bathroom was stained and had a glass door that could not be left open. The bathroom became a sauna in no time. There were no hand towels. There was no shelf in the shower area so you had to keep toiletries on the floor. There was no bathmat so the floor became very slippery. The air conditioning was not working even at 17 degrees it was humid in the room. The staff responded to the problem very promptly once alerted to it. Yes the pool area is very nice but that's about it. We have spent two wonderful weeks in Sri Lanka staying in fantastic places, many of them Jetwing hotels but this one was not up to the standard of the other hotels. The staff are generally wonderful and the level of service very good.

To be honest Negombo is not worth visiting. There are many other spectacular places in Sri Lanka to visit. Give Colombo a go - we had a great couple of days there. Negombo is a a bit sleazy in parts and a bit like Bail at its most ordinary. The cafes and bars are not much. The beach is not nearly as beautiful as many of the beaches in the south and east. The place reminded me of Pattaya in Thailand which is another beach area I think is best avoided.

Sri Lanka is truly wonderful. We will return again. We had a great holiday but we were a bit sorry we chose this hotel for our last night.

Room Tip: Consider staying in Colombo at the start or finish of your holiday and give Negombo a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us in Sri Lanka.

We would like to sincerely apologies for the regrettable experience that you have encountered while staying with us. Rest assured that this is not reflective of the usual standards with which we pride ourselves on having.

We have carefully noted each of your comment and will definitely do our best to ensure that similar situations do not re-occur and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to having you back with us. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in jetwing blue for 4 nights when we first arrived in Sri Lanka, it was a great place to relax and recover from a long flight. The rooms are huge, bright and nicely furnished, there was a great view of the beach and palm trees. The food was great and good value. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The pools were very nice and not crowded

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oleary76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a wonderful review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were extremely pleased with the product and services provided by our dedicated team.

Thank you once again for your compliments and it was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to having you back with us and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for the first five nights of our holiday. This hotel has lovely staff and the food Is delicious. We stayed in a deluxe room which had a huge bath and a separate shower. Plenty of space and clean.

The menu in the restaurant includes very cheap Sri Lankan food and we tried quite a few dishes.

Special thank you to Sydney who always had a smile for us.

The beach area is idyllic and there are bars and restaurants near by. There at tuk, tuks and taxi outside to get around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to know that you had a lovely holiday with us and it is nice to note that you found the room you had stayed in to be very spacious and clean, the food to be excellent and our team friendly and very informative.

Thank you once again for your compliments and it was a pleasure to have you us our guest. We look forward to having you back with us and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We love jetwing Beach and this time went to Blue, service was very good, food was excellent ,both the pools were very good, didnt like the bed and our room.
Room was clean but packed with mosquito, mostly dead ones on the floor.
Ac was leaking so floor was slippery.
Must say the service at Jetwing Hotels is very good.
Spa i loved it.....
After going to Beach few times i like Jetwing Beach better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gracesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Loved the rooms. Stayed in a chalet like room. Spacious and interesting bath area. The pool was really really lovely, longest pool I've ever seen. Only had breakfast there but I thought the food was lovely. Staff ver helpful and friendly. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a wonderful review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We are flattered and pleased by your review of your recent stay with us and thrilled to know that you were enchanted with our products and services specially with our wonderful team. We have shared your compliments with the entire team and they were equally happy to know that their services were recognized.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to having you back with us. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here after arriving after midnight at Columbo airport. It was a good place to crash for the night after a 30 minute ride.
The rooms were very comfortable with a lovely sea breeze.
There is a lovely big pool, which is a lovely start to the day, before breakfast.
The buffet breakfast was excellent, one of the best we have had in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeethalLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to know that you and your family had a great time during your stay with us. It is always a great encouragement and motivation for our teams to hear about guest satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to having you back with us. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 42 in Negombo
1,771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 42 in Negombo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#10 of 42 in Negombo
825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 42 in Negombo
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Property: Jetwing Blue
Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 Family Hotel in Negombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#6 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing