We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid the draught beer and the beach sellers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jetwing Blue
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“avoid the draught beer and the beach sellers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

EWe stayed here one night on our way back to the airport. Our room was to the far right end of the hotel quite a distance from reception, but was classed a s a superior room. The bathroom had glass walls with blinds, and a bath almost swimming pool sized, in addition to the shower. It was nice to sit in there and look out over the bedroom and to the sea

The restaurant choice was poor, and the only time in our 2 week trip that we had non-bottled beer, we both got very very bad upset stomachs

Beach sellers were an absolute pain, like flies round a piece of meat, up to twleve round one poor couple. They were selling low quality tat and under the control of gangmasters

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanholdsworth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We take our commitment to guest satisfaction very seriously and we were glad that you were overall pleased with the room we had allocated for you and the view of the Indian Ocean.

However, please accept our apologies as it seems that you were dissatisfied with some of the services provided. Rest assured that your comment will be taken very seriously and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

With regard to the beach vendors we confirm that we frequently meet up with them to address this particular issue and that the matter has our full attention.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Negombo.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    541
    183
    80
    40
See reviews for
326
539
74
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

A lovely beachside resort with access to the beach was a welcome relaxing experience. The lobby of the resort was open and the weather was pleasant. The rooms were tastefully done and faced the beach.

Though the fixed menu of the dinner was not to our liking but the breakfast made it up with a good and tasty spread.

The two pools were well maintained.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms next to the main entrance gave a good view of the coconut grove and the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkkhandelwal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka

We were glad to note that you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us and that you were particularly pleased with the breakfast spread ad the swimming pools.

We have shared your appreciation with the teams and they were equally happy to learn that you had an amazing holiday with us.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is the first hotel we stayed in on our visit to Sri Lanka. Only stayed one night would have loved to stay longer. Ideal as it is very close to the airport after such a long flight. Pool area spotless and there are plenty of sun loungers dotted around with shade. Beach is beautiful although the street traders can be a bit of a pain.We ate in the hotel because we were so tired and the food was of a good standard..BREAKFAST set you up for the day so much choice. Room was clean and comfortable although the shower was a little slow. Would love to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.
We were elated to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were overall happy with the personal services and product especially the breakfast spread.

We have shared your praise with the entire team which was pleased to learn that you had an amazing vacation with.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our recent visit to Sri Lanka. It's very handy for the airport (only a short drive) and faces onto the beach. The food is good, the public rooms are fine and the beachfront location stunning. The only thing that let it down was the decorative state of our room (125). It looked as if it hadn't seen a lick of paint in YEARS, and the paint that had been applied then had been done very sparingly - you could see the concrete of the wall through it in places. A couple of days of refurbishment (minor joinery repairs to skirting and bath panel) would lift this room into the "SUPERB" category as there's nothing else wrong with it - it was spacious and well-fitted.

Room Tip: Don't pick 125!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
Whilst we were glad to read that you were pleased with the overall experience at the hotel, we certainly are very concerned and thankful for the valuable feedback on some defects you noticed in your room. Please rest assured that your points are well noted and will be followed up with the teams concerned.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to having you back with us. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The rooms were spacious but notjing special. That said the beach was lovely and there was a selection of exellent various outdoor pools. You can also jet ski and there is a spa. We started and ended our holiday here as it is close to the airport. Good AC. Don't bother eating in the hotel though. Try coconut king down the road and half the price. Pizza was good here though. Would stay again if visiting sri Lanka

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shalagh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were most delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were overall pleased with the room we had allocated for you, the pools and the location which is close to the International Bandaranayake Airport.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to having you back with us for another memorable holiday. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Jetwing Blue lies on Petula Road on the outskirts of Negombo town, about 30 mins drive from Colombo. Idylically situated right on the beach, you couldn’t want for a more relaxing location, with a beautiful pool (handy because the ocean can be very rough). Our balcony room on the third floor overlooked the beach and pool, large, comfy, quiet, and kept immaculately clean by our room boy. We were on a B&B basis and the breakfast selection was vast – and delicious. The waiting staff could, perhaps, have been a little more attentive. Beware the sharp-eyed crows as they are quick to nip in and pinch your toast if the table is left unattended. For lunch and dinner there are plenty of very reasonably priced restaurants along Petula Road, all within walking distance. Get a tuk-tuk into Negombo Town. It's very interesting.

Room Tip: Overlooking the beach is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and were extremely pleased with the attentive and dedicated service extended to you by the room boy. It was great to learn that you were pleased with the surrounding restaurants in the vicinity.

However we have taken note of your comment of the slow service of the waiting staff. Thank you for brining this to our attention, as guests point of view is very important so we can rectify our shortcomings accordingly.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

i stay with my wife it is very nice hotel friendly staff facing the beach rooms at the swiming pool
every thing was fine Ground floor room looked out over gardens to the beach and the Indian Ocean. Room large, bathroom fine, decent flat screen TV & safe. Hotel had a lovely pool and also fronted onto the long sandy beach
nezar
jordan

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234567891961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay in September 2013 at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were most delighted to note that you were overall pleased with the service and product available at the hotel and fascinated with the view of the Indian ocean and the pool. Your gracious comments have been shared with the entire team and our associates were equally happy to note that you had a lovely vacation with us.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Property: Jetwing Blue
Address: | Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 Family Hotel in Negombo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#7 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Blue 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing