We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 1st night stopover”
Review of Jetwing Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jetwing Sea
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good 1st night stopover”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here just to get our bearings after a night flight. The rooms we had were very spacious with gorgeous bathrooms. Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was lovely. I wouldn't have wanted to stay more than a night as there didn't seem to be much going on in the immediate area, but for what we wanted it for, it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbow2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We really enjoyed reading your review following your stay at Jetwing Sea and a heartfelt thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

Giving you a very personalized experience is what we strive for always at Jetwing Sea and what a great feeling to know that we have succeeded in impressing you and satisfying you in every way.

We do look forward to the day when you will be returning to us for a longer stay next time around so we get the opportunity to truly pamper you in the luxury that is unique to Jetwing Sea! Hoping that you will miss to keep in touch with me directly for any matters that I may be of assistance while you reserve your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    584
    200
    71
    35
See reviews for
312
740
87
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was the last hotel on our tour of Sri Lanka booked because of its close proximity to the airport.

Check in was swift and the staff were very helpful and our room was satisfactory for the hotel rating.

We had only booked on a bed and breakfast basis but we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant choosing from the A la carte menu. There was a good selection to choose from but this was were the positives ended. I choose a pasta dish and my wife had a fillet steak which she requested to be well done as she is pregnant. Both dishes came out promptly but my wife's fillet came with the wrong sauce and when she cut into it it was more blue than well done. The steak went back and came back with the correct sauce but still not cooked correctly. I had long since finished my meal before she had received what she had originally ordered at least 45 minutes later. This was not a cheap meal either with no offer of discount when the bill came.

During the night we were interrupted by a drunk passer by knocking on our door at half past 3 in the morning.

In all we were not impressed with this hotel which was a shame as it was our last night in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your constructive and encouraging comments.

The aim when Jetwing Sea was created was to deliver exceptional service for which each and every member of the team has been trained for. It was therefore disheartening to hear that we have somewhat failed in our efforts in doing so. Thank you for bringing up to my attention the issue you faced with the food service and preparation and please do accept our belated apologies for having failed to deliver the expected standard.

We hope you will put this behind and consider a return visit to give us one more chance to make up for the mishaps this time around. Until then please do stay in touch with me directly for any concerns that you may have.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando,
General Manager,
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We had booked for a standard room for 7 nights.. when we arrived i was less than dissapointed as this was our last hotel of our tour in Sri Lanka and i expected alot more from the hotel as we had paid the same amount per night at our other hotels and they were fantastic!!
The room was very basic and very small, and the corridoor leading to the hotel was over looking a Grave yard!! The bathroom was tiny and the air conditioning made the floor very wet and slippery.
We requested to upgrade rooms as we were very unhappy as we had 7 nights booked here.
The hotel agreed to pay for 2 nights and we had to pay for 3 but we had to have 2 nights in the Standard room as the hotel was full for the first 2 nights after arriving.
After we upgraded you can see the difference of the different wings of the hotel - standard and deluxe rooms. The deluxe room was lovely, spacious and nice bathroom. I think the deluxe rooms have recently been done up and the standard rooms haven't as this is very noticable.
Apart from this, the rest of the hotel is ok... the beach is ok, nothing special.. constant beach men/women trying to sell you things, but if you say no straight away they will leave you alone.
I had a manicure in the Spa and the nail varnish chipped the next day so i had to remove the polish, so this was a dissapointment.
I also suggest to eat outside of the hotel, despite what our Kuoni representative told us, as my partner caught food poisoning from the breakfast buffet here... the egg he had was undercooked and the rest of the week he was being sick and spent a lot of time on the toilet.
I only recommend this hotel if you are planning a short stay or one night stop over.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Georgina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel posted on Trip Advisor following your stay.

We are sorry that we were unable to inspire you to the point we have managed to inspire many others but we are glad that you liked our Deluxe rooms. Rest assured that your constructive feedback has been taken seriously and we will work in rectifying the areas where we failed to deliver the expected level of service.

It is our sincere wish to see you visit us once more perhaps in the near future and until then warm regards from all of us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for matters I could be of any assistance with.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando,
General Manager,
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We arrived on a 2am flight from Singapore after an 8 hour gap in flights from Melbourne. This was ten minutes from Colombo airport so a great spot to get some much needed sleep. While it was located on the beach it was very windy and quite a rip.

The hotel itself is quite old but mattresses comfortable and bedding clean.

I wouldn't stay there for more than one night but appreciated its close proximity to airport.

The staff were very friendly and the breakfast buffet very good.

Room Tip: Lower level opposite beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the rewarding comments you have taken the time to post on Trip Advisor. We note that your recent stay with us has been an enjoyable one and we trust you took back fond memories of your short experience at Jetwing Sea.

We look forward to welcoming you back and please feel free to contact me directly for matters I could be of any assistance with while making your next reservation with us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I recently spent our two-week honeymoon at Jetwing Sea and really can't say enough good things about the place.
The setting and facilities are first class, and the food excellent, but what we shall remember most vividly about the hotel is the level of service, which was the best we have ever experienced.
The phrase "could not do enough for you" barely scratches the surface. It was impeccable.
My wife is lactose intolerant, but the waiting staff went above and beyond to ensure she was catered for every night. I must say one of the senior staff called Alex was an absolute gem.
If I did have one minor grumble it was the presence of the beach sellers. They are harmless, but on our first few days we did find it a little annoying.
That said, once we had got used to them they were fine.
So well done Jetwing Sea. You made sure we had a very special trip and one that we shall never forget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnboy930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Guest,

What a fantastic Trip Advisor review you have given us with regard to your experience at Jetwing Sea, and it is so very encouraging to us all.

As we always say, our greatest endeavor is to give you the most relaxing and enjoyable stay whilst at Jetwing Sea, and it really feels good to know that we have been able to achieve this. Rest assured that your generous and encouraging thoughts will be shared among the team.

We are looking forward to your next visit with us at the end of your holidays, and assure you of another unique Jetwing Sea experience. Please call us again for your next reservation and we would love to assist you with any queries that you may have.

Until then we await your arrival with open arms and smiling faces.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We ended up in this hotel by default 06/07/2014. Sri Lankan Air had overbooked our flight to Bangkok, a ticket we had booked since February 2014, so they booked us into this hotel for the day. Sri Lankan air promised us three meals including beverages and free STD call to Bangkok to explain our absence from our booked/paid for accommodation. This hotel would not allow me to contact Bangkok via telephone as Sri Lankan Air had not listed this in their "Email" and they would not contact Sri Lankan Airways to let me confirm it. Then at at our midday Meal we ordered two Coca Colas and were asked to pay for it,we tried to explain that Sri Lankan Airlines would be paying for it but they would not accept this and were demanding we pay for it. We refused to pay for the two cokes and asked them to send the invoice to Sri Lankan Air but they were insistent until we became intolerant of their behaviour and asked them to leave us alone. Checkout time 10hrs later from check in: phone call from reception that our lift had arrived to pick us up for transport to the airport. Staff arrived at our room and asked to check our bar fridge, I welcomed them in. The staff proceeded to do their count and found a bottle of Perrier which they showed me and I thought they were asking if it was mine, I told them it wasn't mine but they shook the bottle indicating it was empty. I immediately thought " here we go now we are going to be accused of drinking a bottle of Perrier".Sure enough we were accused of drinking the bottle of Perrier and was at checkout demanded to pay for the Two Coca Cola's and the bottle of Perrier. This left a bad taste in our mouth after a wonderful month in Sri Lanka. P.S we did not drink the bottle of Perrier!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor following your short stay with us.

We are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused during the check out of the hotel due to any miscommunication with the airline concerned.

Although promised by the airline verbally to you, you will certainly appreciate that anything consumed outside of the voucher entitlement given to you by the airline will be billed to you. It is quite unfortunate that this was not communicated to you properly by the airline concerned.
However as we do with all feedback we will certainly review all your concerns with the entire team so that we can continue to make improvements where required and again our apologies that you did not enjoy your time with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for matters I could be of any assistance and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Jetwing Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night before heading to the airport. We could not fault this hotel! Right from the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. We ate at the seafood restaurant on the beach and the food there was delicious and we were given a packed breakfast in the morning. Our every need was thought of!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LucyMorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for patronizing Jetwing Sea and for sharing your experiences on Trip Advisor. We were happy to know that you enjoyed the food on offer, the rooms and your overall stay with us.

We were glad to note that your stay was fun and hope you would make a return to us in the very near future. Please do stay in touch for any matters you may think I could be of assistance with your future bookings at Jetwing Sea.

Yours Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando,
General Manager,
Jetwing Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#10 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Sea

Property: Jetwing Sea
Address: Palangathurai | Ethukale, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sea Shells Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#4 Business Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach at your doorstep, Jetwing Sea offers an idyllic coastal retreat along the soft golden sands of Negombo and makes for an enchanting holiday home where one can work, play and fall in love. Enjoy exotic seafood, plan a sunset wedding or unwind at the rooftop spa, serenaded by the sounds of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Sea Hotel Negombo
Sea Shells Negombo
Negombo Sea Shells Hotel
Jetwing Sea Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing