We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Jetwing Blue(Negombo)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Beach(Negombo)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pledge 3(Negombo)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amagi Aria(Negombo)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Sea(Negombo)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
18
82
109
46
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
82
109
46
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstransit hotelairport pick up and returnpool overlooking the beachsuper friendly and helpful staffshower pressureholiday staychicken currybasic amenitiesroom was largeconvenient locationsun loungersstayed here for one nightlovely poolthe main roadtoothpastekettlestopover
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Beautiful location, close to the Airport. The hotel faces the ocean. This place seems to be a hot favourite for surfers. Saw many surfers there. Food is good. Rooms are cozy and relaxing. Nice clean bathroom.
Over all a nice experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RajeshCOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The resort is situated in a place which is about half an hour drive from Colombo Airport. One has to travel for around 3 hours to reach Colombo city center. The rooms were spacious and airy. There were hot and cold water available. The breakfast was a good spread consisting of an array of Asian fare. Food was tasty. Buffet Lunch was quite good. A very good place to stay.
The only negative point was that they charged a huge amount for extra mineral water. The reception sent me a guy to the room who misguided me about the value of Indian rupee vis a vis the Srilankan currency. An amount of Rs.150/- in Indian currency was taken for two half a litre bottles of mineral water. This was on the high side. The hotel management should guard against such things as it will bring bad name to the resort Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ramachandranar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The advantage here is the proximity to the beach. Property is beautiful but quite simple. Rooms are pretty frugal. But it is air conditioned. TV has only only 13 channels with poor clarity. Sufficient for only occassional viewing, but your tine is again best spent at the beach. Beds were comfortable but not luxurious. Dining area was nice and pleasant. The restaurant manager was very nice and attended to every guest. The food is good if you like local cuisine like me. The reception was a hit or miss affair. Can't decide whether they were nice, polite or simply confused at times. Internet is good, but only when their router is working. On my return visit ( I had stayed twice at the hotel in a week's journey) the router was not working. You can get a better idea of the property from my photos. They also provide soap, shampoo, showercap, toothbrush and toothpaste. No slippers however.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arun87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I believe that the Catamaran is used by tour operators and airlines, such that you can't book independently, and if you're reading this, you've been booked there by someone else. We were placed there for a night at the start and end of a Lanka Sportreisen (via World Expeditions) cycling tour. With that in mind. the hotel has a warm welcome from the manager, and the staff work hard to make your stay enjoyable (at the bar, fixing Wi-fi, etc), but the hotel suffers from a poor design with noisy rooms (none of which face the sea bizarrely), a car park for an entrance area, and some dubious drainage in the bathrooms. A bar facing the beach is so far from the staffing point int he main hotel that service is a bit patchy, and beers warm by the time they make it to you. A shame, since the place could be so much better.
The dinner buffet is good, and for one night passing through the place is fine, but if you do have a choice of somewhere to stay longer, you'd do well to look around a bit further.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the main building as you can, and towards the sea. That way you're less likely to hear the clatter of airline guests leaving at all hours.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Though this is a transit hotel, i stayed thr for one day, the property is very beautiful, its just next to beach and sea was 200 mtr from my room, awesome view, food was great, considering us they prepared chapatis for us, though rooms are not that cozy but looking at location and service its an amazing place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saurabh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews