We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place by the negambo lagoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #34 of 216 Negombo B&B and Inns
Ja Ela, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place by the negambo lagoon”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I'm a local guest, stayed two nights with my wife.

# What's good
- Although its a small hotel, they have created a nice space at their premises. View of the lagoon is something good to be there. They have created a tropical feeling inside it.
- Hotel was very clean, rooms were carefully maintained.
- Staff was very polite and helpful.
- Rooms have a private balcony facing the lagoon, and its very big!

# What's below good
- Only breakfast is a buffet. (if you are in a HB or FB suit) Lunch and dinner is to be chosen a la carte, means same things to have for both lunch and dinner. If you pay for each meal, then you're good, a big selection!
- Nothing special in taste of food. Dont try the spaghetti, it was a nightmare.

Overall, nice place to have a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indranama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    104
    55
    19
    29
See reviews for
57
125
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

For a hotel that pride its self with the slogan "where luxury has no limit" we sure found the limit. And it wasn't hard to find.
Luxury is the LAST word I'll choose to describe this place.

I don't normally write bad reviews even if my experience was bad, but this time I was furious at the attitude of this place. it was unbelievable to me that these people are service providers.

Me and my partner checked in around 4pm. We were looking forward to it since it was our last night in Sri Lanka and we chose a luxurious hotel by the lagoon, or so we thought. First thing we noticed was the hot water was broken. I can't stress out the need of basic shower after a long day on the roads travelling.
We alerted the hotel and it took them 4.5hours to fix it without any alternative solution. we were not offered to switch rooms, and my partner had to go 3 floors down each time to ask for help from someone as the communication over the phone was terrible.
Finally after 4.5 hours they got it sorted, but "forgot" to tell us. we than had to cancel our evening plans and had to order room service which took over an hour to get. food was reasonable at most.
The service we got from the manager on location Mr Ronil Manjula Fernando was embarrassing to say the least. his answers to our complaints was "we had guests here last week and there was no problem". we were offered no compensation for our 170USD a night!!! which was outrageous price to start with..

The room was mediocre. it wasn't clean enough. the bathroom was full of rust, the floor had ants all over, the bedsheets had some stains, the menus and leaflets were used and there was no attention to details and basic understating of what makes a hotel luxurious.

We will never go back there, and we don't recommend anyone to go over that shameful experience.
At most, this is a mid level hotel that I would pay 50-70USD a night for.
SAVE YOUR TIME AND MONEY !!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Food was really good and is the best thing about this hotel. otherwise we had alot of problems communicating with some staff as they had poor english. However they are friendly but probably need more training.

We had some problems with the AC. The swimmimg pool is pretty small and there is no beach.The wifi is very bad . There are crows everywhere and they are always making noises which was not relaxing.

The rooms were clean and decent with a nice terrace and amazing veiw, but the light can easily enter the room through the slits between the blinds which made it hard for me to sleep when it is sunny outside. The corridors were packed with furniture wich looked unprofessional.
The prices were very reasonable.

Basically the hotel is a low quality four star as compared with other four star hotels.
It is good for one night stay before going to airport as it is very near to Colombo airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mona1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My girlfriend and I were there for two nights. Since its a new hotel we didnt have high expectations but I decided due to its location close to Colombo. From the time we arrived till we checked out the staff looked after us with so much respect and gave us alot of privacy. Dinner by their lagoon deck is one of the most romantic dinner I've ever had. Though its a small hotel, its amazingly beautiful. We stayed in a room with the lagoon view and it was spectacular! Food was excellent. The dessert Watalapa is one of the best I've had in along time. Maybe this is because the hotel is relatively new but I really hope the management and staff keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nujra_sav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

It is a small resort close to the airport. They have beautiful rooms with a spacious verandah and a lovely view of the lagoon. Would recommend for a short stay at the beginning or end of a trip to Sri Lanka

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subhramit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a few days. It was my first time in Srilanka and now hindsight i feel they are way overpriced for what they are offering. If you want to stay here because its close to the airport then that perhaps is the only reason. However i went to stay there as part of a long awaited holiday break and my experience is that of a very disappointing one.

To start with, there is absolutely nothing you can do as recreation. A DVD player is provided in the room but they have no movies. Are they expecting guests to bring their own movies? Secondly, the literature they provide in their rooms clearly mention that a newspaper will be available everyday. There was no newspaper. When i asked the reception staff, they told me that they don't have any and they would ask the GM if she had a personal copy. 2 minutes later, they came back to say that even the GM didn't have one.

Third, once it gets dark, there is nothing to do or see in the hotel. All you can do is to have dinner and go to sleep. Food choice was very limited and way over priced.

Fourth, there have a spa advertised. The first morning i went there, there was nobody available and the reception staff did not know where the spa staff was. When i finally managed to see the staff and the menu in the spa, i got the shock of my life. A massage of some sort was the only thing available and they were charging US dollars fifty five for this massage. For those of you who are not aware, this is the kind of a rate i would pay in a top 5 or 7 star outlet. This wasn't and it was atrocious. To be fair, the lady was good at what she did and she did her best.

Most of the staff were very friendly and always offering to help, however their understanding of basic english was very poor. This would often lead to problems.

Overall, a good property but severely lacking in basic facilities and overpriced at that. One advice, don't use taxis or tuk tuk provided by them. Its again sadly way over priced.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor overlooking the garden seems to be a better choice than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Lovely hotel with well appointed stylish rooms. Very close to the airport and great outlook over the lagoon. Staff are great

Hotel is only a year old and is a great alternative in the Taj & Ramada . Nice pool area , didn't try the spa but the prices looked moderate .

The lagoon can smell at times , depending on which way the wind blows and it can be quite smelly on some days, this is not the hotels fault but it was quite overpowering when we stayed as the monsoon winds were quite strong.

Great place to start or end your Sri Lanka trip , if your driver does not know the hotel location get him to call first , it is very close to the airport but tucked down a small lane and lots of people don't know its location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnOuthereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negombo
3.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
3.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Covanro
The Covanro
#1 of 1 in Veyangoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Palace Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Hostel First Colombo Airport
0.3 mi away
Flipflop Hostel
Flipflop Hostel
#8 of 186 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa

Property: Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
Address: 640/82 Suhada Mawatha | Kurana, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star boutique within 3km proximity from the Bandaranaike International Airport. Property consists of 20 standard rooms, 1 Superior and 1 Deluxe all lagoon facing. Extremely tranquil, quiet and a perfect holiday getaway for those who are looking for absolute luxury and of course pampering. The hotel consists of a main a la carte restaurant, 2 bars, gym, spa, open rooftop Jacuzzi, 40ft infinity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing