We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent eco friendly luxury hotel”
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing Blue
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Luxury and eco friendly might seem like an oxymoron, but it is actually true. Jetwing hotels have a policy of recycling everything and not using plastic anywhere. The bathroom shampoo and soap are all in refillable ceramic containers, and yes they can be slippery with wet hands but we didn't lose one in 4 days. The compimenary water is supplied from their own purification plant in reuseable gass bottles. We took a tour of their recycling facilities, and came away wondering why other big hotels can't do it... Western labour costs I guess.
The breakfast buffet was amazing, including Sri Lankan, American and Continental breakfasts. Rooms are clean and well serviced, and the staff is welcoming and friendly. We stayed here because it was close to the airport. A terrific stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were more than happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and appreciate the values of the effort we take to protect the environment by using the high standards of recycling.

The objective of this process is to ensure that all Jetwing hotels attain high standards of environmental custodianship in both front-end and back-end processes. These procedures are standardized and each hotel has to identify its performance under certain measurement criteria and address its shortcomings.

The Green Directories also allow customers, tour operators, media and other stakeholders to evaluate the hotel’s performance. Jetwing Hotels hopes that this transparent process, which is subject to auditable criteria, will become a role model for other hotels.


We have shared your compliments with the entire team as this will go a long way in motivating them to keep up the spirit and effort to protect the environment and the standards of the Jetwing group.

Thank you once again for your encouraging review. We look forward to having you back with us and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel does not deserve its 5 star rating or warrant its 5 star price.
Ordered breakfast to the room after long flight. Food came 20 minutes apart. Omelette was swimming in a sea of grease, toast burned and no cutlery. 20 minutes later some random order of just as unappetizing food arrives.

Decided to go to the pool for lunch. Food again not to any standard I have seen before. Regardless of how much you pay you're change never arrives.

Constant phone calls to ask if you want a turn down service but no information regarding the bar being closed in the evening...

Was quoted $60 dollars for a one way taxi to columbo where taxi office right next door drops and collects for $35 at collects you at your convenience.

Room Tip: Had a room that looked out on to the sea. Nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your constructive review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for giving you cause to express your disappointment following your recent stay with us.

We were truly and extremely concerned to have read your comments, as this is not at all reflective of the usual standards of our services at Jetwing Hotels.

Rest assured that we highly value guest feedback whether positive or constructive and will ensure that your concerns are addressed with the relevant managers.

Your comments with regard to the service of our associates have also been noted, your explanation were thoroughly reviewed and action has been taken to rectify the issues you have mentioned.

Once again, our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused and I truly do hope that your experience on this occasion will not deter you from visiting us again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

To conclude our stay in Sri Lanka we booked three nights at the Jetwing Blue in one of the third floor suites, and were not disappointed with the quality or size of the room in anyway whatsoever. The room was spacious with a separate partitioned area with a table and chairs, a walk in dressing section and bathroom with his 'n' hers sinks. The balcony was nearly as big as the suite with our own private jacuzzi overlooking the beach and the sun setting on the horizon. The welcome selection of local fruits was fun to try, and to guess what they were topped off by a box of chocolates replenished daily.

A spectacular way to relax, and close to a plethora of beach bars and tourist shops if need arises to spend the final few rupees before heading home to earn more for the next trip away.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Liverian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a wonderful review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with us and that you were pleased with the suite rooms which we had allocated for you and the food and facilities that we have on offer.

Thank you once again for your compliments. We look forward to having you back with us and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is by far the best hotel we stayed in Srilanka. Clean room, efficient staff, very good breakfast and very close to the beach! My kids go crazy just swimming everyday. The hotel pool has nice warm water, it feels good to jump in there after spending time in the sea water. The only concern I have is the street dogs that roams everywhere, I have to be on the lookout when they are around. No rabies I hope????

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b4ikinkun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a magnificent review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to know that you and your family have rated us as the best hotel in Sri Lanka and also had a great time at Jetwing Blue and were overall happy with the services and product available at our home away from home resort.

Your compliments are highly appreciated. We have shared your comment with the entire team and they were equally happy to know that you had a brilliant holiday with us.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to having you back with us. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here to celebrate my husband's birthday and we were not disappointed. Immediately upon check-in, we were upgraded from a Deluxe room to a Family room which was very spacious and overlooking the beach. The hotel staff were friendly and attentive and happily provided us with a birthday cake to enjoy the celebrations.
The main swimming pool is gorgeous and the perfect place to relax and unwind, except for the fact that it is located right next to the reception. There is also another pool toward the Northern edge of the property which is smaller but more private.
The buffet breakfast was a bit of a let down as it was not as extensive as we hoped. The locality of course offers a multitude of restaurants and bars specializing in European and Sri Lankan cuisine.
Along with Jetwing Beach, the Jetwing Blue is a good hotel to stay if you are looking to catch a flight out or travelling from the Bandaranaike International airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We felt honored that you decided to stay at Jetwing Blue to celebrate your husband’s birthday giving your trust in us to make your stay a memorable one. We were happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of our cuisine as well as the privacy and comfort of our suites.

On the other hand, we understand from your comment that the breakfast buffet was not up to your expectations and I have personally spoken to our executive chef and rest assured we will be looking into the matter.

Thank you once again for your review and constructive feedback. We look forward to having you back with us and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Having started a tour from Negombo and staying in Jetwing beach then last couple of nights Due to availability and us changing our itinerary we spent the last night in Jetwing Blue.
Very disappointed.
The previous night we were in Jetwing beach so had expected much the same as beach and sea, no. Room no where near as nice, and there should be some attention to detail , such as the bathroom and cleaning around the floor areas.
The dining area was more like a cafe. No atmosphere. Bar area awful.we arranged to go to the a la carte restaurant at Jetwing beach and pay at Jetwing sea. General amaner Hyacinth Jardenwarra , sorry if this is badly spelt, was brilliant and arranged this.
Would not stay again and would not recommend, in addition the service was poor compared to Jetwing beach and sea.
It is a shame as Jetwing are superb at delivering great service. We booked our entire holiday direct with Jetwing so this was a let down.

Room Tip: Stay at Jetwing sea or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for having given you cause to express your disappointment following your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing these shortfalls to our attention and we would like to assure you that necessary rectification and action will be taken to avoid similar happenings in the future.

However we were pleased to know that you were satisfied with our sister hotels Jetwing Beach and Jetwing Sea, and we hope this will not deter you from your future travel plans to Negombo.

Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next stay to Jetwing hotels.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent our last night in Sri Lanka at Jetwing Blue Negombo. It was very disappointing. The room had two very small single beds. The bathroom was stained and had a glass door that could not be left open. The bathroom became a sauna in no time. There were no hand towels. There was no shelf in the shower area so you had to keep toiletries on the floor. There was no bathmat so the floor became very slippery. The air conditioning was not working even at 17 degrees it was humid in the room. The staff responded to the problem very promptly once alerted to it. Yes the pool area is very nice but that's about it. We have spent two wonderful weeks in Sri Lanka staying in fantastic places, many of them Jetwing hotels but this one was not up to the standard of the other hotels. The staff are generally wonderful and the level of service very good.

To be honest Negombo is not worth visiting. There are many other spectacular places in Sri Lanka to visit. Give Colombo a go - we had a great couple of days there. Negombo is a a bit sleazy in parts and a bit like Bail at its most ordinary. The cafes and bars are not much. The beach is not nearly as beautiful as many of the beaches in the south and east. The place reminded me of Pattaya in Thailand which is another beach area I think is best avoided.

Sri Lanka is truly wonderful. We will return again. We had a great holiday but we were a bit sorry we chose this hotel for our last night.

Room Tip: Consider staying in Colombo at the start or finish of your holiday and give Negombo a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us in Sri Lanka.

We would like to sincerely apologies for the regrettable experience that you have encountered while staying with us. Rest assured that this is not reflective of the usual standards with which we pride ourselves on having.

We have carefully noted each of your comment and will definitely do our best to ensure that similar situations do not re-occur and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to having you back with us. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 43 in Negombo
1,914 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#4 of 43 in Negombo
1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 43 in Negombo
567 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Address: Porutota Road | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: £57 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing