We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Jetwing Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jetwing Sea
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

A nice hotel though the price is double when compared to our last stay. Now refurbished and the appearence is changed. It's a good hotel. just on the beach.

Room Tip: Book the rooms on the new wing over looking the sea.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosathompson966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your comments with regard to your stay at Jetwing Sea on Trip Advisor. Positive comments such as yours are certainly the best motivation we could receive which will help us to provide better service to our guests and show us ways in which we can improve.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you will visit us again soon for a longer holiday!

Jetwing Sea awaits you.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
There are newer reviews for Jetwing Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was the second time that I had stayed at the Jetwing Sea hotel. I was looking forward to going back as we had booked a de-luxe room. The reception staff were very welcoming and the check-in was good and fast. We were delighted with room but, as it was a de-luxe room, it could have done with a few drawers and cupboard space. When we asked for additional water to the two bottles in the room - we were told that they would be charged as only the first two bottles are free. I thought this strange for a de-luxe room. In fact, my first irritation with this hotel was that the bed wasn't made properly. The undersheet was just thrown over the bed and was loose rather than tightly fitted. I did mention this to the room boy but it was never rectified. However, my main gripe is for the staff in the restaurant. During our four days stay at the Sea hotel there was not one day I could say that the service was adequate. From breakfast the first morning - where the eggs I had ordered were just left to stand and not delivered to the table - to dinner on the first night where the food ordered from the a la carte menu didn't arrive to the final awful fish buffet on the beach. The problem here was they just couldn't get it right with the drinks order. We waited 30 minutes for drinks to arrive at the table because the waiter had to go to the main bar to collect the drinks - then the wrong drinks were delivered to the table. The restaurant staff are friendly but just don't seem to know what to do. There was only one restaurant supervisor (he was on in the morning) that actually got things done - from ordering tea/coffee to the breakfast menu. Then to cap it all - we checked out in the early hours of the morning and had pre-ordered breakfast boxes. These were not waiting at reception and the boy on reception knew nothing about them. Furthemore, he took at least 20 minutes to check us out as he didn't know whether the hotel took Amex or not. Surely a hotel of this standing should have furnished the bill the night before, knowing that we had requested an early check out? What started as a few irritations turned into a stressful few days of trying to get things right. I would say though that the laundry was very good and delivered on time. I would only revisit the Jetwing Sea hotel if I could be assured that the service had indeed improved.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dogwalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share some constructive feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following your stay at Jetwing Sea.

We are certainly very concerned by the numerous incidents you encountered during your stay. Although we view your comment as a way for us to improve, we very much regret to have failed to do what we normally do best, which is to make our guest's stay a memorable one.

As we do with all feedback we will review each and every of your points with all the department heads concerned with the aim to improve in the areas where we did not meet your expectations as well as to find remedies to be better.

Perhaps will you give us one more chance to show you we can do better than what you experienced and I personally assure you of a much improved service on this occasion.

Again, we sincerely regret not having been able to make your stay a pleasant one and should you wish to contact me in the future, please do not hesitate to do so.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This hotel is idea if you are getting a late flight in, then going off for a tour of Si Lanka a day or so later.
Remember this is Sri Lanka so do not expect the standards of the United States or Europe.
The hotel is right on the beach with great views from the dinning room, lounge and most rooms. The bedrooms are pretty big; the one we had seemed very modern and to have been recently refurbished. One point to be aware of is that room XXX is right in front of the air conditioning unit which rumbles loudly all the time; when we asked the staff to move us to another room this was done swiftly and it did not seem to be a surprise to the staff that we should wish to get away.
I would say this hotel is really only suitable for a night or two: we could not image staying here any longer. As to the location, the area outside did not seem great (we didn’t go out on foot) and is a long way from Colombo itself.

I am sure if you were planning on coming to Sri Lanka for a week-long beach holiday there are fair better you could go too. In a nutshell, this place is ideal for a night’s stay to get over a long journey before you move on.

Room Tip: We had to move as the room was opposite the air. con unit for the hotel.. they were not surprised wh...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your positive and constructive comments about Jetwing Sea on Trip Advisor, and will share the same with the entire team. A tribute to our rooms is something very special to us and I thank you very much for the same. Your comment on the air conditioning unit is duly noted and rest assured we will put things right where we have let you down.

We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay during your short stay with us, and of course, you will always have a room at Jetwing Sea on your next visit to Sri Lanka to enjoy the amazing beach front location with superb views of the fishing boats, sea and great sunsets.

Till then warm and sunny regards from all of us at Jetwing Sea.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Very friendly staff, great food, great sea view from the balcony and perfect rooms! Because there were no superior rooms available when we checkend in we got a free upgrade to a Deluxe room: fantastic!
We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for the wonderful review you have posted on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Sea and we wish to thank you for taking the time to do so. This is truly appreciated and your kind comments on the associates of the hotel will go a long way in motivating them in keeping on delivering the hospitality you experienced.

It is very rewarding to read that we have been successful in making your stay a memorable one and that you would have no hesitation in recommending our hotel. Again, thank you.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and until then, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel is 20 minutes from the airport, and so is handy if you have an early flight. We were upgraded to a ground floor room opening directly onto the beach, very nice decor.The hotel has a pleasant beach restaurant and the breakfast buffet is excellent.

The problem is the surrounding area. We had a short walk along the beach past the local fishermans area and passed a dead dog and it's puppy on the waterline in a bloated state of decomposition, nobody seemed to be bothered to move them. The beach in front of the hotel is cleaned daily but everwhere else bottles , polystyrene and plastic waste are plentyful.The street outside the hotel is filthy, with rubbish on the pavements and rubbish burning in the gutters. Very third world.

Staff are pleasant and helpful, but for the $240 per night we paid it is way overpriced.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms best, otherwise traffic noise from ajacent street.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morifoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, following your stay with us at Jetwing Sea.

The reason it took longer than usual to post our reply, is because we wanted to ensure that we would be able to come back to you with meaningful answers to your constructive feedback.

Your various points on the overall cleanliness of some areas of the beach as well as the look and feel of Negombo town, are well noted. It is correct that Jetwing Sea is located next to the local fishing village as well as in the area where the local population lives. It does bring with it its own charm and characteristics as well as get you close to a true fishing village experience, however, we do appreciate and understand that in this instance it was not attractive.

On the cleanliness aspect, rest assured that your feedback has been taken very seriously and you would be pleased to note that on March 23rd, all the Jetwing Hotels together with the beach vendors and the fishermen did a massive beach cleanup from one end to the other end of the bay. This is an exercise we intend to do monthly since one of our Jetwing General Manager’s is heading the local hotel association and will come into some education and training activities on this subject.

It was otherwise pleasing to read you had an enjoyable stay while in the hotel and that you found our overall service and product delivery to your satisfaction.

I trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future so we can show you a much improved beach and surroundings in term of cleanliness.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed twice at the Jetwing Sea, both on our arrival in Sri Lanka, and before our departure 14 days later. Since we were on a prepaid tour I can't comment as to the value, but I can say that we truly loved this hotel.

Both times we were given rooms on the ground floor, facing the ocean, with a patio. The rooms were identical in layout and amenities and everything was of very high quality. Our large room had two very comfortable beds, two side tables with individual reading lights, a desk with chair, a sofa and comfy chair with a coffee table, a full coffee and tea set-up, and a large area for suitcases. Our bathroom was huge, with a separate tub and rain shower.

It was slightly inconvenient that our room could not be locked from the patio side, but it was no big deal to walk the few steps down the corridor to the exit. The beach area was lovely, with many spots in the shade and comfortable loungers for spending a few hours with a book. It is possible to walk the beach for a short distance in each direction before coming to sea walls.

All of our meals were buffet style, and were satisfactory. The buffet featured both Sri Lankan and western style dishes and there was always at least one cook-to-order station (omelets, etc in the morning, and grilled fish or a stir-fry in the evening). Compared with our other hotels in Sri Lanka the buffet was relatively small, but no one went hungry!

Alas, we come to my one complaint. Sri Lanka is hot and humid. A robust air conditioner is important to our comfort, especially for sleeping. Unfortunately, the air conditioners in our rooms (#117 and #106) were underpowered. The only saving grace was the ceiling fan. Otherwise our nights would have been seriously uncomfortable.

The staff serving the front desk of this hotel is extremely helpful and very kind. They willingly exchanged the big bills that we received from the airport ATM for smaller rupee notes. That service was very much appreciated.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely. And yes, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MusicMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for the wonderful review you have posted on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Sea and we wish to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to do so. This is truly appreciated. Your kind comments with regard to the associates of the hotel, the design, room décor and ambience of Jetwing Sea made us very proud.

We have noted your comment regarding the air conditioner and rest assured that the issue has been taken up with the team concerned and addressed immediately to avoid any future inconvenience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope that we have been successful in making your stay a memorable one and that you will be visiting us for many more years to come to celebrate and live again the very special moments you experienced with us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is one of a group of Jetwing brand hotels in Negobo which is about 20 minutes drive north of the Bandaranaike international airport where you are likely to enter the country. Despite being this close there is little in the way of noise disturbance from aeroplanes.
The others include the Jetwing Ayurveda Pavilions where the main selling point appears to be meditation and ayruvedic treatments. The Jetwing Beach, Jetwing Blue were short listed by us when booking as they lie on the same strip of beach but looking at the Jetwing website and our impression of the Jetwing Sea would lead me to believe there is little variation in the corporate style between these three hotels. The checking in process was straightforward. The accommodation is low level. We ended up on a ground floor room facing the beach which was very nice but the hotel would not provide a key to lock the patio doors from the outside so although it was great to just walk out from the room straight onto the beach it meant that you had to leave the patio door unlocked which posed a security risk and the hotel warned against doing. We had 2 adjacent rooms so used one of the rooms free of valuables and left that door unlocked.
The rooms are furnished in contemporary colours and are very comfortable with the usual TV, air con etc. the beach is sandy and golden. The only problem with it is the amount of debris that gets washed up on it. There does not appear to be a scheme to get the beach cleaned up. I would imagine that if the local government paid the natives a small remuneration to clean up their environment this would considerable enhancement to surroundings for them as well as tourists. The reason I say this is that on either side of the hotel there are a series of small huts and shacks were local fishermen and their family live so you are actually sharing the beach with them. I rather liked this, although it did bring home the sense of poverty when compared with the relative wealth of the tourist population, but I enjoyed watching the native children having fun on the beach in the evening or the fishermen sitting chatting and repairing nets. There are the inevitable hawkers selling T shirts, bags and sarongs but they were mostly good humoured and not too bothersome. There were also some good deals to be had from them if you were willing to haggle.
The food was okay at best. There was the usual buffet breakfast and evening meal. Despite having access to the freshest landed fish this food was relatively lacking. When fish was on the menu there was a tendency, as with most food at this hotel, to be overcooked. At least there was no risk of food poisoning I suppose.
If you want to eat where the natives eat then go straight across the hotel front to the small café directly opposite, the Tharanga cafe. Where ever you travel in Sri Lanka, you will note that the cafes serve a very standard menu. There is likely to be a buffet with salad, vegetables, curries and stir fries and an a la carte menu serving rice noodles which is a dry dish, “deviled” chicken / beef etc = which is a bit like food cooked in chilli and soy sauce, chowmein which in a sweeter sauce. Unlike most cafes though the Tharanga does not over cook the food and provides a good sized portions and the people there are very hospitable. The fries with chlli are very nice and worth a try. Drinks, of course are a fraction of the price when compared with hotel.

If you expect this to be a beach holiday where lots of activities are laid on for you and your teenage kids then you will be sorely disappointment. There are in fact NO beach activities at all and in fact the there was a shortage of sun loungers and even the two swimming pools were largely unused. My family were the only ones to use one pool which was somewhat uninviting because there was no patio area or sun loungers or chairs to put ones clothes on. The bar staff made little or no effort to come round with drinks or food menus. On one occasion my family and I sat at a table for 15 minutes without getting any attention from the bar staff and had then simply to walk away.If you like to be left alone then this is great but I think a bit more effort in developing the beach side would enhance the hotel considerably. For example I can see no reason why there was no avialbility of kayaks, pedelos, windsurfers etc on the beach. This may, however, explain why the demographics of the clientele in the hotel were skewed towards the childless and the elderly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freeflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your precious time to pen down a lengthy and very constructive review of Jetwing Sea on Trip Advisor. Feedback such as yours is clearly an eye opener for all of us and we treasure it since we strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible by all means.

We certainly regret that you did not find some of our facilities and amenities up to your expectations, but are glad that you have pointed them out. Rest assured that we will take the necessary steps to improve some of our standards you found could be fine tuned. We noted that you enjoyed the ambience and service we had to offer and rest assured that one of the top priorities of the entire Jetwing Sea Team is to make your stay as enjoyable and as relaxing as possible.

I certainly hope that the drawbacks you experienced will not deter you in planning to visit us again and it would be our great pleasure to have you back in the near future.

Until such time warm regards from all of us at Jetwing Sea!

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 43 in Negombo
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Sea

Address: Palangathurai | Ethukale, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sea Shells Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#4 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: £73 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach at your doorstep, Jetwing Sea offers an idyllic coastal retreat along the soft golden sands of Negombo and makes for an enchanting holiday home where one can work, play and fall in love. Enjoy exotic seafood, plan a sunset wedding or unwind at the rooftop spa, serenaded by the sounds of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Sea Hotel Negombo
Sea Shells Negombo
Negombo Sea Shells Hotel
Jetwing Sea Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing