We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Lovely”
Review of Hotel Goldi Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Goldi Sands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Rooms around the pool, facing the beach, quiet and with good food. That's really all you need. There's also a pool table to enjoy after the sun comes down. The only improvement needed is a minor fix up of the rooms bathroom/air-con to make them perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nokipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldiNegombo, Manager - Administration at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for your comment and your constructive feed back. We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel for your next holiday.

Assuring you of our best services and personal attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here fro 2 nights this hotel was excellent food first class great selection they have different themes every night which give a better selection for longer stay guests , only downside was the amount of crows round the hotel , the service was great and the staff were so friendly we had a great time here , if i had an open flight ticket i would have stayed for a few more nights the rooms were spacious and well appointed and with a huge walk in shower , i would definitely recommend goldi sands to anyone .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldiNegombo, Manager - Administration at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and it is indeed a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Goldi Sands Hotel.

We assure you of our best services and attention at all times. We would be delighted to have you once again with us during your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I came very late, in the middle of the night and got transport to the hotel. I was welcomed very well and the room was excellent and perfect with at the sea side! Breakfast was lovely and fulfilling, no complaints. Sure come back next time and can warmly recommend to others :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Reetta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldiNegombo, Manager - Administration at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are happy to hear that you had a lovely time with us at Goldi Sands. We will definitely look forward to seeing you soon at Goldi.

Assuring you of our best services and personal attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Goldi Sands Hotel is one of the most friendly places we have ever stayed at. The staff can only be described as excellent as nothing was to much trouble for them. The food was very nice with a different theme for the evening meal. We read a lot of reviews before we went and the overall impression we got was that the hotels decor needs a little attention but while we were there they were improving the decor on a daily basis.

It is a three star hotel with 4 star food and 5 star service and i would have no hesitation going back there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannah370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldiNegombo, Manager - Administration at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and it is indeed a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Goldi Sands Hotel. We look forward to welcome you once again in the near future.
Assuring you of our best services and personal attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Goldi Sands was our last stop in Srilanka and was not so bad.The room was big enough and clean with a balcony to sit and relax.The air condition was not so helpful but it was alright.This hotel is mainly for those beach lovers who like to enjoy every bit of sun and sand.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanif4786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldiNegombo, Manager - Administration at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience.

We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Goldi Sands Hotel, Negombo, Sri Lanka.

Assuring you of our best services and personal attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Where to start!!

The hotel was booked as part of a tour of Sri Lanka for our honeymoon, with the hotel being our first and last stop due to its close proximity to the airport.

We arrived at the hotel mid afternoon after a long flight from London to find our reserved room still in the process of being cleaned, we had to hang around outside the room for 40 mins waiting for the room to become available.

There was no information in the room or information provided by the hotel staff on how the restaurant process worked and we therefore missed signing the restaurant bill that was charged to our room, we found this out to the detriment of our much needed sleep as we were woken at 11pm by a phone call from the restaurant requesting that we sign the slip immediately!! After the impromptu wake up call and visit by staff for our signature we failed to get back to sleep for the rest of the night

With the first night in Sri Lanka endured, we trundled of for the rest our of our tour with feelings of intrepidation for the quality and treatment we'd receive on the rest of our trip.

Thankfully Goldi Sands was not the bench mark and we enjoyed the other hotels selected for tour. So it was with low expectations that we arrived back at the hotel for our last night.

The hotel didn't disappoint, the staff were just as unhelpful and unwelcoming. Our room was dirty, with stains and marks all over the sofa in the room.

We got packed off very early in the morning for our early flight with a very mediocre packed breakfast.

If you plan to use Goldi Sands as your airport hotel, I would avoid at all costs, as it really put a dampner on an otherwise friendly, welcoming and amazing country.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gingerbimbette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are extremely sorry that there were some inconveniences on your arrival and with regard to the Restaurant bills. It was unfortunate that you were not happy with the second one night stay as well.

We have looked in to your comments and we shall take remedial action. We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I decided to spoil myself for my first night in Sri Lanka and I am glad I did. Goldi Sands is a lovely hotel near enough to the airport to be a short journey and far enough to not be disturbed by the noise.

Even though I arrived around 11am, the staff were lovely and it took them a short while to get the room ready for me, which I appreciated after my flight.

The room had twin comfortable beds, air conditioning and satellite TV.

The pool area was lovely, with deck chairs surrounding it, and the pool was a decent temperature - perfect even for a night swim.

The bar was reasonably priced and I enjoyed the two man band who wandered through the bar and restaurant singing Bob Marley and Led Zepplin songs.

I also really enjoyed my breakfast of string hoppers and daal in the morning.

I would definately recommend this hotel for those arriving or leaving Sri Lanka who want a little bit of luxury at either end of their holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aleerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldiNegombo, Manager - Administration at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

We thank you for your positive comments. We assure all our guests our personal services and attention at all times.

It would indeed be a pleasure to have you with us at Goldi Sands, Sri Lanka once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 43 in Negombo
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 43 in Negombo
1,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 43 in Negombo
1,517 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldi Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldi Sands

Address: | Ethukala, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: £53 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldi Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Goldi Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldi Sands Hotel
Goldi Sands Negombo
Hotel Goldi Sands Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing