We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Negombo”
Review of New Rani Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Rani Inn
Ranked #35 of 234 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Negombo”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights here at the end of our trip to Sri Lanka and was happy to find a soacious , clean room considering other places we had experienced in SL for more money. Rani and her husband could not do enough for us, helped us with our washing, cooked a lovely fish curry at a very good price and breakfast was excellent. Location is great being set back a little from the main road. We found it quite hot but the air con was perfect. We had two very peaceful nights sleep here and felt very safe.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank place_holder_name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
60
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent our last night in Sri Lanka here. Rani and her husband were so friendly and helpful and really do give service with a smile. We watched some World Cup football downstairs in the restaurant with them. They like to watch sport! They booked a pedicure for me and organised our laundry to be done in a short space of time (they dropped it off and picked it up) as well as sorting our tuk tuk to the airport.
The rooms are lovely and large with the best mosi net we had in Sri Lanka. The rooms are hot but fine with fan. Also refreshing to sit out on the balcony.
A great spot to end your trip in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a great 2 nights in a non-AC room facing the beach at New Rani Inn. Rani speaks good English and was friendly,informative and hospitable during our stay.

The room and toilet was clean and spacious with wifi access. The room was however a little warm even with the fan switched on and windows closed to prevent mosquitoes at night. There is also a mosquito net provided in the room.

The hotel is located conveniently along Lewis St with many restaurants and shops close by. The beach is visible and is only 2 minutes walk away.

Beware of conmen who tries to befriend you along the road under the pretense of seeing you before. They will later claim to help you buy great items like curry or ointment at a local prices. Do not trust them and ignore them for your own benefit.

We enjoyed our stay and will not hesitate to choose New Rani Inn when we come back to Negombo. Recommended to all travelers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 337abdullahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here beginning and end of our trip in SL. Very homely environment. Breakfast was good. The night before Rani would ask us the menu we like to have. She always greets us with a smile. Sarath ( Rani's husband) is a great cook. We had great meals prepared by him.
Overall a great place to holiday and have a warm homely feeling.

Room Tip: Rooms are good but you require air condition especially during summer months. So make sure you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sreeyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The guesthouse is in Negombo beach - Lewis Place and it takes about 2 minutes to the beach. The rooms are very very clean - the cleanest we found in our whole Sri Lanka trip. The owners do all they can to please and help the guests. They also help to organize trips. We expressed the wish for hiring a car with driver and they helped us to get it for a very fear and reasonable price (and the service also turned out great). They also run a small restaurant and the food there is delicious, since the owner is a cooking chef who also worked in Italy. The place is some steps off the main road and it is very quite.
I would highly reccomend the place for starting and ending the trip in Sri Lanka, since it is close to the airport (cca 15 min by tuk tuk). The owners are realy warm and kind people, who always greet you with warm smiles.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a family owned business. I arrived very late at night but they still had someone come and show me to my room. The wife, Rani, is extremely helpful with everything that you need. Being my first stop in Sri Lanka, she gave me an itinerary for my trip and provided her nephew as my tuk tuk driver for the first portion. She even included an ayurvedic potion that she had created with my breakfast to help my upset stomach. She also gave me her phone number and let me call her with any questions I had throughout the trip. The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms come with new mosquito nets. It's also a block away from the beach. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Even though I hired a tuk tuk when I started the trip, I would recommend taking trains throughout Sr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potatochip77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

New Rani Inn is close to the airport yet a 2 minute walk from the beach.It is set well back from the main street so the whole place is fairly quiet. The staff are particularly helpful and friendly - we received good advice on the best budget way to travel from Negombo to Kalpitiya. This turned out to be a bus at 0540 which took us straight through to Kalpitiya.
The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahabtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Shade
Villa Shade
#1 of 200 in Negombo
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Negombo Villa 7
Negombo Villa 7
#29 of 234 in Negombo
55 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Taprobane
Villa Taprobane
#10 of 234 in Negombo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Negombo Village Guest House
Negombo Village Guest House
#15 of 234 in Negombo
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Tourist Guest House
1.3 mi away
Suriya Arana
Suriya Arana
#12 of 234 in Negombo
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Rani Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Rani Inn

Property: New Rani Inn
Address: No. 82/1 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Rani Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Rani Inn is a Bed & Breakfast guesthouse. We are located in the heart of Negombo tourist city. It's only 20 minutes drive from the international airport. Only walking distance to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Rani Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Rani Inn Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing